We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, beautiful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Erlowest
Ranked #1 of 25 Lake George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We loved this inn. No children are allowed in the rooms which we enjoyed since we were on an anniversary celebration and left 5 children at home. The Inn offers great views of Lake George, a private 2nd story balcony for guests, and another patio below with an outdoor fireplace (with fires built daily) for guests and restaurant patrons. Our room had a super comfortable king size bed and a beautiful bath. We really want to visit again at a time of year when we can enjoy the in room fireplace. Employees in the restaurant and inn were very cordial. This would be a great place for any very special occasion. Treat yourself and enjoy the Inn at Erlowest!

Room Tip: Pictures of each room are available on the website and show availability of each.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crewsin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Erlowest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed two nights in the Shepard Room. The bed and it's linens are exceptional and the jacuzzi pretty great too. The room has a view of Lake George and it is easy to watch the water activities. Upon our early afternoon arrival, we were presented with a chilling half bottle of champagne and a cheese tray in the room. Very nice touch. The tray was not picked up until the next afternoon. We thought perhaps it would be taken care of in the evening and were slightly surprised there was no turn down service. There are more than enough towels supplied but interesting enough they rest on the vanity and jacuzzi tub as there are no towel racks or hooks. The in room safe was broken and the front desk person did open it but the locking mechanism itself was not functioning properly. The lights by the bedside, vanity mirror, and above the jacuzzi were not functioning and we reported it to the
front. The light by the bed was replaced the next day. Please understand we are not very demanding people but we did expect that with this type of the room, such things would be
attended to before a guest's arrival. The drawer space is a bit limiting but I suspect few stay
for extended periods of time. The room next to us had inconsiderate occupants who
slammed the door shut upon every exit and entry, no matter the time. The staff were
friendly but not overly informative, I.e., where to get the ice, coffee, breakfast times, etc.

Overall it was a very lovely room and I would consider staying again but may research other places first. We just felt like it was lacking in the small touches that establish truly outstanding properties apart from others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fly_momFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were gifted two nights as a wedding present. We loved it. Each night we came back to our lovely air conditioned room and collapsed into our extremely comfortable king sized bed.
The staff was extremely helpful getting us late night waters and finding a home for our perishables.
We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Two years of planning brought us to July 3, 2011 and our daughters' fabulous wedding weekend at The Inn at Erlowest. The setting is one of the most beautiful on the lake and the Inns caring and attentive staff made it a weekend none of our guests will soon forget . Room reservations are handled by Debbie who will do all she can to assure a relaxing and comforable stay. Susan is at the front desk to take your breakfast and dinner reservations and answer any questions you may have. Erin, the Inns wedding planner, was there for us every step of the way and did an exceptional job. The wedding reception was everything my daughter dreamed it would be from the cocktail hour on the Inns beautiful balcony overlooking the lake to the last slice of wedding cake. The food was excellent and, at our request, the pastry chef even made specialty greek cookies from our family recipe. We would highly recommend the Inn for a special vacation or your most important event, and I know all our wedding guests would agree.

Room Tip: To choose the best accomodations just speak to Debbie
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jupiter2ticonderoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My boss and I took a colleague and his wife to dinner for his retirement. The food was absolutely delicious. The scallops were so fresh and the accompaniments were perfect. The risotto with the short ribs was a wonderful starter. We also loved the coconut curry mussels. The petit filet paired with braised veal cheek was a hit at the table as well. The service and the wine list were top notch. Definitely worth every cent - a truly memorable meal and a beautiful location with great ambiance and a breathtaking view.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cm123AlbanyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My daughter and her finance chose Erlowest for their wedding reception. It was the most wonderful experience. My husband worked with Cheryl (the owner), Mike (the restaurant manager) and Chef Ken and from the very first meeting until the night of the reception - they could not have been more professional or more accommodating.

The atmosphere at Erlowest is absolutely enchanting. The view of Lake George and the mountains from the patio is amazing and just set the atmosphere for the entire evening. Guests raved about everything. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and the food was incredible.

We will never forget how absolutely perfect everything was. There wasn't one negative thing throughout the planning or actual night of the reception. Our sincere thanks to everyone at Erlowest and we would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a gem in The Adirondacks for a very special event.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlp-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Inn at Erlowest just to get away. We are local, and had heard that the cuisine was fabulous.The road is windy and steep to get there but once you are there it's well worth it. The castle is grand in it's stature and service is excellent. From the moment you walk in you are treated like you are the only guest. We arrived in the late afternoon to find a cheese and fruit platter with champagne waiting in our room. It was tasty. We sat on the outside deck, which is quite large, and took in the sight of beautiful Lake George until our dinner. Dinner came, and we could hardly wait after hearing all of the great talk about the restaurant. We were not disappointed. The service was top notch. The menu is limited but all is done to perfection. Your mouth will water with anticipation after the first bite. My husband had veal and I had steak. Both were prepared with scrumptious sauces and cloud like mashed potatoes. Light and fluffy. We also had an appetizer and dessert which both were outstanding. Everything is made on site with the freshest ingredients. It's worth every dime. Our room was quaint with plenty of space. We were in the Leffingwell Suite which was appointed with a wonderful king bed, one of the most comfortable I've slept in, a sitting area with sofa and chairs and flat screen TV, duel shower (the water pressure was low and shower heads were placed very low in the shower. A person of 5'6" or more would have a hard time showering), and a wonderful deep multi-jetted heart shape bath tub. All very suitable for a most comfortable stay. The Inn has 2 very large decks to enjoy the view or a fire by night. Each floor has a delightful, common sitting area as well. The Inn wasn't quite ready for the summer crowd yet as the North East has had so much rain I think they were delayed in getting things set up for the summer crowd, i.e. pool filled, flowers up, cushions on chairs. We didn't mind. We still enjoyed every minute. A huge bonus for us was that the Inn is for Adults only. The restaurant is geared towards adults as well. I wouldn't bring a child into that area. A great place to relax without kids running around. They have cottages on the premise for families. You also have the Village of Lake George just a little over a mile away for nightlife. If you are looking for a fabulous, quiet, elegant place to stay, then the Inn at Erlowest fits the bill and then some. Also, the photos on line are exactly what the Inn looks like so I won't post any more. ENJOY!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the lake!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathydnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.8 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range: £183 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing