We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Special Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Erlowest
Ranked #1 of 26 Lake George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love This Special Gem!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I knew that I wanted to visit Lake George again but had never stayed at The Inn at Erlowest. It was a fabulous getaway and gave me a new appreciation of the beauty of the area. This is truly a gem. A unique and peaceful place. Beautiful views, comfortable beds, very personable and knowledgable staff, use of kayaks at no additional fee, outdoor fireplace to sit around at night and delicious breakfast included. Stayed in the Lake George suite and it was terrific! Thank you for an incredible two nights!

Room Tip: Originally booked the Howe room and thought it was a true lake view but you have to go up to the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    49
    12
    15
    4
See reviews for
31
256
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Was supposed to have my wedding here - signed contract, left a deposit as they were rushing me saying that the time I booked it for was very busy and many people were inquiring about it. A month later i found out I'm pregnant and due the time of the event. They did nothing for me - refused to return deposit, did not offer even partial credit. Now, I understand it's a business and that no one wants to lose out, but what made it worse is that they avoided returning my phone calls and only picked up ONCE when I was in Lake George and told them I will be stopping by. Tom (the wedding director) told me to write a letter so he can "take it up with management" I did, and still no reply, not in writing not via call. These people just have no common decency and to take that much money for deposit and not even work with me when I told them I was pregnant even BEFORE I told family members just to give them the opportunity to rent it out during their oh so busy time is just bad business. I am VERY disappointed. There are so many nicer places in Lake George where people treat you better that i would avoid this place like the plague. Not to mention the only good person working their Erin has left, hmmm, I wonder why....Thanks Erlowest for leaving a bad memory and taste for your venue. I will be sure to pass this information along at every opportunity I get.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom W, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Luba. We were disappointed to see your review. We had spoken to each other a number of times. We offered to pay back your non-refundable deposit if we were able to book another wedding over the same date that you had contracted with us. We were unable to book another event on the same date that was agreed upon. We had also offered to use that deposit to a future wedding date as well. We wish you all the best.

Tom Wysocki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This trip we stayed in the Montcalm suite. This suite, though more pricey than the previous suite we stayed at last year (Erlowest), was smaller in size but had its own private wrap-around balcony with breathtaking views of the lake and surrounding mountains. The new chef's creations matched the ambiance of the Inn. His culinary skills are superb! Kudos to the chef in his presentation and preparation of the duck. The staff has won our praises, as well. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The Erlowest and Schuyler suites are larger than the Montcalm suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronib0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We've been enjoying Lake George since we were children so we're talking almost 1/2 century (boy are we getting old). Being gourmands and world travelers we always felt that the missing link on the Lake was fine wine and dining. A few years back a local suggested visiting the Inn at Erlow West for the restaurant and world class chefs. As hard as it was to believe that such a venue existed on Lake George we thought we would give it a try.

We've been visiting the restaurant now for several years and never come to our property in Huketts Landing without at least one evening of dining bliss at the Inn (which takes us 45 minutes by car and about the same by boat, Well worth the trip). We've lived through several generations of chefs, all of which have been superior and some world class Michelin rated (e.g. Dale Miller now in Sperry's in Saratoga). The new chef is a CIA graduate and only there for a few months. I must say that this young gentleman designed a wonderful meal that was also quite memorable and the GM was very helpful with the wine pairings we requested. In the past they had a wine pairing dinner that was very reasonable considering the quality of food, extraordinary presentation, classic venue and very friendly staff.

Last night we started with a chees plate and scallops. The cheese plate was not the typical exotic cheeses from around the world but some local and common cheeses of extraordinary quality. To my great surprise, a local cheddar was one of my favorites on the platter. The other three cheeses were beautifully contrasted in flavor, texture and aroma making the fig and walnut accompaniments a perfect match. For her appetizer, my wife had the scallops which were large, plump and perfectly seasoned. The beet and fennel salad was refreshing and presented nicely and to use my wife's words it was "right on". My salad was very good also but no match for the beet and fennel which I will get next time if still on nthe menu. For entrees, I had veal cheeks and my wife had a combination filet and prawns. The filet was perfectly seasoned and prepared and the prawns too were prepared just right so that they had just the right pop when you would bite into them. My veal cheeks were tender, juicy and flavorable and served at the perfect temperature. The accompaiments for both entrees were complimentary and we were accommodated as we are trying to control our carb intake!

As mentioned the wine pairings were unique. Each of our courses were paired with 2 small servings (about 3oz) of a red and white so that we had a sampling of 4 wines per course. We enjoyed some more than others but thats expected. The surpise was a Resiling that neither my wife or I usually enjoy but really enhanced the scallops dish.

After the meal, we decided to get another bottle of wine and sit on the terrace overlooking the lake at sunset. The fireplace was started and even though it was very warm outside, the breeze off the lake along with the majestic views made for a wonderful end to a great meal. Oh, we so liked the cheese platter that we ordered 2 more and sat for an hour enjoying the view, the breeze and some nice conversation with other guests doing the same as us.

In summary, if your in the region and are looking for an oasis of culinary perfection I would give my 2 thumbs up to this fine dining venue. There's no place like it, but even if there were, it is worth a visit. Believe me, it would be worth your time. As my wife said at the end of the evening "It was a moment".

One last thing, we were told by some of the other guests that there was a rumor that the restaurant would be open only to guests of the inn in the future. Apparently, the costs associated with the food and preparation along with the staffing makes the restaurant a low profit center for the inn. As a businessman myself, I certainly understand that consideration. That said, the restaurant is the hook that brings people to the venue. It is primarily because of the restaurant that we have recommended the inn to many of our friends. The inn itself is amazing but the restaurant is the leader which brings people in to stay and book the banquets in the wonderful hall that was built from stone quarried from the same stone as the original building. In fact, if it were me, I would open the inn for breakfast or brunch to bring in more folks like us that give as much weight to the culinary experience as we do the venue, service and the many other factors that the Inn at Erlow West has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defreestville, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This was the fourth year in a row that we celebrated our anniversary with a stay at this wonderful venue. It is a beautiful former mansion that has been converted into 10 suites. We stayed 3 nights and hated to leave. They had just introduced a new menu in their awesome restaurant, and the selections were inspired. Wonderful, courteous staff, who treat you like family. If the rate seems high, you must remember that a sumptuous dinner is included, as is a full breakfast. It is close to both Lake George Village and Bolton Landing with many local attractions to visit. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Their web site has photos and descriptions of all 10 rooms...no two are alike. We have stayed in 3 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

the location of this B&B is superb. The view of Lake George is beautiful and a short walk to the lake where you can take advantage of kayaks, canoes was great. There's also a private beach area for residents. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Coffee/tea available 24 hrs. complimentary cheese/champagne delivered to room upon arrival, even soup served around 4pm. in common area. We didn't dine here but breakfast was plentiful and good. Would recommend this spot to travelers from near and afar. We only drove 1 hr but it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: there are 6 rooms available and we chose the smallest but it was beautifully decorated and in no way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Pulling up in the driveway of this beautiful, old stone mansion gave one a sense of America's social history. We stayed in the Montcalm: balcony, windows overlooking the lake, fireplace, jacuzzi and beautiful, comfortable bed. The breakfasts were outstanding but the dinner was sublime. Salad with goat cheese, seared scallops w/risotto, a buttery salmon and a Meyer Lemon blueberry tart. The staff was incredibly friendly. A couple of things that need to be fixed: Make sure a restaurant is open before you send the guest; have better info on things to do in the area and have more knowledge about the history of the mansion. These itmes do not detract in any way from our stay.

Room Tip: The Montcalm is the most beautiful with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#23 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Property: The Inn at Erlowest
Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing