We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place in my heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Erlowest
Ranked #1 of 25 Lake George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Special Place in my heart”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I got married here in September, so I may be a bit biased. However, the Erlowest is gorgeous and so romantic. We have stayed at the Inn three times now, including our wedding, and were never dissapointed in our accomodation. Gorgeous, sprawling rooms- with large tubs and plenty of space to relax. The fruit/cheese and champagne welcome is always awesome too. Although it is a small place, someone is always on call to assist with needs. My favorite part besides the view of the lake, is the outdoor fireplace. It is so cozy and romantic! Perfect for an after-dinner drink.

Room Tip: Horicon or Lake George Suite are our favorites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    49
    12
    15
    4
See reviews for
34
262
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This place is so charming that it deserves a great review with details. We stayed at the Inn on New Years Eve, so there were no many guests.
The house was beautiful, with fireplaces. The lake is stunning, magical. The frozen landscape was out of this world. The town becomes a ghost town in winter, there was just the pizzeria Capri. I felt in a eskimo town.
The highlight of the inn is the dining room, it is a gourmet hotel, The menu was delicious,a real chef. Fine dining better than lots of restaurants in New York. Their wine list is spectacular, and not very expensive. It is considered one of the best wine list in the world by a wine institution.
Some of the plates we had:
-Cauliflower veloute.
-Beef of filet.
-Green salad.
You can study the menu in your room, dress well and eat a fancy and gourmet dinner in this 1o table restaurant. It was like dining in a museum in the middle of nothing in from of the gorgeous lake.
The breakfast was delicious, the scrambled eggs with bacon, yummy.
This is a unique place and experience, for a weekend. The concept is very different, to be in a castle of 1900, with just 10 rooms, with the mystery of the landscape, and a cold i never felt before. One of the best experiences was waking up and smelling the pancakes for breakfast.
The staff was polite, helpful. the jacuzzi wasn’t working in our room , and it was much better, those jacuzzis didn’t look appealing at all.
We knew the inn at the Erlowest by watching an episode of the TV show “The Real Housewives of New Jersey”. Our waiter appeared in one of the episodes, hilarious! The way they serve you the pepper is great.
This was a two night trip i will never forget. December 2013 was frozen, with an arctic vortex wind. We left New York City with good weather for the highway and we came back before Hercules the mega winter storm affected all the state.
Lake George is the queen of the american lakes. The geography of the place makes you feel in Greenland, or Iceland. We had a great time. Laughed. Got drunk with two bottles of Pinot Noir in New Year’s Eve and a bottle of Moet Nectar Imperial to receive the new year.

Room Tip: Check their website and choose the room you like in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voolksorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I were driving to NYC and were planning on stopping in Lake George on the way. I booked a one night stay at this Inn as a surprise for my husband thinking it would be very romantic. I won't go into too much detail, but here are some of the negatives about this place: there was no hot (or even warm) water in our room on arrival (Horicon suite), someone came up to try and fix it, but apparently there was no solution to the problem...the internet was very spotty...there was a weird gas smell in the Inn, especially on the main floor...there was a wedding going on at the Inn, so all day there was cigarette smoke coming up into our room (despite the window being closed) from the people smoking outside on the main floor and in the evening, the music was blasting.

I have never done this before, but when we got back from dinner that evening and the hot water still was not fixed and music was blaring, we decided to leave the Inn. The only nice part about the whole experience was that we were fully refunded without putting up too much of a fight. We drove to the Holiday Inn not too far away, and I was finally able to take a hot shower and sleep without loud music or cigarette smoke bothering me!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yassi_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value all compliments and especially criticism which only helps us to make sure that future guests do not experience the same issues that you had experienced. We apologize that you had a less than wonderful experience. Unfortunately, issues do arise, which we cannot control, when equipment breaks down and causes inconveniences to our guest. We can assure you that we are now responsive to unforeseen circumstances and are continually monitoring and upgrading our equipment so that the same issues will not arise again. Our venue allows for beautiful wedding receptions to take place here and we are very conscious to make sure that the music and smoking is now contained as not to interfere with the peace and quietness that our non wedding guests can enjoy. We welcome you to come back and enjoy the Inn at Erlowest and its grandeur and fine service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Christmas Eve, so there were no many guests, though we were happy to find they were open. The Erlowest Suite was beautiful, with fireplace. Jacuzzi's in all suites we were able to peek in. They started a fire in the large fireplace outside, which was very pretty. The lake was beautiful while we hiked around and explored a bit. Had dinner at the Inn and were waited on by Frank who was wonderful, despite a slow night. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort, New York
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are absolutely exquisite and you get top notch service during your whole stay. I would highly recommend this as a great romantic getaway. We also had breakfast there and it was excellent too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockintrixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forked River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I treated my husband to a weekend, off-season birthday stay at the Inn at Erlowest. From previous reviews and pictures, we knew it would be nice---but 'nice' doesn't begin to describe our stay. We arrived at 1pm and were immediately shown to our room. Our room was the Jogues Suite with a view of the lake. It was beautifully furnished and immaculate. All the other rooms were open and we were encouraged to look around and explore the Inn. There were welcoming fires on a cool fall day in every room. They have an expansive patio and fireplace overlooking the lake and when we were asked when we would like our welcome fruit and cheese platter with champagne, we immediately knew we wanted it outside, at night, in front of the fire. We sat in front of a roaring fire in 30 degree temperatures with a lap rug and enjoyed our champagne under the stars. We understood they had a new chef at Erlowest and were excited to try their cuisine. We were not disappointed! In fact, the next night , we had a reservation at the Sagamore and cancelled it---the food at the Erlowest is THAT good! Granted, it is expensive, but the food quality, his imaginative menu and wine list are all top notch. They have a small. cozy bar at the Inn, where we enjoyed talking to Richard, their very accomodating bartender, sommelier and evening manager. The breakfasts were wonderful, too. The only problem we encountered was difficulty with wifi in our room. The management was aware--I suppose with 2 foot thick stone walls, it is a problem they have had to deal with. To be honest, I had tried to reserve at the Sagamore, which was full, before reserving at the Erlowest. We did visit the Sagamore and spent an afternoon there. While it was lovely, their menus were not as imaginative as those at the Erlowest and quite frankly, it felt very 'corporate'. After experiencing such personal customer service, wonderful food and beautiful surroundings at the Erlowest, I cannot imagine ever choosing the Sagamore over it. In fact, our room at the Erlowest was less expensive, much more beautiful than those at the Sagamore, and if you factor in the wonderful breakfast and afternoon tea included, the Erlowest is a much better place to stay. I'd love to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Inn at Erlowest is gorgeous. Yes, it is right next to a resort but that does not detract from its splendor. My significant other and I arrived right at three and were shown the entire establishment and invited to look at the other open suites to truly get a sense of what the inn had to offer. Due to a low volume of customers on the night we were staying we were upgraded at no additional cost to a larger suite- the Schuyler Suite. Everything down to the accent pieces were perfect. The fireplace was idealic and romantic. Everything was clean and even the toilet paper was folded. The bed was comfortable with a lot of blankets- which was perfect considering the cold Winter nights. There was a small flat screen television that was just a bit too far away from the love seat but fine nonetheless. The bar was small but perfect when trying to imagine how one person could live in such a beautiful castle and entertain. The view from the upstairs balcony was absolutely perfect and super romantic. Breakfast was lovely, not perfectly done (the eggs were overdone) but certainly not the worst I've ever had. The presentation of the meal was really what was captivating. The price is expensive but the location and the follow through by the staff was great. I hope to make this an annual experience.

Room Tip: The rooms with lake views are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#7 of 89 in Lake George
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Property: The Inn at Erlowest
Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing