We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Standard in Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Erlowest
Ranked #1 of 26 Lake George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Standard in Excellence”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay in two suites in the Inn. Both were uniquely perfect. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. We were in town for a wedding. The venue with its view of the lake is breath taking. This was like going to a destination wedding without the hassle. Highly recommended for an escape weekend. These people care about their business and do it right!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScubaSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatErlowest, Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your giving us such a wonderful review. We appreciate the value of guest feedback and love to know when we've done a good job as that is our ultimate goal. Please come see us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    49
    12
    15
    4
See reviews for
32
257
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

For an accountant and his administrative assistant wife The Inn at Erlowest was just what we needed after a grueling tax season! The Inn is beautiful, luxurious and very well maintained and the staff meets all of your needs. This was our second visit. Our first was in March of 2013 when we stayed in the Erlowest room. It is a very large room with a sitting area. A gas fireplace included. The bathroom was so large we could have hosted a party!! We had dinner there on our first trip. The food was delicious! Expensive, but delicious. This time we stayed in The Shepherd (Named after the builder/original owner of the castle). Smaller but very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Window seats to gaze at the lake view. Very nice bathroom. Would I stay again? Yes! Yes! Yes!

Room Tip: Make sure you go on their website. There are pictures of each room. The staff will gladly help you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbieg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatErlowest, Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their time with us and appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We value any and all feedback so that we may continue to improve. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have stayed twice now at the Inn and they continue to impress us. The Inn is a renovated residence (castle), and they make continued attempts to perfect each room and each experience.

Our first stay was for two nights and we stayed in the Howe room. It is modest, adequate and has a fireplace. The bathroom is fine for one, a tight squeeze in the mornings as we are both fairly high maintenance and want the mirror. They have a small side mirror though, which is so cute and appreciated! Water pressure was great, bed was comfortable. We did some serious shopping and then ate downstairs. What a nice treat! The dinner was exceptional and they were extremely accommodating of our dietary restrictions. That restaurant will surely continue to gain attention for the quality of its food, its extensive wine collection and the exceptional service.

Our second stay was in the Lake George room. The view is so nice. I have to agree with others who have noted that the front lawn of the property has truly been disgraced with the addition of townhomes. I can't image how beautiful this property once was. Anyway - the room was perfect - we included a picture. Spacious, with a sitting area and the bathroom steals the show. A two person tub and a two person shower. I would highly recommend staying in the larger suites if you can.

Our first stay, their coffee station in the dining area was available to guests - which was off putting while we were dining. They changed that on our second stay - as we wanted coffee in the evening and instead they brought it up to our room. We loved that!

They have an adorable bar, and a very nice bar keep who makes the fires in the outdoor fireplace in the evening. It is apparent that the staff here makes continued efforts to accommodate and improve. They even printed directions to the restaurant we were eating at and brought them to our room. Any complaint you may have here is immediately addressed - so I would take any poor review with a grain of salt.

We already booked our next stay!

Room Tip: The larger suites are a real treat - or any room with a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We take great pride to make sure that your stay is most memorable and the staff here is constantly thinking and implementing new ways to make sure you receive the best service that we are able to provide. Thank you for your kind words and we thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned from an awesome overnight at Erlowest. Would have loved to stay longer. The staff was most attentive and the food was incredible. We were greeted with champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, cheese, etc. This place is soooo restful. Each room has its own decorated theme. Since we were celebrating a birthday, everyone went out of their way to make this a special occasion. I am looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and found it to be extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75Karen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Happy Birthday again from the Staff at Erlowest! It is with great pleasure that we can make your stay most memorable and look forward to your future stay with us. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

For my daughter's birthday her father and I gave her and her husband an overnight at the Inn while we watched their 20 month old for his first sleepover. The week before their trip, an email was sent asking if they would like to make a dinner reservation, telling them the chef was aware of my son-in-law's dietary restrictions, and inquiring whose birthday was being celebrated. They were then offered a complimentary upgrade to the St. Sacrement Suite--sitting area, in room Jacuzzi, sparkling wine and cheese and crackers upon arrival, etc., etc. They loved the inn, their room, and later the dinner and texted pictures to us of everything. Even though it was chilly, they were quite comfortable sitting outside next to the fire pit sipping wine after dinner. Breakfast was sumptuous--they told us AND sent pics! Now my daughter is recommending her younger sister consider the inn for her wedding. I don't know how we will top what our girl says was her best birthday ever!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaSaratogaSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for entrusting us with such a special occasion for your daughter. We are dedicated to make sure that all our guests receive a pleasurable experience from the moment they arrive to the moment they leave our grounds. We look forward to your younger daughters visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was our second stay at the Inn at Erlowest, but we brought along friends who had never been there. Aside from a small glitch in how our special packages were booked, the staff happily took care of the problem upon our check-in. Every one of the suites is magnificent and this time we had the Montcalm Suite while our friends stayed in the Horicon Suite. The winter views of the lake were wonderful. We were treated to champagne with fruit and cheeses once we settled into our rooms. Since it was my birthday, we dressed up for our very special dinner in the dining room...all of our meals were wonderfully prepared and presented. The rooms at Erlowest are beautifully appointed and the linens and Frette robes add to the luxurious feel of your stay. Breakfast the next morning put the final touches on our stay. Such a memorable stay in a wonderful inn with an attentive staff and excellent accommodations.

Room Tip: The are comfortable seating areas spread around the inn for your enjoyment. Great place to have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbetNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Happy Birthday again and thank you for celebrating it with us! We are so glad that you had a wonderful experience and we greatly appreciate that you brought your friends. Thank you for your comment on the special packages that you had booked with us. Front desk has been re-trained to be more specific on what our packages offer so as there to be no confusion when the guests arrive . We hope to see you in the near future and thank you again for celebrating such a special occasion at The Inn at Erlowest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was the most amazing beautiful romantic castle. We stayed two nights and loved every minute. We ski in the area, the inn is filled with history and charm. There's always coffee and little cakes in thee dining area. And the most yummy cream of mushroom soup in a big silver Turin. The rooms are posh..with a cheese nut and fruit board..champagne ...the lake in winter so beautiful and an out door fire..the food in the dining room breakfast truly delicious ...staff very nice..can't wait to go back..we had three rooms..my husband myself ,two college daughters and two of their friends. Truly a treat..thanks Erlowest....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for choosing us! We are thrilled that you can share this experience with your family. We hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Property: The Inn at Erlowest
Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing