We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and breathtaking views, my wedding was amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Erlowest
Ranked #1 of 26 Lake George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Luzerne, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant and breathtaking views, my wedding was amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I married the man of my dreams at the location of my dreams on May 31, 2014. The castle is an elegant and peaceful location for any special event. The food and decor were perfect. Every detail was handled expertly by the staff, especially Alexis Wallace and Laurie Jones. I truly felt like a princess and was treated like one. The moment I began planning my wedding with Alexis I knew that my wedding would be perfect. From the ceremony until the last guest left,I had the staff by my side. I will go back again and again and recommend this wonderful location and staff to help you bring your dream wedding to fruition!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
We are very happy that you found the place of your dreams for your wedding and that we could be a part of it. As the new general manager of Erlowest, I would like to invite you back in 2015 to see old friends and to enjoy the Inn once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    49
    12
    14
    4
See reviews for
29
253
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was very nice, more than I expected, the view was amazing, being on the lake was great, morning coffee and a view no better way to start the day. The staff was great and very friendly, any thing you need they are there to help, breakfast was amazing very good, can't wait to go back sometime. You can sit on the balcony and watch the steamboats go by, great sunsets.

Room Tip: They have 10 suitesI think and they all are named we stayed in the how's suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
Thank you for your review from June 2014 regarding your stay at Erlowest. We can't agree more with you that the combination of 10 unique rooms in a 1898 mansion on Lake George is a relaxing setting. We continue to improve our service and with Chef Chris Bonnivier, we have changed our dinner menu options and pricing!

We hope to see you again in 2015 to enjoy the splendor that makes Erlowest and Lake George so relaxing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Inn in early June. The staff was wonderful, the room was beautiful, the views and ambiance were great. Breakfast was very nice - relatively full menu to order from with service. I particularly enjoyed having access to the kayaks - went out three times in the two days and thought it was great. Jeremy the bartender in the quaint small bar was very entertaining and a really nice guy. Lisa also stood out with her friendly advice. We were celebrating our 35th anniversary and could not have found a more beautiful place to visit. I can't understand some of the negative reviews as this is a first class inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFG_JRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 2 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with The Inn at Erlowest from June 2014. As the new General Manager at Erlowest, we strive to deliver exceptional service everyday. We hope that you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Its so seldom that you find a place that meets and then exceeds your expectations. Even more so when you are in a resort town on a weekend in June. The Inn at Erlowest was one of those rare experiences where it was everything we wanted and more.

This Inn is in a specular location. It overlooks a lower portion of Lake George from a elevated plateau so you have wonderful views of the lake and boating enthusiasts. Maybe 5 minutes off of Interstate 87, it is a world away from what you might expect. With 10 large rooms and really special dining areas, it feels more like a mini estate/ small castle/boutique hotel then a B&B. Large outdoor sitting area with fireplace, a 2nd floor lounge area for sunning and a pool just below the main house, on the lake. The site itself and the layout would be enough alone to warrant an 9.5. out of 10.

Now for the staff- in a few words- always smiling and nice to be around. They work well as a team and make guests feel instantly welcome without invading your space. To name just a few, Joanne the concierge and guest services leader can make anyone smile with her enthusiasm for the Inn; she had some wonderful recommendations; Paige the young server was so accommodating whatever our request; Jeremy the young man in the bar area the perfect personality for the role; Lucy the newest hire was made for hospitality while Laurie the manager a naturally warm person seemed to be everywhere quietly checking to be sure all was OK. Another 9.5

Meals at the Inn excellent. Had a light lunch on arrival which was perfect. Breakfast was first rate with a wide variety of choices individual choices- fresh fruit, omelets, french toast, fresh juices, yogurt- wonderful. One breakfast and one dinner was out on the terrace at our request. Dinner is when the chef and his staff really show over their skills. Whatever they prepare, it will be exceptional based on the food we sampled. They offer a ala carte and 5 course and 8 course tasting menus. They would receive accolades in any fine restaurant in New York, Boston or Washington DC. A 9.75 rating!

The few minor points- given the excellent weather, set the tables on the terrace for breakfast and dinner, add little candles to the terrace tables, place handing baskets to show off the season, place umbrellas in the tables. Lastly , the sign is not so easy to see although it is large. It is too similar to several in the area and doesn't reflect the overall ambiance of the Inn.

The best thing you can say about a stay is that you would like to return sooner then later. That is our sentiment exactly- sooner then later.

Room Tip: The lake facing rooms are a little more special because of the views but all the rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quality First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 4 January 2015
Thank you for your review from June of 2014. I am the new General Manager at Erlowest and it is always nice to see that we met our goal of meeting or exceeding our guest expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us so you can enjoy our service once again and experience our new dining options!

Thank you for your thoughts on upgrades to our service. We appreciate feedback that can help us present The Inn at Erlowest in an even better light.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

On May 31, 2014,Our first trip and stay at the inn was wonderful! Joanne was so helpful and accommodating! Served perseco, cheese , fruit on the stone patio overlooking the gorgeous lake. Breakfast, included, was delicious! So much to choose from! Blue smoothie was yummy! Elevators to 3rd floor! Beautifully decorated, fireplace on patio, overlooking lake .would stay again and have dinner there! Thank you everyone! Leslie and Jim

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tarveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 4 January 2015
Thank you for your comments from your stay with us at Erlowest from June 2014. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and encourage your to join us again soon! Our new dinner menu highlights the best selection of farm to table products that make our dining experience a wonderful addition to the unique characteristics that Erlowest offers. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I traveled north from NJ to the Inn for our one year anniversary. Wow! What a wonderful space hidden at the foot of the Adirondacks. From the view of breathtaking Lake George to the attention to every detail - we truly were in awe of this hidden gem. This castle holds a caring and courteous concierge named Joanne who was such a help education us on the local area. She gave great recommendations on what to do and where to enjoy throughout our stay (great shopping outlets are only 10 min away). the chef was outstanding, every meal was nothing short of perfect. My husband travels for business quite often and the customer service and care give at Erolwest exceeded my expectation . It truly feels like a 5 star resort. We had such a great experience, we plan to go back before the end of summer to enjoy the warmer weather there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarSmithFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 4 January 2015
Thank you for your feedback from your stay in June 2014. As the new General Manager at Erlowest, it is wonderful to see positive feedback about your experience. We hope that The Inn at Erlowest becomes part of your anniversary celebration every year. Please call so we can work together to make your next stay another exceptional experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Erlowest a few weeks ago to celebrate our fifth year wedding anniversary. We loved the ambiance and the location of the castle. We entered to check in, and walked into what seemed to be an argument between staff members and the management. They were bickering in the dining room, but we could see that they were very upset about some sort of room key situation. Joanne at the front desk saved the day, and welcomed us with a big smile, and made us feel more comfortable immediately. Joanne showed us around, brought us the cheese/fruit platter and champagne with a smile. The fruit platter was a little lacking in fresh fruit, as the strawberries were very bruised.

We decided to stay for dinner, which was very expensive for what arrived on your plate. (Only one other couple ate there as well that evening.) We actually needed to go out to get a pizza after dinner, as we were still hungry. I read another review mentioning the portions at dinner have gone down in size over the years, and this was definitely true; especially for the cost of the dinner. When the bill arrived, the price of the glass of wine we had ordered was $4 more than the one that was printed on the menu. Hopefully this was just a simple mistake.

The rooms were beautiful, and the bathroom was very clean in our room. We stayed in the St. Sacrament room, which has a hot tub when you first walk in. We recommend staying there, even though there is no view of the Lake. There is a large deck on the property to see the Lake, but much of the view is obstructed by newer townhouses/buildings on the property.

The next morning for breakfast, there was cold coffee, about 4 fresh sweet rolls/Danish, (we were not at all late for breakfast) and service with an attitude. The young female server acted as if we were bothering her, and actually commented to the chef in the kitchen that my husband must be very hungry as he ordered an additional egg. (We are not overweight people, but include lots of protein in our diets.) We were sitting at a table by the kitchen, and she didn't know we could hear her. This is extremely rude, and not at all the type of service you would expect from a place of such presumed high quality. She didn't check on us, and never even came back to refill our coffee or to say goodbye. Perhaps additional training would benefit the servers.

If we stayed there again, we would be on high alert for staff arguments, rudeness by the wait staff, and unprofessional comments made by employees. It is not cheap to stay at this castle, and guests should feel like they don't want to leave, rather than wishing they couldn't leave fast enough. This has to be the result of poor management.

Kate and George

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate both the positive comments and the opportunity to be made aware of some items and staff training that need to be addressed. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to impress you with both the Inn and the staff in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#7 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#25 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Property: The Inn at Erlowest
Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing