We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Erlowest
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$212
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage of Lake George Motel(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$221
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tea Island Resort(Lake George)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Motel(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Village Resort(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn of Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake George Inn(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
300
51
13
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
300
51
13
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor fireplacemontcalm suitecheese platterchef adambeautiful castleperson jacuzziromantic getawayview of lake georgewedding venuejetted tublovely roomthoroughly enjoyed our staythe entire staffsitting areacommon areasparking spotthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Inn at Erlowest is hard to characterize. Gothic castle-like it overlooks Lake George with multiple decks and a fire placed patio facing the lake. Everything suggests solidity and elegance from the furniture, the massive front door and the dining room (more on that later). Parking is convenient and the staff well trained and very helpful. We had to change rooms after the first night and housekeeping moved our belongings to the new room. In short it should be a welcoming and convivial place, but it misses somehow. Breakfast is described as special and is included with the room price. In fact there are rather normal choices (fresh fruit, two eggs any style, bacon or sausage, home fries and toast or muffin is one of the choices) served on china plates and with silver service. Dinner is not included and when we were there consisted of a prix fixe menu with a limited number of choices for $85 per person. Too steep. There are more attractive alternatives within easy driving distances.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnRCentralVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

We are sorry that your stay in June 2014 missed some of the marks for you. As the new General Manager, we have made a number of changes starting in July with the introduction of our new Chef Chris Bonnivier. Our service points have improved and our new menus offer a wide variety of selections a prices that fit the ambience of Erlowest and the quality of the farm to table style to which we adhere.

We also offer "dine and stay" packages from time to time to combine the eloquence of our rooms with the inspired dining options from Chef Chris. Those packages, when available, combined with our new menu choices and prices may better meet your expectations on your next stay.

We hope to see you again in 2015 to experience Erlowest another time. Thank you for choosing The Inn at Erlowest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inn at Erlowest and we both came away very impressed. The decor was both elegant and welcoming, and our room, which included a lovely view of the lake, was amazing. We were welcomed to our room upon arrival by champagne and a plate of cheese, crackers and fruit. After turn-down, we were greeted by a plate of delicious petit fours. We both loved the bathroom and the jacuzzi was great. The meals were wonderful, and the chef deserves commendation for his efforts. The only negative was the less-than-ideal weather, which meant less opportunity to sit on the patio in the evening by the fire and watch the sun set over the lake.

Perhaps the best part of the experience, however, was the staff; everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Lisa, Joanne, Justin, Paige, and everyone else whose names we cannot remember. We do not get to go away very often (or for very long), but you helped make our little trip memorable. We would definitely recommend this establishment to other couples, and if we are fortunate enough to get back to Lake George, we know where we will stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_and_Kate_Conlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

As the new General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us in June 2014. We are very happy that you enjoyed the property (sorry about the weather), but most importantly, your comments regarding the staff are most important to us. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service at every point along your stay!

We hope that the next time you plan to travel, you will remember Erlowest. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I've never stayed at the Inn at Erlowest, but I've attended two weddings there. It is a truly beautiful place that in many ways transports you to a different time. The main ballroom is lovely, with large doors looking out over Lake George. There is also a charming little bar that reminds me of a library. I think the best part is the enormous terrace overlooking the lawn and lake. With a massive stone fireplace, it's a beautiful place to celebrate, relax, and enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Abbey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Thank you for the kind words about The Inn at Erlowest! The Inn offers features based on the historical structure of the 1898 mansion. Whether the bar as a former library to the Wood Room as a "home office" space, the layout of Erlowest is unique! Making it more special is Lake George! Wonderful views from the balconies and patios of the lake make Erlowest a wonderful place to stay and relax! Our ball room and grounds providing exceptional options for weddings and other events!

Thank you for visiting The Inn at Erlowest. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I married the man of my dreams at the location of my dreams on May 31, 2014. The castle is an elegant and peaceful location for any special event. The food and decor were perfect. Every detail was handled expertly by the staff, especially Alexis Wallace and Laurie Jones. I truly felt like a princess and was treated like one. The moment I began planning my wedding with Alexis I knew that my wedding would be perfect. From the ceremony until the last guest left,I had the staff by my side. I will go back again and again and recommend this wonderful location and staff to help you bring your dream wedding to fruition!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

We are very happy that you found the place of your dreams for your wedding and that we could be a part of it. As the new general manager of Erlowest, I would like to invite you back in 2015 to see old friends and to enjoy the Inn once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was very nice, more than I expected, the view was amazing, being on the lake was great, morning coffee and a view no better way to start the day. The staff was great and very friendly, any thing you need they are there to help, breakfast was amazing very good, can't wait to go back sometime. You can sit on the balcony and watch the steamboats go by, great sunsets.

Room Tip: They have 10 suitesI think and they all are named we stayed in the how's suite
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2015

Thank you for your review from June 2014 regarding your stay at Erlowest. We can't agree more with you that the combination of 10 unique rooms in a 1898 mansion on Lake George is a relaxing setting. We continue to improve our service and with Chef Chris Bonnivier, we have changed our dinner menu options and pricing!

We hope to see you again in 2015 to enjoy the splendor that makes Erlowest and Lake George so relaxing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews