We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay..looking forward to next year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Balsam Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
West Islip, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay..looking forward to next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The Balsam Motel is a great place to stay & in walking distance to the town..everything at your fingertips..this is my families 2nd year there. We stayed in one of their cottages (same as last year). Super clean & very affordable. We stayed a week. The owners George & Suzanne are great people, very hands on..make sure u are having a good time. They have now become like family. The kids had fun and played
In pool..can't wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lijo929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg,Pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We loved this place, so friendly ...the owners Suzanne and George were so warming, I felt I knew them all my life !!!! We will be back, I just can't tell you enough how much fun we had...lots of action !!! :)... I would always recommend anyone to stay here ... family and pet friendly....cabins are so adorable! 5 Star rating!!!!! Thanks for a great stay!!!! ~ Diane

Room Tip: cabins are sweet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a clean comfortable place to stay after a fun day enjoying all Lake George has to offer. At night I was able to truly enjoy the bars and restaurants because you can walk to many of them from The Balsam. Coming home, my walking skills, not so good, ended up taking a quaint trolly. A lot of fun, safe and sound, my kind of vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croghan, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this motel during Americade (motorcycle rally) and Lake George was packed. We were fortunate to be able to make a reservation for a cottage for Saturday night only (as most places told us they had nothing, but were in actually holding back rooms, as we discovered when we arrived). A cottage was all that was available, and while it cost more than a motel room, it was well worth the extra money. The room was spacioius with 2 beds. There was a fully equipped kitchen stocked with pots, dishes, etc. The bathroom had a full sized bath/shower. The room was clean. My only complaint would be with the beds, I think it is time to replace the mattresses, The owners could not be more pleasant or accommodating. We arrived early (10:00 - with a 2:00 check in). They allowed us to park in front of the cottage and return later to check in. They were knowledgeable and informative.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyCroghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here after the motel we stayed at for years over booked and we lost our reservation and they were good enough to find us a place and stated they would get us back next year. Well after staying here we didn't want to go back. Like the sign says in the office come as customers and go away friends that we did, George and Suzanne are great people. This is a cozy family run motel and cottages, clean and reasonably priced. I have been coming many years to Lake George and know of no where else that you can sit with the owners and have coffee and great conversation. It's usually give me the money and here's your room. I booked 2 more dates, what better of a review then that can I give.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherwood C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Balsam Motel is the perfect place for families to get away. It's location is perfect to the village. Cars, motorcycles can be left there while you visit the village for place to eat and shop and all within walking distance. Owners are friendly and welcome their guests with a smile. They will go out of their way to ensure that their guests are comfortable. Rooms are bright and clean. Their cottages make you feel as though you are camping with your family as they are surrounded by trees. Public beach is straight out back. Love it and we'll keeping staying there whenever we visit Lake George for they are our first choice for lodging. They should be your first choice also!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Edge, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Balsam Motel is family-owned for many years and provides a warm, friendly, and homelike feeling for all its guests. We recently stayed again with our family and enjoyed the time there very much. The rooms were bright, clean, with comfortable beds and pillows, air conditioned, and especially enjoyed the chairs outside our rooms to read and enjoy the beautiful wooded scenery and, of course, Lake George.

Parking is free and available all day and we enjoyed walking a short distance from our room to the lake and swam in the beautiful clear and clean Lake George water. We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant next door to the Motel – friendly waitress, good value, and large portions were provided.

Overall, Suzanne and George, owners of The Balsam Motel, are sweet and care about their customers' stay at their extended home - The Balsam Motel & Cottages – we will be back!

Roy Hermalyn

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyHermalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
The Lake George Inn
The Lake George Inn
#42 of 87 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Haven Resort
Green Haven Resort
#43 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
#15 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#7 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#32 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balsam Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balsam Motel & Cottages

Property: The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Address: 430 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balsam Motel is a family run motel. Whether you choose the privacy of our own cottage or one of our motel rooms, our Lake George Village location gives you easy access to shops and attractions. Our secluded wooded setting is the perfect place to unwind and have a barbeque. We strive to offer you the best and friendliest accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balsam Motel & Cottages Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Motel And Cottages
Balsam Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing