We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Westfield, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
Reviewed 1 June 2009

My boyfriend and I spent the long Memorial Day weekend at the Balsam, and we were so pleasantly surprised. We weren't expecting much since the place was such a value. We were also a little wary because of the lack of pictures along with the reviews. We shouldn't have worried. The room was basic but clean, the place was in a perfect location (walkable to town, but far enough away to keep its quiet rustic charm), and the owners were sweet as can be. So, here I am posting for the first time to tripadvisor.com so that I can start a photo log of pictures to share with other travellers, and I encourage other reviewers to do the same.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJoMc727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    22
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
66
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Britain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Just got back from a glorious 1 week vacation in Lake George with my Mom and dog. We chose to stay at the Balsam because of all the positive reviews and were not disappointed in the slightest. We stayed in Cottage 11 which was very clean and comfy. George and Suzanne are wonderful people and made us feel so welcome. The location is great. Lake George Village is within easy walking distance which is extremely helpful if you are trying to avoid feeding those hungry parking meters that are up and down every street! The beautiful secluded beach is a gem and was also just a short walk from our cottage. My dog loved that and got to go swimming every day of our stay! Plus, if you are new to the area you couldn't find a better guide then George who was most helpful with directions, etc. Personally you can keep your fancy resort hotels where everything is over priced especially during peak seasons. I'll definitely be coming back to the Balsam! Thanks again George and Suzanne for being the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHappyTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

My Wife & I have stayed here for 5 straight years now during Americade. And intend to stay for many more. What can I say. George & Sue make us feel right at Home. Clean, convinent, quiet and anything you need is taken care of. A+

Jack & Debra Thompson, Londonderry, NH

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CobraSigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

My mother and I rented one of the cottage and for the money we felt it was a great value. The cottage room was clean, large and it had everything we needed. Our dog was very happy here, too.

George was EXTREMELY helpful with anything we needed.

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel and you need to be pampered go elsewhere (you know who you are) but if you are looking for a good value within walking distance of restaurants and cruise-lines than this is the place.

Thanks again, George!

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briiansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveslakegeorge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2009

My boyfriend and I decided at the last minute we wanted to get away for the Columbus day weekend. We were lucky enough to find The Balsam Motel. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was very clean and homey. The Balsam Motel is an amazing place. I guarantee we will be back to stay again at the Balsam!!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank loveslakegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2008

This is about our 5th stay at the Balsam. We would never stay any where else. George and Sue make you feel that you have known them your whole life! This trip we had the pleasure of meeting their 3 grown children who were as friendly and warm as their Mom and Dad.

Both mornings I wandered out early looking for a cup of coffee and there was George with a pot, which of course he offered, along with conversation and suggestions for the best places to eat, and the best way to get to the garage sale

The gounds of the Motel are beautiful. The cabins are rustic but clean and very cozy.

We will return again and again!

  • Liked — Sue and George's hospitality/the setting of thr motel
  • Disliked — Not enough time
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tornese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2008

The Balsam is definately the best if you want to have the convenience of staying in the Village of Lake George, but yet you want to feel as if you are in a country setting. While there are many many hotels/motels/cottages in the village surrounding this little gem, all the others seem like "concrete jungles" compared to The Balsam.
Beautiful wooded, landscaped grounds with a very nice pool, picnic tables, and grills. We were even able to enjoy making a campfire in a fire pit to roast marshmallows and just kick back and enjoy the evening. We have to agree with all the previous reviews concerning the owners/operators of this motel, George and Suzanne. They are the kind of people that make you feel as if you have been friends with them forever. If there is anything that they are able to do for you, consider it done.
The only negative part of our stay at The Balsam was having to leave. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.0 mi away
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
#17 of 88 in Lake George
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Haven Resort
Green Haven Resort
#46 of 88 in Lake George
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lake George Inn
The Lake George Inn
#38 of 88 in Lake George
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#35 of 88 in Lake George
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Lake George
Howard Johnson Lake George
#43 of 88 in Lake George
153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lake George NY Travelodge
Lake George NY Travelodge
#66 of 88 in Lake George
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balsam Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balsam Motel & Cottages

Property: The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Address: 430 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
#22 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balsam Motel is a family run motel. Whether you choose the privacy of our own cottage or one of our motel rooms, our Lake George Village location gives you easy access to shops and attractions. Our secluded wooded setting is the perfect place to unwind and have a barbeque. We strive to offer you the best and friendliest accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balsam Motel And Cottages
The Balsam Motel & Cottages Hotel Lake George
Balsam Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing