We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
English Brook Cottages
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed onthe #11. When we got here it must have rained the previous days because the floors were wet and everything like bedding and towels were damp. The walls were so thin and ours was located directly on the highway with all the windows closed we still could hear so much traffic... Not very much like the wilderness. There were plenty of bugs but you are in the woods so I would expect that. The shower had mold in it and the temperature was hard to control. Overall this place was fine for a one night stay but nothing more than that. It's about a five minute drive into town, wish it was closer!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashmash00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

We just returned from a vacation to Lake George and were pleasantly surprised with English Brook Cottages. The cottages, grounds and pool is nicer than it looks on the website. Our cottage, #9, was very clean, had a big TV, comfy bed and good shower; perfect for a couple. The little screened-in porch was great to relax and have a drink after motorcycle riding around Lake George all day. The hosts are very cool and have free coffee and donuts every morning. The pool is kept very clean like the cottage we had. It's a great place for the price and we'd definately stay there again.
K+T, Rhode Island.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodeIslandKevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

My family along with our pets rented 2 cottages and stayed for a week in Aug of 2008. The owners live on site and were very friendly and always asked if we needed anything. There is a dog path towards the back of the property but I suggest you bring a flashlight if you need to use the path at night. We stayed in a kitchen unit so there was no maid service but we always had clean towels and whatever was needed. My daughter had a non-kitchen unit and said that her room was cleaned everyday to her satisfaction. We had rented the large family unit and found the large enclosed porch great for sitting outside at night. Another advantage to this rental is that you have 2 bedrooms in the area with the kitchen/couch/table/bathroom and then another bedroom/bathroom with its own seperate entrance.
I cannot give this location a triple aaa rating, but I can recommend these cottages if you have pets. We would stay again if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grshar405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2006

We stayed at the English Brook cottages on a 3 night trip to Lake George in 2004.

I checked out their web-site and it looked like a cute place to spend our down time at Lake George. (We planned on one afternoon just at the cottage we rented.

Well the owners live on the property and the the whole time you kind of felt like you were being watched. My son and I took a walk around one day and the owner practically followed us. We went up by the wooded area and we came back he actually wanted to know what we were doing???? Also he has kids so the pool was being occupied a lot by his kids and their friends. The basketball "court" was a hoop right near the owners house which was also occupied a lot by his kids. Playground was very very small.(we didn;t use it as our kids were older.) If you rent a cottage ask for one not near the highway. We had cottage 11 and it was near the highway so it wasn't quite the quiet setting we hoped for.

There were pluses though:

The pool was nice when we did get to use it.
In the back of our cottage was a picnic table and grill. Nice in the evenings. plus it was on the private side so you didn't feel like you were being watched.
Housekeeping was good.
The owners also kept a small cooler of popsicles and treats available.
Not too far from the main village of Lake George. You did have to drive though.

12  Thank joenronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottage05, owner at English Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2009

Under new management since end of 2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.3 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#17 of 89 in Lake George
607 reviews
1.3 mi away
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
#28 of 89 in Lake George
96 reviews
1.3 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#9 of 89 in Lake George
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Brook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Brook Cottages

Address: 2888 State Rt. 9, Lake George, NY 12845
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Price Range: £398 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your English Brook Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing