We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a quick family holiday weekend”
Review of Lake Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Motel
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at The Lake Motel this past Memorial Day weekend. We stayed here for the weekend and it was a lovely experience. As this was the beginning of the season we expected to pay a lot of money but the hotel was very reasonably priced. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We checked in and Shannon at the desk was really very nice and helpful. She was very knowledgeable about the area especially with what to do with kids in bad weather. The view was beautiful and we really could not have asked for a nicer place to stay. If you're looking for a great price, clean rooms and fantastic staff then I would recommend The Lake Motel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherB4838315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thanks for the words of encouragement. I wish we could have done something about the cold weather but everyone seemed to have a good time nonetheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Lake Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

Mr and Mrs. had business locally to attend to. Instead of a longer drive from our home we stayed at the Lake Motel. As with a previous stay there we were not disappointed in the least. The hospitality shined through the instant we walked through the door. Then again it always does. The rooms are impeccably maintained. The young lady that attended to our room AND to our needs did an outstanding job with a great and genuine upbeat attitude. Very personable. We were afforded the best room in their establishment with an outstanding view. For a truly five diamond stay without being advertised as such, we highly recommend spending your time at the Lake Motel. We are returning again in a week for another stay with these fine folks. They make us feel at home and they truly have gone and continue to go out of their way for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thanks for the kind words. My wife and I truly enjoy serving all our guests and we believe an upbeat attitude is contagious. Our employees seem to share the same enthusiasm. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Me and a couple of buddies drove our motorcycles down from Ottawa area looking for a nice place to stay in Lake George. Read the reviews and was really pleased we pulled into the Lake Hotel. The guys greeted us like old friends even though this was our first visit. They had room under cover for our bikes (stormed overnight with a power outage - hotel is generator backed up - no issues), and they even offered to put out a hose and bucket to clean the bikes! Shannon dropped by to say 'Hi' because I had mentioned reading about her in the reviews; the room was clean with a nice view of the lake, good channel selection on HD flat screen. They are great people and that makes the Lake the place to stay - we'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 23 and 40 are larger units (2 queen + queen pullout) with private balcony looking out over the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrysler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thanks for the recommendation. As a small business, we depend heavily on word of mouth to attract guests and your taking the time to post this review helps us do just that. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Last weekend, we biked in (motorcycles) from Montreal and found the Lake Motel open and available at a very reasonalbe price. Of course this is off-season, but still, it could have been more expensive. The room was very clean and the view...super! One small detail: our TV and phone didn't work . We did mention this to the reception desk who apologized but nothing more. However, when we got home, I had a message to call them. Speaking with Shannon (super lady by the way) informed us that we would be granted a free night at the motel on our next visit, to compensate for the non-functioning items. How cool is that! I truly appreicate this gesture and great customer service. Thank you.

Room Tip: Try for a room close to the pool and lake.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our performance. We just installed new TVs in every room along with HD cable and telephone service and were still working out the kinks during your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have stayed in many places in Lake George. This motel beats them all.. Friendly staff, clean rooms and the view is perfect!!! I love the pool! I will be back again and again.. Keep up the good work...

Room Tip: Choose Room 40 or 23... but all are good!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachie419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and your words of encouragement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Things started going well even before we got there.
We asked if either of the rooms with the private balcony were available.
Shannon told me that they both were, but suggested (since I had first pick) that we take the top one so as not to have anyone above us. That was thoughtful and we were grateful for it.
Everything else went just as smoothly and well.
The view of the lake was delightful. Service was excellent and the room was spacious and cleen.

We didn't have the opportunity to use the kayaks. But thought it was great that they were available at no charge. There's also a pool.
The room had a microwave, mini fridge (we enjoy being able to store and reheat food we may not have finished at a restaurant) large, flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and more.
Shower was comfortable. Air conditioner worked well.
We were very pleased with our stay, would recommend Lake Motel to others.
And we want to thank all the other folks who gave it a good review. That helped us pick it as the place at which we would stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excalibur_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Manager at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thanks for the thoughtful review. It is very gratifying to hear when guests have enjoyable visits to our motel and makes us work harder to never disappoint you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed there for 1 night last minute why checking out colleges the staff was wonderful and the rooms were big and clean.The view was to die for.We plan to return soon when we have more time to enjoy the surroundings of this gorgeous lake.

Room Tip: Lake view or lake front you cant go wrong.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Commanderhottie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
0.7 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#8 of 89 in Lake George
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Motel

Address: 380 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#21 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Lake George
Lake Hotel George
Lake Motel George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing