We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Americade Volunteer”
Review of Lake Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Motel
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I was housed at this facility again this year in a room the management donated to Americade for use of Volunteer Staff. This was my third year at this hotel and it just gets better every year. I would love this place even if I was paying for it. The staff and management truly care about their guests, even the ones like me who aren't paying them.

They hosted a hamburger/cheese burger/hotdog grill-out for guests of the motel one night and the next night they arranged a catered picnic for a very nominal fee with food catered by arguably the best BBQ restaurant in the Lake George area.

My room was comfortable, nicely appointed, the WIFI was stable and fast, the housekeepers were well trained and very professional considering that some of them are still in high school.

The fact that is is located right in the heart of Lake George is just "icing on the cake." The construction of the hotel is such that with the door and windows closed I only heard the loudest motorcycles in the motel when they were ridden by folks not concerned with disturbing others

I am looking forward to returning again next year if I am able to volunteer again.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the lake choose a room on that end, but if you want to watch the traffic on Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crichton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Not sure why we are blessed to have such great guests, not only for Americade but throughout the year, but we are grateful. You are one of the very favorite of our guests for all of the staff and we would be most pleased to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here...great time both times! I really have nothing to complain about....room was great, clean, everything worked, staff is friendly and helpful. I look forward to next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Lake Motel was recommended by Shannon, the best service provided in recommendation, location, on the Lake and everything is in walking distance. The owners Steve and Georgina are right there on site all the time as well and make it there mission, along with Shannon, to make sure that all is taken care of for their guests and friends. They all treat everyone like family (that would be, "like family" that they care about. I will continue to go there and recommend that place still to anyone who will traveling to or visiting the area and need a place to stay that is like home on the Lake at the Lake Motel.

Room Tip: Choose a good room on the Lake. Yes, you will see the Lake as this Motel sits right on Lake George...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks for the kind compliments. The motel business is by no means easy, but it would be difficult to find a more rewarding vocation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have been coming here with our fire district for a few years now and the hospitality is outstanding. We love it there.....hated leaving and always coming close to stayone more night. Im already looking forward to coming up next year....and instead of coming just a day early...think we will do that and stay that additional night also.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Str1ngette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

What a pleasure to work with same great people year after year. Thanks for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

What a great hotel. Went to Americade, i was worried about people jacking with my bike, the other guests were very friendly and even hosted a BBQ, in the pouring rain.
the rooms were modern and had nice amenities . The office girls were very friendly and went out of their to make sure my trip was a success.

Room Tip: if you don't care to hear road noise, stay closer to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportsterxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

We look forward to Americade every year. Can't imagine a better group of people than those that stay with us. Thanks to all our guests for being so considerate of each other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

On a Saturday whim, we left for Lake George for the day. Once there, we fell in love with it and stopped by the Visitors Center, never imagining there could possibly be a room on the lake that was available. The Center called the Lake Motel and, yes, there was still one room available! It was fantastic ... the service was excellent, the room was clean and the beds were SO comfortable. We then planned on staying the one night ... but it led into two, as we were so happy to be there. We kayaked on the lake and enjoyed the pool, and took the suggestions from the staff as where to eat and places to go. That Sunday, even though the weather looked glum, we decided to stay, as we weren't quite ready to leave the Lake Motel and Lake George atmosphere. The owners and staff could not have been more accommodating, Jorgina's constant smile is still etched in our minds. Steve is doing a great job with the motel, and we cannot wait to go back. Wouldn't stay anywhere else ! Kelly & Paul (The Berkshires, Massachusetts)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks for the encouraging words. We are still relatively new at this business (5th year) but enjoy it more every year. Seeing satisfied guests like you is what drives us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

, My first year for the Americade I booked not knowing how the motel would be. I made a good choice I really liked the motel so I booked for the following year. I was able to book the same room, too. Came up again this year and booked for next year! The motel is very clean, has really comfortable beds, a small refrig , big tub, seems everything is new and is certainly clean. It has a terrific location, a place under the rooms for motorcycle parking,. There's a beautiful view of the lake, table & chairs outside your room, a big pool. What really makes it special though,, are the owners and their staff. You can see they really care about their guests. During the Americade, the owners have a nice barbeque for all the guests. (Don't know many places that do that!) The motel is well maintained . The guests I met the first year were so friendly and it was the same this year. The same people keep coming back, so you know for sure that it's a great place to stay. Looking forward to next year!. . Thanks again, Gail Malara - Dobbs Ferry, NY

Room Tip: If you go on their web page, there's a chart with room locations and pictures of the rooms. Bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thanks for your kindness and words of encouragement. We very much enjoyed serving you and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
3.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Motel

Address: 380 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#18 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: £63 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Lake George
Lake Hotel George
Lake Motel George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing