We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average motel masquerading as a resort” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Motel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average motel masquerading as a resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This motel is very close to the historic Lake George village. We ended up booking this motel as most properties in LG were sold out as it was close to the July 4th weekend. I had a simple room but it wasn't worth (over $200 a night) the money. The bed was pretty bad and it felt like a hammack! Most rooms have no lake view and there are a bunch of similar motels on that block that call themselves "resorts". If you head north and you will find excellent resorts within a few miles.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful except they recommended a nearby breakfast place (Maramack) that was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpro1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    73
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
128
107
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I been to this place 4 times and will be going back the staff are friendly and helpful specially marilin the pool its clean and now in the back there its a beach by the lake and grills. the room are clean and the bed are conftable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marci96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a last minute reservation during off-season on a Sunday after an unsuccessful night of camping during to weather. We had easy access to a clean, ample room on the second floor. Bathroom was huge! Two QUEEN-sized comfy beds, TV, frig and microwave. Table w/chairs inside and out. No complaints. They tended to all my needs. View was fantastic! Directly on the lake. We had great weather. Short walk to everything possible. They had kayaks to use for free. Pool was clean. BBQ on deck. They had a fire pit with lots of seating. It was really nice and new-like. Free parking.

Room Tip: The rooms have different types of bedding. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosierules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Do not go by the photographs on their website. They have made it look way more glamorous in the pictures that the real thing. Its just a regular motel & except a room or two none even have a Lake view. The room is extremely basic with no frills and there is no complimentary breakfast. Did not feel remotely worth the 100 odd dollars they charge per night. Parking can be very tricky but we somehow found spots both days. Its right in the heart of the main town so doesn't feel like a peaceful cut off place.

On the positive side its tidy & nothing too negative & so I'm giving it average.

If you are looking for something quick & reasonable just to spend the night then this is ok. But if you are looking for something a bit better than ordinary for an occasion you are better served finding some other place.

Room Tip: If at all you have to stay at this place then do so only if you have the Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We were disappointed to read that your stay with us was not
completely satisfactory. It is our goal to meet or exceed every guest's
expectations. In an effort to accomplish that, we pride ourselves on
representing our property as thoroughly and as accurately as possible on our
website. On our site we display a fully detailed property map showing the
motel layout, many photos of the grounds from different vantage points, as
well as 2 current photos of each and every room. Additionally, these photos
were not taken by a professional photographer, but rather were
taken by the owner or prior guests, and none of these pictures have been
altered or enhanced in any way. We know of no other lodging facility that
makes a greater effort to represent their property as completely and as
accurately as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

As always it was a pleasure to stay at this wonderful motel again. Every year my husband and I look forward to when our fire district plans this trip. We are excited more so for next year as the fireman's parade (the one which both my husband and I march in) is back in Lake George so all of our family and friends that stay with us at the motel will be able to see is marching again.

A special thank you goes out to Eddie who always make our trip so special. We are already planning for next years trip and look forward to seeing everyone again (with our same room -16)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Str1ngette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to tell others about your experience. All of us at the Lake Motel look forward to Firemen's Convention and seeing you have such a good time. Could not imagine a better group to host than the folks from New Hamburg. You folks are a class act. Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our first time going to Lake George and are definitely returning. We stayed June 19-22. During this time was a major fireman's convention that they have every year and we were told of this in advance. This made our stay more fun then we thought we would have. The first night we stayed in room 23 which is one of two of the best rooms there. It overlooks the lake and the view was amazing. You have a private balcony, two queen beds and a couch. Very roomy and comfortable and with. Refrigerator and microwave it makes it feel like home. We went to the pool below which is 3-8ft. Nice amount of chairs if you just want to lay back. The lake is beautiful and so serene just sitting on the chairs listening to the water while sipping a glass of wine. The next two nights we had to leave room 23 :(. And go to room 10 as that room was booked in advance by the firemen. That was a nice smaller room with one queen bed and a small table set with same amenities. Still nice but room 23 had spoiled us. Right in front there is a smaller table and two chairs facing the parking lot but it's still nice. The staff are excellent and very fast. We thought we were going to be in between rooms while checking out of one and waiting for another but it was no more than ten minutes for our next room. As soon as someone checks out they are in cleaning and preparing for the next guest. In the lobby the staff. Especially Edri (hope I'm spelling her name right) is very helpful with everything even area restaurants. They also have fresh coffee, tea and hot chocolate all the time the office was open. That was great especially since the nights were cool for me and the tea came in handy. We did not move the car the whole time we were there due to the convention and parking was tight. It didn't matter because there of lots of things wishing walking distance. We went to The Lobster Pot and Crab Shack restaurants. The surfside motel for breakfast buffet and there's lots of pizza around. Lots of stores for shopping especially for souvenirs and good prices. We also went on a one hour cruise on the mine haha which was very nice and only $15. I would say this would normally be a great place for couples but not during firefighters weekend if quiet romance is what you're looking for. As for me and my husband we loved every minute of it. We met new friends and are definitely returning next year during the convention since we are now honorary member!!!, I've told my friends they must. One next year a also. I picked this motel just on reviews and glad I did. You won't be disappointed. I miss it already!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 23 and 40 are the best And are on the lake. You won't want to stay in another room after th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexysag1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for the thorough review. Must admit we were a bit worried that you might be overwhelmed by all the festivities. Very encouraging to learn you had such a good time. We will look forward to helping to make your stay next year even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pandora, ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The owners and staff take great pride in keeping this motel clean and tidy. We stayed for five nights, and during that time our room was thoroughly cleaned each day and we saw staff painting and power washing the property. We even saw someone sweeping the parking area. We could hear people moving around in the rooms above and beside us, but not loud enough to really cause an issue. We walked into town several times a day and enjoyed the beautiful views of Lake George. In the evening we walked thirty seconds from our room to the lake front or swam in the pool. We could not have asked for a better value or nicer people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mstiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We appreciate the kind words. We take cleaning seriously and strive to be as spotless and well maintained as any place of lodging in Lake George. It's encouraging to be recognized for our efforts. We have passed along your comments to our housekeeping and maintenance staff, along with a small celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#9 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Motel

Property: Lake Motel
Address: 380 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#21 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Lake George
Lake Hotel George
Lake Motel George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing