We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lyn Aire has its pros and cons”
Review of Lyn Aire Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lyn Aire Motel
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lyn Aire has its pros and cons”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is a bit of a mixed bag with some pros and cons.
On the plus side, the room we stayed in was clean, huge and well maintained. The owners were pleasent engaging and accomodating. The grounds were well kept with flowers and pretty plantings everywhere. They have a family friendly large yard and play area. They have a large playset for kids. They have some video games outside under a large covered area with also ping pong and a version of air hockey. The continental "free" breakfast provided was a little above average and fine for what it is. A full breakfast restaurant is right next door if thats needed. Pleasant was the hotel is located directly (as in steps away) on a very safe and shelterd bike path so you can ride it down the hill all the way down to the state beach.(just be warned getting back up, its a pretty steep ride and kids and those not in decent shape would struggle to make that trek back up). If you go in the other direction, down to the outlets, its fun as well and a bit easier for kids, etc to ride. The pool area had nice furniture and a nice jacuzzi. The pool had a great slide for kids to go down.

On the needs improvemnt side there are a couple things you should know. This hotel in not off the beaten path as I had heard others say. It is right next to the main road that leads into the area. There are large semi trucks and motorcycles etc all driving very close to the hotel that if your outside at times, on the front half of the property, you can have trouble talking to the person a few feet away. The noise is loud and constant during peak season. To be fair it does die down at night and we couldn't hear it in our room. The pool is located about 20 feet from the road and the noise was so loud I chose to not go there for too long. It would be great if they heated the pool it was definitely on the chilly side.
Puzzling was a large kind of rundown work pick up truck that is parked right along the parking lot by the pool for days, spoiling the lovely view of the grounds and plantings. If this were parked out of the way a bit more it'd be less of an eyesore. The truck was in running shape so there was no reason for it to be where it was parked. Do make sure you check in advance if your room is on the top floor. The stairs are pretty steep and there is not an elevator that we saw to get your gear up there. Stay on the bottom floors if you have a lot of gear. The bumper pool table really doesnt work, rubber bumpers are gone, and they should remove it.

Regarding the area. You must get the prime rib at georges. And make reservations and go to Le roux, great food there. Fireworks by the lake are free and usually on thursdays, view near the south side of the state park from the street. Fort wm Henry was expensive but informative and their tour was first class. Goony golf is the most fun mini golf in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    24
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fryeburg, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We decided to take a last minute trip to Great Escape with some friends. We were two families traveling together. One family of 1 adult/2 children and the second family of 2 adults/2 children. We spent about 2 hours searching the internet for a location that was close, reasonably priced and with a pool. We decided on the Lyn Aire because it was independently owned, offered a pool and breakfast and had good reviews. The internet price was $134, but mentioned that if you called the property direct there would be a savings. I called and was quoted $137. When I mentioned the internet offer the man didn't know what it was but lowered his price to $129 including tax. We discussed rooms and said that they did not need to be adjoining but close together. My friends arrived first and reminded the desk clerk that our rooms were to be close together. When we arrived I was greeted by a friendly smiling clerk who apologized for running my credit card twice, the first time she ran $14.90 instead of $149 by mistake. She didn't know anything about the $129 and said I could talk to the manager in the morning. She apologized that our rooms weren't near each other but said it was a small property so it didn't matter. Our rooms were two doors short of being the farthest possible distance from each other and still be on the same property. Strike two. We left for dinner and came back around 9:30. The kids wanted to swim so I sent my 16 year old out to read the sign with the pool hours - there was no sign so we went swimming. I was in the hot tub, my friend was standing on the pool deck and the kids 16, 14, 12 and 7 were swimming when the kids were scolded by a man who said the pool closed at 9. My son went into the office to explain that he looked for a sign with the hours but didn't see one. As he went he he overheard the deck clerk ( a different person that check in) and the man talking about us a in derogatory manner. My son explained to the clerk that he looked for a sign and there wasn't one, she told him we should have been told about the hours at check in which were weren't because we were too busy receiving apologies for being overcharged. Strike 3. At 10:30 we went to bed. At midnight the clock radio alarm started going off. Strike 4. Around 2:30am the people in the next room decided to have a heated conversation which you can hear every word of through the paper thin walls. At around 5:00 the traffic started and I was up for the day. Around 6:30 someone was loudly knocking on the door to the room next door and my kids were up for the day too. This was overall possibly my worst nights sleep in any lodging establishment. The plus side to the rooms is that the bathrooms are very nice. The minus side other than the paper this walls is that there are no electrical outlets to charge phones and the like unless you use the plug in the bathroom which doesn't really work if you also use your phone as your clock. Our room had wi-fi but our friends room did not. The television is set up so that it can only be seen from one bed. The grounds seem to be well cared for. On to breakfast, sour orange juice, unripened bananas and a plethora of white flour pastries from boxes. Coffee so strong and burnt it was undrinkable. When my friend mentioned to the man at the desk (the man from the pool the night before) that they were out of strawberry jam he told her should could use grape and made no effort to replace the strawberry. Strike 5. I did not seek a refund of the difference in the price quoted because given everything else that happened it would have been a hassle and put a damper on what turned out to be a great day when we left. So id depends on what your looking for whether or not you chose to stay here, I would suggest an end room so you will only get noise from one side, do not sleep with the windows open, unplug the clock radio, book your room over the internet, go someplace else for breakfast and be out of the pool before 9 and don't depend on the wi-fi. If you can remember all of that then give it a try, if you want your holiday to be a little more stress free then shop around a bit I'm sure that you can do better for less.

Room Tip: Get an end room so that you'll only have noise coming in from one side of the paper this walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is our favorite vacation spot, we have been coming for years and plan on coming for years ahead !
We are always happy with our stay, our kids love the grounds and the pool !
I can't say enough great things about the Lyn Aire !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A Lake George trip some 5 years ago was made more relaxing by our stay @ the Lyn Aire. It seemed as if everything had just been renovated back then. It was all so fresh & clean. We thought it was lucky that we'd chosen a newly freshened spot. The people were also very friendly. When in Lake George again this past week, it was decided to stay @ the Lyn Aire again. It was just as neat & fresh as we had found it in the past! These folks are on top of everything! The rooms are all Non-Smoking. Although I'm smoker, it wasn't a problem. There were bistro sets...complete w/ash trays just outside. The two queen beds were immaculate & comfy. The little fridge & microwave make it easy to enjoy your "To Go" portions from dinner. Staff is very friendly & helpful. Grounds are well kept. The little one loved the playground! The pool was sparkling & refreshing. There's even a hot tub. I can't recommend the Lyn Aire highly enough! It's close enough to the Lake Village, Outlet Malls & Lots of area amusement attractions. The Lyn Aire is an Oasis among the bustling area. It's the perfect place to relax...and return to! Thanks for another great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet & beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelSue256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have stayed at this motel for the past 2 summers- its just far enough away from the action in Lake Georges and the Theme parks. Staff found a large sum of $ on my bed and called me about it. Clean and very comfortable. Cornwall Ontario GWL Heading back this weekend for some WWR

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We would definitely stay at the lyn aire again! The rooms were extremely clean, and also the surroundings! We absolutely loved it:) Our children enjoyed the beautiful pool, playground, and the game room!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristengraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

After spending a full day at Saratoga Springs Race Track, we were looking for a comfortable, affordable room not too far away. The Lyn Aire fit the bill. An effortless drive from Saratoga we found this motel room clean, comfortable, and plenty large enough for our overnight stay. The continental breakfast was nothing exceptional, but it did the trick. Very close to the lake itself, it is conveniently located for sightseeing.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank metacom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
3.1 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#22 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#9 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tall Pines Motel
Tall Pines Motel
#60 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mohican Motel
Mohican Motel
#30 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyn Aire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyn Aire Motel

Property: Lyn Aire Motel
Address: 1872 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845-3705
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lake George
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lyn Aire Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for the best of Lake George Hotels, choose the Lyn Aire. We offer an abundance of amenities. You and your family will vacation with all the comforts of home! Continental breakfast, phones, refrigerator, and air/heat.At our Lake George Motel, you will find contemporary, clean & spacious rooms. Our Lake George Motel is located close to all the area attractions in Lake George, NY. Adjoining Rooms - Both Double / Queens Complimentary Coffee Groups Welcome All Rooms Include: 25" Remote Color TV HBO Telephones Air Conditioning Heat All rooms have Refrigerators, Microwaves are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lyn Aire Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyn Aire Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing