We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad in so many ways.”
Review of Green Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Haven Resort
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have traveled all around the world but this motel has the distinction of being the absolute worst I have ever had the displeasure of staying at. One star doesn't do it justice. It's so outdated, it should be criminal. Nothing has been changed or improved since the early 1970's with the exception of the hot tub. That was probably added in the 80's. Not that it's in working order. The heating element is shot and it hardly gets over body temperature.

The game room, pool area, windows, curtains, beds, air conditioners, even the in-room fly swatters were all well over 30 years old. There were more bugs inside the "cottage" than there were on the front porch. In fact, I even found fleas! I was so disgusted that I wrapped myself up like a mummy in a sheet, even going so far as to completely cover my head & face, because I was so terrified of the possibility of bed bugs. I hardly got a wink of sleep.

The next morning, I went to "breakfast" hoping the place had some redeeming quality. What a joke! You couldn't pay me to eat any of the stuff they laid out in the reeking of mildew basement that they call a "coffee room". You're lucky if mold is all you smell, though, because if the owner is around, you're liable to get a healthy whiff of his disgusting body odor to go along with your stale breakfast bread. Apparently he doesn't use deodorant ever because every single time I was near him during our 3 night stay, he was exuding the most vile scent one could imagine from his armpits.

Seriously. Don't walk away from this place RUN! There are plenty of other places to stay in Lake George and I'm pretty sure none could be any worse than Green Haven.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank World_Is_Ours1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Green Haven Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

I am from Glens Falls area and have not been home for a visit in 8 yrs, so my family and I went for 6 days. We did not want to impose on family, plus we had our dog so we looked into staying here. I never once regreted it at all. The best way to describe the place is rustic, it matched the atmosphere of out doorsy like. By all means it was very cozy and comfy and felt like home. We had a wonderful trip and enjoyed our stay so much, we will stay again with them. Thank you for the wonderful week.

The Boudreaux Family

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boudreauxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We had to change our plans last minute and called Green Haven to see if they had anything for Memorial Day weekend. We had 6 in our party with 3 dogs and other special issues. Doug was fantastic from the moment I called him to the minute I handed him the key after 3 nights. The facilities are a little dated but they don't look any more dated than anywhere else in the area. The 2 bedroom unit was clean, spacious enough for everyone to hang out in the rain and the furniture comfortable... My biggest issue had nothing to do with the facility. Rather the inconsiderate motorcycle's revving their motors at 1am. Also during the day you can hear the traffic on route 9 if the windows are open. This was an issue for us, but not people who weren't close to the road. Turning the air on resolved it.. It appears they are fixing the place up slowly but surely. I liked that the price was reasonable, included continential breakfast and while a 5 minute drive to center of town and certainly walkable, far enough away not to hear the noise etc... We plan on going back

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisa1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

first time here owner Doug great guy did all to make us happy our dog was in her glory had porch to hang out on walked around found other dogs to friend with we love loved love this place cant wait to go back we deff will come back with our Maddy we know she cant wait !! along with visit to Lake George where so many were greeting us all!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Very nice owners. Easy to deal with on phone. Very helpful and eager to please.

Rooms were clean, thanks to Wendy the housekeeper. Room cleaned, towels changed daily.

Working A/C, fridge, and color TV with cable.

Good location. 3 minutes to town, but far enough away to get a good night sleep.

Owners live right on property, we felt plenty safe there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

We stayed two nights in one of their duplex cottages and had a very comfortable, relaxing stay. The duplex worked out great, since I had two dogs with me and my parents! This was the first place I've stayed at that had a doggie gate on the porch - a thoughtful touch. The rooms were clean, equipped with a frig, microwave, and TV. The motel/resort is very close to the Village, about a half mile, but you do have to drive. Route 9N is a busy road, but the location is great, go south and you're in the Village, go north and you can head up to Bolton Landing.

It's a family run place and it shows!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank dogzrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

Stayed one night of our planned two night stay in August. Didn't know we would be sharing room with insects of all sizes and shapes...one had a mustache. Have stayed all over Lake George in the past 20 years, including camp ground in the village, and this is hands down the worst accomodations we've had to endure. Owner was nice enough although charged us for the 2 nights stay. Policy is you pre-pay for 2nd night of stay, not the first, which tells me others have fled the scene early as well so they need this odd policy. Pass on this place, you can do much better in the village or up and down the lake.

16  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
5.6 mi away
Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge
1.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#52 of 89 in Lake George
271 reviews
1.2 mi away
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
#17 of 89 in Lake George
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
#54 of 89 in Lake George
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
#28 of 89 in Lake George
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fran Cove Motel
Fran Cove Motel
#38 of 89 in Lake George
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Haven Resort

Address: 3136 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6504 (Formerly Green Haven Motel)
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: £89 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Haven Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing