We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Stay ever”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I had the misfortune of staying at this hotel and experienced the worst treatment ever. Where should I start.....Reservations were made 3 weeks prior to our arrival. Upon getting there we discovered that the room we requested was not what we got instead with all our guest present at the desk we discussed with the guy checking us in that I need a room to accommodate everyone. We were offered the following option of a blow up bed for an additional $10.00 or a fold out sofa for an additional $30.00. the decision was made to take the room with the fold out sofa. At 11;30 at night after asking for someone to fix the TV and to bring extra towel we received a telephone call from the front desk advising us they were informed that we had more than 6 people in the room and we need to make arrangement to have someone leave the room or pay for an additional room and if we did not agree to this the police will be called. Needless to say all 3 adults at midnight had to present our self to the front desk. upon discussion with the front desk staff they confirmed that she should have counted all our guest but did not but now they need us to pay for another room on top of the upgraded room we already paid for......the general manager was summoned from her home and that is where it really went down hill. THis woman was condescending, degrading and made us feel like a scum. Note our guess total was 7including 4kids the youngest being 2yrs old. It got to a point where I had to call the cops because the general manager would not take the responsibility of their mistake and when we try to point out to her that it was there mistake she referred to us as "you people" want everything- referring to the fact that we asked for extra towels.3cops came and while they could not make her make a good faith adjustments they totally understood the fault did not lie with us. There was no reason for us to upgrade the room if we had to get another room. we would have just put that money towards the additional. The front desk encounter continued until around 2 in the morning they agree to refund us all our money. We end up staying at the Best Western which was a home away from home. this place was sooooooo nice and their hospitality was so refreshing.......So if you are looking for a hotel to stay don't choose this one choose the Best Western. Just an added note while we were at the front desk in the night another guest was complaining they also screwed up his reservations and wanted him to sign checking papers and they would correct it in the AM- the guest seeing how we were treated said to them he did not trust them. Don't stay here. if something goes wrong it could cost you tremendously and if you cant pay they will put you out!!!!!!......... I will be posting the police report also.

Room Tip: Choose the Best Western- you get warm breakfast and the hospitality that was so refreshing. We staye...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    462
    187
    85
    54
See reviews for
642
435
24
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Wingate was a typical resort town hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The rooms were spacious and well kept. They offer a free breakfast and free coffee all day.

The few reasons it can't rate it higher was:

1) the fact the toilet paper and kleenex seemed to be made of recycled sandpaper. It was so 1990's. I didn't think any hotel still used that.

2) The free breakfast ended too early. I'm on vacation. I don't want to have to be finished my breakfast by 9:30. Really!!

3) The front desk staff seemed a bit disinterested in their jobs both on check-in and check-out.

4) Noisy A/C units and irritating "bing" every time the elevator stopped on the floor

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fstop666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra E, Assistant Manager/Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are glad you found your accommodations clean, comfortable, spacious and well-kept! To your other points, we strive to provide a superior guest experience and are sorry you felt differently. We hope you will decide to try Wingate Lake George again for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for one night off season. The room was very clean, new, and spacious. Bed was comfortable, free wifi, and free breakfast. That's where we felt a bit let down. The breakfast buffet was not on par with Hampton Inn & Marriott Courtyard. No waffle iron, all the hot items were disappointing (soggy french toast sticks, unpalatable fried eggs). The coffee was bad. Oatmeal was excellent. Front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Not sure I would stay at a Wingate again, though, due to the below par breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
2 Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra E, Assistant Manager/Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We have recently added freshly scrambled eggs to our breakfast buffet and they are receiving good reviews. We do offer make-your-own waffles on a seasonal basis and I am sorry you missed them! We hope you will consider choosing the Wingate Lake George for a future trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The manager on that day went out of his way to assist all my needs What a kind man This man was on Friday 5/09 afternoon and Saturday 5/10 and made sure stay was amazing You are lucky to have him Will stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra E, Assistant Manager/Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for writing your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good experience with one of our management team. We all work very hard to provide superior guest services and it is nice to be recognized! We hope you will choose Wingate Lake George again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#11 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#18 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Lake George

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Address: 4054 State Route 9l, Post Office Box 432, Lake George, NY 12845-3906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake George
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Lake George Hotel Lake George
Wingate Lake George
Wingate Hotel Lake George
Wyndham Lake George
Lake George Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing