We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scotty's Lakeside Resort(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tea Island Resort(Lake George)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Motel(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage of Lake George Motel(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn of Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Village Resort(Lake George)(Great Value!)
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodges at Cresthaven(Lake George)
US$666
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,561)
Filter reviews
1,561 results
Traveller rating
672
517
211
95
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
672
517
211
95
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskann marienice hoteloutdoor poolfree breakfastyogurthot tubbusiness centerbike pathsofa bedthe breakfast areaupon checknice stayshort driveclose to townoff seasonsix flags
Filter
Updating list...
978 - 983 of 1,561 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while visiting family. We are very particular about where we stay so the reviews on Trip Advisor are important to us. The hotel is located on the Southern end of Lake George which for us was good. It meant a quieter hotel stay, which is what we wanted. There is a rite aid practically next to the hotel for any incidentals you may need. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. On our first nights stay we had a couple of problems with the room. The next morning we informed the front desk of our problems and they immediately placed us in a different room. They went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied with our room and that our needs were met. The room was very clean, which is super important to us. The beds are also very comfortable. They do have a complimentary breakfast which is a nice touch. It included, cereal, bagels, toast, mini muffins, eggs, sausage and either make your own waffle or already made French toast sticks along with juices and coffee. The egg, which was circular in shape kinda like the McDonalds eggs on a muffin are, weren't that tasty and the French toast sticks should be left off of the breakfast all together as they were dry and hard. The area in which the breakfast is served is not adequate for the people it serves. If you choose to go out to breakfast there are places in Queensbury that serve a nice breakfast. We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others staying in Lake George.

Room Tip: Choosing a room that faces the back of the hotel will be more quiet and less road noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathydnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra E, Assistant Manager/Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Greetings! Thank you for your review! We strive to create a superior guest experience and we appreciate be recognized! We hope you will choose Wingate Lake George for a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Wingate is conveniently located, close to village and Northway but very quiet, peaceful location. The staff were wonderful and we would choose the Wingate to stay again if in that area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra E, Assistant Manager/Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recognizing our wonderful staff! We hope you will choose the Wingate Lake George for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I ended up on business in the Lake George, NY area and stayed at this property. It is well maintained and clean. The room was a great size and the bed was very comfortable. I have dietary concerns and they had many choices at breakfast that I could eat. The staff was very nice and friendly. I will say, it was off season and I was given a restaurant recommendation, but was unaware that they closed early so I ended up eating at an awful pizza place :(!

Room Tip: Suites are excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra E, Assistant Manager/Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to write your review! Glad you enjoyed your accommodations and thank you for recognizing our hard-working staff! Sorry about the pizza! Hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future - we'll be sure to have more restaurant recommendations for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I had the misfortune of staying at this hotel and experienced the worst treatment ever. Where should I start.....Reservations were made 3 weeks prior to our arrival. Upon getting there we discovered that the room we requested was not what we got instead with all our guest present at the desk we discussed with the guy checking us in that I need a room to accommodate everyone. We were offered the following option of a blow up bed for an additional $10.00 or a fold out sofa for an additional $30.00. the decision was made to take the room with the fold out sofa. At 11;30 at night after asking for someone to fix the TV and to bring extra towel we received a telephone call from the front desk advising us they were informed that we had more than 6 people in the room and we need to make arrangement to have someone leave the room or pay for an additional room and if we did not agree to this the police will be called. Needless to say all 3 adults at midnight had to present our self to the front desk. upon discussion with the front desk staff they confirmed that she should have counted all our guest but did not but now they need us to pay for another room on top of the upgraded room we already paid for......the general manager was summoned from her home and that is where it really went down hill. THis woman was condescending, degrading and made us feel like a scum. Note our guess total was 7including 4kids the youngest being 2yrs old. It got to a point where I had to call the cops because the general manager would not take the responsibility of their mistake and when we try to point out to her that it was there mistake she referred to us as "you people" want everything- referring to the fact that we asked for extra towels.3cops came and while they could not make her make a good faith adjustments they totally understood the fault did not lie with us. There was no reason for us to upgrade the room if we had to get another room. we would have just put that money towards the additional. The front desk encounter continued until around 2 in the morning they agree to refund us all our money. We end up staying at the Best Western which was a home away from home. this place was sooooooo nice and their hospitality was so refreshing.......So if you are looking for a hotel to stay don't choose this one choose the Best Western. Just an added note while we were at the front desk in the night another guest was complaining they also screwed up his reservations and wanted him to sign checking papers and they would correct it in the AM- the guest seeing how we were treated said to them he did not trust them. Don't stay here. if something goes wrong it could cost you tremendously and if you cant pay they will put you out!!!!!!......... I will be posting the police report also.

Room Tip: Choose the Best Western- you get warm breakfast and the hospitality that was so refreshing. We stayed 2 nights and they even gave us fresh fruits for our !!!!
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Wingate was a typical resort town hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The rooms were spacious and well kept. They offer a free breakfast and free coffee all day.

The few reasons it can't rate it higher was:

1) the fact the toilet paper and kleenex seemed to be made of recycled sandpaper. It was so 1990's. I didn't think any hotel still used that.

2) The free breakfast ended too early. I'm on vacation. I don't want to have to be finished my breakfast by 9:30. Really!!

3) The front desk staff seemed a bit disinterested in their jobs both on check-in and check-out.

4) Noisy A/C units and irritating "bing" every time the elevator stopped on the floor

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fstop666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra E, Assistant Manager/Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are glad you found your accommodations clean, comfortable, spacious and well-kept! To your other points, we strive to provide a superior guest experience and are sorry you felt differently. We hope you will decide to try Wingate Lake George again for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews