We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but probably won't return”
Review of Park Lane Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park Lane Motel
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, but probably won't return”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Rooms were not what we expected. No tv guide in room, no local menus in room, no phone directory in room (ex.0 for office, do you need an outside line to make a phone call, how do you call another room). Lamp next to bed didn't work, a/c had broken knob (but did still work), broken lamp switch in bathroom, garbage was left on floor behind dresser and night stand. We left the kids at home for a couples vacation, would suggest that in the future they put families with kids on bottom floor so that visitors without kids don't have to hear kids running around above our heads in the morning while we are trying to sleep or at night when we are trying to relax. Pool was a little too warm for daytime swimming. Staff was very nice, ice machine was great and there was a nice view of fireworks from the private beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    80
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
123
55
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The room was clean, beds were comfortable, and views were amazing.

We got off to a bumpy start, the toilet made a noise that my three year olds called a jack-hammer. We called the desk and 6 hours later it still hadn't been addressed. Had to be persistent (we were worried it would gyrate off the wall!), and finally around 9 p.m. it was fixed.

That said, the view for the fireworks was unmatched, and they really brought out amenities to watch - popcorn and sno cones and chairs facing the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leaudemiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed for our second time at the Park Lane. While we had a few issues at the outset, they were quickly and efficiently addressed. The location is excellent, and easily walkable to all the Village events and areas. Rooms also had many amenities that we appreciated, like a refrigerator that really worked, flat screen TV, DVD player (great for our toddler), microwave and more. We had a beautiful view of the lake from our bistro, which was good since we could be close by the room sipping drinks while our little one slept. The owner put out chairs, and provided popcorn and snow cones for the fireworks on Thursday night, which was a nice touch. We didn't get a chance to use the pool or kayaks (weather was a bit cold/wet), but these are nice amenities as well. The large heated pool sets them apart from many of their neighbors. Beach is small, but they all are for these waterfront motels. Small, but very nice playground was also there, which suited our toddler very well.

Room Tip: We got a corner room in the Pool building, which offered a nice view of the lake, and was considerab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beak49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We went to Lake George for 3 days and stayed here. The rooms are very good for a motel and newly renovated with new tv's. clean and right next to boardwalk. The pool is nice and warm and big. The beach area is a little small. Definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at park lane this weekend due to an overbooking situation at another motel. What my family of 4 found was a new vacation destination. The motel is located on a nice part of the lake on the edge of the main town. The propert is clean and offers free kayaks for guests. My kids loved the pool area which is equipped with gas grills if you choose to cook your own food. The owners were present throughout the day and were attentive to their guests. In the afternoon the owner brought out a shaved ice machine in the pool area and made iced for all the kids and adults at the motel. I would highly reccomend this motel for a family vacation location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for the first time this past week. We loved everything about it- the heated pool was the big hit with my kids when the lake was rather cool in the morning. Grills by the pool, by the lake perfect! The kayaks were always available. Everything was great, will stay again next week for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momoffivegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I wasn't planning to stay in Lake George, but something told me to get off of the NY State Thruway and see the back country of this beautiful part of NY state. The drive south, along U.S. Rt. 9W was dramatically beautiful. I saw topography up close and personal, that you just don't see while cruising down the U.S. interstate system. Coming into Lake George, I was astounded by the number of hotels, motels, cozy cabins, and the associated tourist places, souvernir stores, drive-ins, restaurants, etc.
I did a quick look at TripAdvisor and selected three places to check out, given their high marks. Park Lane wasn't my first choice, but it should have been. Located right on Lake George, in an otherwise very busy part of the main village, it nonetheless exuded old world (back to the 50's) charm and quiet. The guests there were diverse, from Quebec visitors from the north, to families in minivans, to Harley-riding dudes and dudettes, to well, a nice mix of tourists!
The owner, David, offered me two rooms, the 2nd of which he said I was going to prefer, and he was right! On the 3rd floor, closest to the lake, so it wouldn't have small children running around above me, with a great view of the lake from my table and chairs outside the room. Basic, clean comfort inside. And a lake right there, in which I swam both at night and early in the morning!
Ice machine offered vast amounts of ice, which I quickly filled my bucket with. The room a/c was quiet, although not needed during my stay, as the temps were perfect for leaving open my window. The pool shut down nicely at 10pm, and all became peaceful and quiet. HEAVEN!
David recommended several places for dinner, but ultimately, I chose an Indian restaurant, located within walking distance. Everything in Lake George appears to be geared toward the happy tourist, and it delivered at the Park Lane in spades.
It''s clean, affordable, quiet, nicely located, with a great (very warm) pool, but then a great beach right onto Lake George, several outdoor BBQ's for grilling out. Friendly tourists! Views for days! And a very receptive, caring owner. Not at all full of himself, for running a basic, but inviting roadside motel, amidst a plethora of motels that don't get nearly as good of ratings!
Don't pass this one by!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor (if you're in one of the 2 buildings with 2 or 3 stories) or one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy_d_olson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#8 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Village Resort
Marine Village Resort
#19 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
#21 of 88 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#5 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#28 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Motel

Property: Park Lane Motel
Address: 378 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
#12 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the lake in the Heart of Lake George Village offering reasonable rates. Within walking distance shops, restaurants and attractions. Enjoy our lakefront and poolside patios with free gas grills, beach area with free use of kayaks, 60-foot heated pool, playground area, free DVD movies and board games.We have well appointed modern rooms with 32-inch flat panel televisions, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, heat and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Park Lane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing