We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast for a Reasonable Price”

Porreca's Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #113 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast for a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The breakfast food here was out of this world! The scrambled eggs were delicious. My mom had apple pancakes. Let me tell you: They did not use compote. They cut up a whole apple into apple slices: 100% fresh fruit! We ended up sharing because those pancakes were so delicious. My 9 year old little cousin dug into his fresh blueberry pancakes and only left a quarter of a pancake because he loved them so much! My 9 year old and 14 year old cousin (and me, I admit it!) LOVED the chocolate milk. It was rich, creamy, and super delicious. All together, we had 7 people eating breakfast, so by the end, it was a little pricey; HOWEVER, individual meals were cheap. It's just when you have that many people in a party and one person insisting on paying the bill that it got a little pricey. No more than $8 for a meal with the portions they give you is phenomenal. It's not too small. It's not too large. It's just the right size. There's outdoor seating with a great view, but even sitting inside, you have a wonderful view! The interior is quite beautiful itself. We had a wonderful waitress as well. Great service and great food at great prices. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunTraveler Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    13
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We ate at Porreca's on Friday night, July 19, 2013. It was a hot day in Lake George, and the first thing we noticed was that the air conditioning was not working well. It was quite warm in the restaurant, but we decided to stay because we had heard good things about the place. The staff was terrific, very attentive and very personable. The food was average at best, and the chicken parmigian was so tough I had to ask for a steak knife. Between the temperature in the building and the quality of the food, this was not a very pleasant meal, despite the wonderful people serving us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have had amazing meals at Porreca’s.

The first time we ate here we were looking for a fine restaurant close to Lake George Village where we could pass the time while our teenagers roamed the shops. If you are like us and detest the tourist traps then Porreca’s is the place for you. It is just north of the village where Lake Shore drive splits off; convenient to the Village but away from the hustle and bustle. The restaurant is quiet and peaceful, nicely decorated in knotty pine. And the food is to die for.

This trip we started with delicious chilled tomato bisque and amazing red pear and honey salad, which were worth the trip on their own. For main courses we went with the freshly made pasta including tagliatelle con pancetta, and fettuccini ala vodka. The pasta is handmade on the premises and it was perfectly cooked and delightfully sauced. We really loved it. For desert, we had homemade strawberry ice cream, also made on site.

The menu also has a nice selection of other entrees such as veal picata, chicken marsala, steak, lamb, salmon, etc.

Service was very good. The staff was friendly and proficient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank e-bob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We went on the Friday of July 4th weekend and it was not all that busy so we were seated promptly. Our server was very nice and informative. We had a nice bottle of Italian wine with delicious fig salad (special) and the focaccia house bread that was very good. For entrees we had the chicken Marsala and a salmon special that were excellent. We had a chocolate almond tort for dessert to round an excellent meal. This is definitely one of the better restaurants in the Lake George Village area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dapj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stick with the specials, avoid the red sauce”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We went here because the menu for this restaurant, which was supplied to the the lodge we were staying at looked good and the prices seemed reasonable. Unlike some of the restaurants in Bolton Landing. Additionally, we checked Tripadvisor (as we always do) and were very pleased to see the positive reviews.

The server that greeted us and took us to our table couldn't have been more pleasant and professional. That was a great start to what we hoped would be a nice meal. The interior and the music was very pleasant also. Good ambiance overall.

As soon as we started looking at the menu, we were disappointed that the menu was completely different than the one we just looked through at our lodge, and the prices were at least 25% higher. That being said, we were there, and looking forward to a great meal. Luckily, we arrived just before a rush of about 5 more tables, around 8:00, which became overwhelming for the one, well-intended, and very professional server. Our glasses of wine took about 20 minutes to arrive, and there were bread plates, which we were wondering if bread would ever appear. We placed our order, and we each opted for dishes with a red sauce, because we were really looking forward to the fresh, homemade flavor, that one would expect in an italian restaurant. There were two specials that other tables ordered that looked fantastic, but we were in the mood for a red sauce. A table next to us ordered the caprese salad, which looked amazing. We wish we had ordered that. The room temperature focaccia bread finally arrived after about 40 minutes, the cold, garlic butter was so hard it was difficult to even cut with a knife, much less spread it on the bread. Nevertheless, we were still looking forward to our meals, encouraged by our server's enthusiasm and watching nice looking dishes being served around us.

When our plates finally arrived, we dug right in, and then immediately noticed that the red sauce tasted like it had been simmering for way too long, almost a burnt taste to it. We are NOT fussy about our red sauce, but this was just not fresh at all. At that point, though, with over an hour invested, and the server SO nice and well-intentioned, we didn't have the heart to complain when he came around to check on us. The chicken parm I ordered actually, tasted burned at the edges, the chicken was overcooked, stringy and dry. The cannelloni my husband regretfully ordered appeared to be homemade as indicated, but the filling was very lacking in flavor, and covered with the same over-cooked, not fresh, red sauce.

In closing, they have a lot of work to do before they hit their busy season, very shortly.

It seems like they have the right potential, because some of the dishes looked very attractive, but they need to have their basics down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porreca's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Porreca's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing