We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lake George
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This motel is in a fantastic location for visiting the Village of Lake George. The room was clean, the bathroom was modern and the price was lower than most other hotels/motels in the area. There is no carpeting, the flooring has a wood look which is much nicer than having a dirty, dingy, warn carpet. The only complaints I would have would be that there was no clock in the room, there was no dresser so if you are there for an extended stay you would have to live out of your suitcase, and the water pressure in the shower wasn't strong enough for my liking. The shower was fine for the rest of my family, but I prefer a lot of pressure. We used the pool which was very clean and had several chairs available for use. I was there over the July 4th holiday and one perk was this motel rented rooms for one night, which is what we were looking for, as opposed to the other hotels which require a minimum of at least two nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyKay565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

For the 4th july festivity it's a first time in a motel 6 and the Lake George one was verry nice , near of all ( beach , Sheppard Park , Fort Henry ) they have a perfect situation .

A great deskfront guy , clean and fresh renovated i will return next year sure .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoYanksGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this motel. Rooms were all recently renovated: New furniture, fresh paint and very modern bathroom. What I enjoyed the most is that the floor was not that dirty carpet from all motels/hotels - It was a nice modern laminate bamboo. It made the whole room feel even cleaner than it was. They even have 2 chairs outside your room so you can sit out at night and enjoy the wonderful steam chimes of the steamboat.
The motel itself is perfectly located in the centre of the village. Walking distance of all the restaurants and the beach/boat dock.
The only reason why I gave this motel 4 out 5 is because there is a bar/nightclub right next door and the loud music / drunk people kept us up all night on Saturday. Sunday was karaoke night so the horrible yet hilarious singing went on until a decent hour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Well.. The hotel is economical.. The rooms were spacious and clean. However, they were short of basic amenities... Hot water was a major issue and we had to shower in cold water which is not at all pleasant.
Location is great
There was this beeping noise from fire alarm but it stopped after first hour.. My guess is they are based on motion sensors..
Overall Average

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zamiyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

It has been awhile since I have stayed in a Motel 6, but decided to try it when I was recently in Lake George. Since it was prior to Memorial Day and not yet into the high season, I paid $54 for a double room. This property was recently renovated and was in pristine condition. New paint, fixtures, and furniture all bolted down in the M6 tradition. The flat screen TV was encased in a "bomb proof" wall mount that provided access to inputs for computer or gaming system. Laminate flooring appeared clean in contrast with typical motel carpeting. Situated across the street from Lake George, the location is great and within walking distance to watersports, bars, restaurants, and shopping. I suspect it might be a little noisy during the high season, but it is definitely clean, affordable and I would highly recommend it for young people who want to be where the action is and not have to drive. Party on!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

I stood here w my bf for Memorial Day weekend it was perfect for the two of us, rooms were very clean an modern. The location was perfect! It was right in middle of town walking distance to all shops and restaurants. The rooms were small but it did the job for sleeping and getting ready it was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stop here passing through with our dog. We didn't expect much but the room was clean and the room had an ultra modern minimalist style. Much better than I expected! It's in a great location, walking distance to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#22 of 89 in Lake George
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#24 of 89 in Lake George
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#51 of 89 in Lake George
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lake George

Address: 99 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1526 (Formerly Motel 6 Lake George)
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: £38 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villager Motor Hotel Lake George
Villager Hotel Lake George
Villager Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing