We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and close to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lake George
Ranked #47 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Niagara Falls, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very nice and close to everything!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed four nights this week and had a wonderful time at this property. Very clean and modern decor, though minimal furnishings. Actuall, not even a place to lay a suitcase except the floor, but for some reason it all works out well. If you like being close to everything, this property is located at the base of Canada St where all the tourist shops, attractions, pizza, arcades, etc. are located. You are basically right there and a very short walk to the beach. McDonald's right next door. Bathroom is clean and has a nice shower/tub combination. You can't go wrong here. No musty smells at the Motel 6. Bring an alarm clock as they do not provide one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    49
    29
    12
    18
See reviews for
39
44
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This motel is close to the pier with the ferry around the lake . You also can walk to the shops and restaurants. But if you want to swim and enjoy the beach you can peak something nicer and closer to the beach. I think this motel well overpriced. Even-though it was renovated recently and is fairly clean it is a motel on the very busy street. In general, it is good motel for one night, but very overpriced with very small rooms. No breakfast included. Keep in mind, they have some rooms overlooking a cemetery.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SLAVA-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Girls' 3 days vacation trip. Wifi was not working at all, either in or out the room. Lock on the door was brocken as well as the one on the window - which had no moquito screen... we left the important stuff in the car.
The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom door would not close (or lock!) but it was quite clean.
General impression : for its location, it is a nice choice.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Location was great, right in the middle of the strip. Rooms recently renovated, small but clean. The trip was a girls weekend. There were four girls and we had a street level room. We noticed the security lock was broken (obviously happened from a previous guest) when we went to bed around 1:00 am. Did not feel very safe there at night. Car parked outside our door had about 5 bullet holes in it and guy staying in room above us was obnoxious and intoxicated, kind of scary. This was the only room we could get on short notice. If you stay here, I would request an upstairs room. Price was reasonable

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BlondeBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Overall good place to stay. Clean and right in the middle of all the excitement in town. Pool great too. Only problem was the upstairs tenants who were very noisy, probably they did not realize there were people trying to sleep below them; so not the fault of the motel owners. And the bathroom door was hard to close because toilet was too big. Pet friendly and clean though. Owner is nice too. Would stay there again. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This Motel 6 is in a great location in Lake George. It is walking distance to everything. We were able to check in, park our car and didn't have to drive anywhere for most of our trip. The hotel itself was very simple. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, it was relatively quiet and the pool was very nice. I have never stayed in a Motel 6 before so I don't know if they are all the same or not. The floors are not carpetted, there were no dressers to put clothes in, although there were a couple of shelves and the rooms are very small. Would I stay there again? Maybe, because of the location or I may spend a little more money and stay some place with a few more "bells and whistles".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My girlfriend and I were looking to stay in Lake George for the weekend. We went online and found a great deal on the Motel 6. We are very pleasantly surprised at how nice and well-maintained it was. It was a great location so close to downtown. We spent the weekend and were able to walk to everything we wanted to do. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fremante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.1 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#17 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#13 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lake George

Property: Howard Johnson Lake George
Address: 99 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1526 (Formerly Motel 6 Lake George)
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Howard Johnson Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villager Motor Hotel Lake George
Villager Hotel Lake George
Villager Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing