We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uphill ride”

Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Uphill ride”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I went with my family ages1- 16. The little kids were in a. Attachment in the back. It was to hard to ride it uphill I had to walk it most of the time. the down hill ride was a blast

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank laya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Bikeway Within a 100 Miles”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Multi-use trail from Lake George village to Glens Falls, NY. Paved and in good condition. The section starting in the village has some hills but it's a great ride back down. The trail is mostly shaded near Lake George, so it feels cool, even in August. The Glens Falls section crosses more intersections and is more populated but an added treat is stopping for ice cream right next to the bike path. Joggers, walkers and families all seem to be enjoying themselves. Picnic tables along the way are nice too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank canoecatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Bike”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Many access points - we always use (over 25+ years), the free public one on County Club Road, just off of Quaker Rd in Queensbury. Takes about an hour (for us), to get to Lake George. Some hills. There is about a mile where one needs to ride on parts of the well-marked substantial shoulder of Country Club and Blind Rock Roads. Barbara F, reviewer, turn right at Birdsall Rd. Yesterday, after returning from Lake George, we continued past the parking area for about another 1.5 miles and had a late lunch at Cooper's Cave, popular pub type restaurant with an ice cream window right on the bike trail. They have free Bikeway maps for everyone and plenty of bike stands on which to lock your bike. Made a nice thing to do!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 360Love_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A nice ride on rented bicycles”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

There is a place to rent bicycles - it's a tackle store across the street from the Tiki, next to the holiday Inn jsut a few blocks south of LG village. It cost $8 per hour per bike. My 18 yr old daughter and I thought we'd ride for at least 2 hours. Ha!

Once you cross the street there's a side road that takes you to the foot of the bikepath across the street from million dollar beach and right near the mini-golf place. Although we are not in great shape we didn't find the path to be rough. I did realize it was uphill - but it was very gradual. It was beautifully paved and super smooth. At a few places it does cross a street or become part of the street for a very short time. But they are VERY quiet streets. Only on the return trip did we realize how much uphill we had been pedalin - we hardly pedaled at all on the way back and it was swift! We were gone less than an hour so our very pleasant ride cost us only about $17 including tax!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank NYMetroMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
351 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Challening, paved, off road path”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I brought our bicycles to our recent visit to Lake George. I do not like riding on the road and was happy to hear about this bikepath. The first challenge was finding an entrance to the path. The path starts near the intersection of West Brook Road and Beach Roads, across the street from Around the World Miniature Golf. At that point it runs through Lake George Battlefield Park so it looks like any other pathway/sidewalk.

We decided to park at Lake George Battlefield Park for $10. Enter the park, follow the park road all the way around to the end, near the big statute. Park there. Near the statute is a small pathway leading down to the bike path. Just walk your bike down that pathway and you'll be at the path near the intersection of Beach Road and Fort George Road. Google maps does show this.

The bikeway is nicely paved. Being recreational bicyclist, generally riding on flat trails, we were naive in thinking this would be the same. After a very short flat ride one hits the first of several uphill climbs. This first hill is LONG. I would estimate close to a mile long climb at about 15 degrees or so. That is just an estimate. After that there are ups and downs of different lengths and inclines. A few times we had to dismount and walk up the last 100 feet or so of the steeper sections.

The path is mostly wooded areas. A few times the path does go on a road or sidewalk for short times, then back to the path. Makes for interesting changes of scenery. There are also a couple short bridges that take you over roads (like at route 149).

We rode about 5 miles to where the path became shared with Birdsall Road. At that point the signs indicated the path continued both left and right. We didn't know which way to take, plus the road was windy. Not being comfortable biking on roads we decided to turn around at that point and head back. Reaching this point took about 50 minutes. The hills certainly slowed us down.

Going back was faster, taking about 35 minutes and the last long now downhill stretch is great - next to no pedaling!

Along the way are many entry points to the bikeway, but not being familiar with the area, starting at Lake George Village was easiest for us. The trail was a challenge for us novice bikers, but one we could meet fairly easily and we enjoyed the good workout. Bring water.

We were glad we brought our own bikes. We didn't see any place to rent them.

We did see families with children. They are in better shape than me, no doubt.

It's a great trail to bike on.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank B_in_Penfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warren County Bikeway also viewed

 

Been to Warren County Bikeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing