We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View!”
Review of Still Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Still Bay Resort
Ranked #16 of 25 Lake George B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2007

The Still Bay is a beautiful place to stay on Lake George. It is away from the busy resort town of Lake George, yet near enough to drive in for dinner or other activities (wax museum, boat rides-MinniHaHa is the best!, etc.) We arrived and were greeted kindly on a sunny day in July. We paid 260 for our one night stay and were overall happy with our choice. The room was very very clean and yet looked like the owners were rather nostalgic about the past, as the long over-the-bed lights and the drapes were what we now call vintage. We thought it was charming. The mattresses themselves however were not so charming..they were rather hard. We really enjoyed the sandy beach equipped with nice lounge chairs and the absolutely beautiful 1900's boathouse. We were not sure if you could take out the paddle boats, if we stayed longer we would have checked into it. There is a large slopping lawn, outdoor grills, and no pool. The morning breakfast was wonderful, with crumpets with cream cheese and apricot jam, eggs, bacon, and French toast. You have to act fast, tho, popular things ran out and were not refurnished. You might want to request a room that faces the water, as about half of the rooms face trees.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank missmmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2006

The family that runs it is so great. They have a top quality attitude about how they run their place. Our children are so excited to be going back. The rooms are small, but charming & rustic and very clean. We prefer a small, high quality room..because we don't spend much time there. The landscape and setting is gorgeous. They rake the sand each morning and provide free pedal boats. The bathrooms are updated and stocked with classy amenities. The grand finale is the owner's wife cooks these amazing fresh breakfasts in the main house each morning...and it's included in the price. The challenge is trying not to over-eat her quiches, tarts, and gormet egg dishes.

If you are looking for a high quality, charming, lake-side retreat...you've got it at Still Bay. No, they didn't pay me to say this!

~Jennifer Campain
Allentown, PA

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank livewire44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2006

Just returned from a one week "glorious" vacation at Still Bay Resort. This was our third time returning to Still Bay and it gets better each time. The owners and staff are always friendly and accommodating. This is a kid and family friendly place to stay. The breakfast which is included with your stay is wonderful...eggs, french toast, pancake and sausage are some new additions this year and they were a great addition to the already delicious muffins, bagels, homemade breads, cereal, etc. The resort is situated on the lake which is wonderful for the kids and for the adults also. There is a large sand area for the children to play on with lounge chairs for the moms and dads. The kids have lots of room to run around and you are not near the road, so you don't have to worry about the traffic noise or the kids running around near the road. With outstanding views of the lake this is one of the most enjoyable and relaxing vacations you could possibly have. The rooms are comfortable and always clean. This is a place you must stay at if visiting the Lake George area. We will surely be returning next year!

2  Thank GeanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

If you want a rustic beautiful place to stay where the families you meet are nice, the owners really care how you feel, and the setting is perfect then Still Bay is the place to stay in Lake George. Nicely situated between Lake George Village and Bolton's Landing it is about as far off the road as you can get in this century; the cars on Rt9 won't disturb you or threaten your children's safety. It is not over built, has a beautiful lake front beach and a real boat house that is reminiscent of a time gone by.

Breakfast is magnificent with true home cooking as the owners do the cooking and baking themselves. You can eat on the stone porch of the main house with a view of the lake and boat house or inside the main house in a room that takes you back to a time before sheet rock. It is wonderful for children with a great lawn and no traffic in the motel area. I have brought my family, children and grandchildren, back for a weeks vacation three consecutive years and visit in the fall for the colors. I have been coming to Lake George since 1957 and Still Bay is now number one for me. They can handle your boat if you have one and you can access the internet if you must bring work away on vacation. The establishment is great and so are the owners -- try it you won't be sorry.
---

3  Thank namvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2005

Magic! Our stay at Still Bay was pure magic! We had a grand vacation due to the amazing grounds, spectacular views and private beach, fabulous staff and clean comfortable and homey accomodations! We rented the apartment for a week, so cute! Very clean, had everything we needed, and more. The kids could run and have fun on the spacious well kept grounds, and play all day at the beautiful private beach. There was shade or sun at the beach, paddle boats and life jackets to use. We could relax, and the kids could play. We were close enough to the village so we could go into town if we wanted, but far enough away so we felt secluded. The breafast that was included each day was so delicious! Very high quality baked goods, cereals, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, juices and the BEST coffee! This was the first vacation we have been on, that I didn't want to go home! Usually after a week full-time with my husband and my kids, I am ready to go home - but not this time, I wanted to stay for another week!
I saved the best for last - the staff, Ron and his wife and thier entire staff are so friendly and warm, and not to mention accomodating, it felt like staying at a family memebers house! We already booked next year - I can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Vickidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cumberland, RI
15
Reviewed 27 August 2004

My boyfriend and I just returned from four days at Still Bay. The motel is wonderful, the staff friendly, and the slip for our boat perfect.

This was my first trip to Lake George and for him a return visit. He grew up on the Lake. We had a wonderful time and loved our stay. We would recommend Still Bay to anyone!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Lauderdlae, Florida
19
Reviewed 21 January 2004

Our annual August retreat to Still Bay is one of the most enjoyable traditions we keep.For over ten years we have gathered countless memories on Lake George, and Still Bay is our quietly rustic, yet sophisticated "home" base. Our host family and staff are so very accomodating, and they have maintained a setting of beauty without the hustle and noise of amusements, or altering the beauty of the natural setting. This serenity and calm, on one of the most beautiful Lakes, are what keep us returning to "our" Still Bay.

Still Bay Devotees Fort Lauderdale, Florida

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake George
2.0 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.3 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#16 of 89 in Lake George
185 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,657 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olympian Village Resort
Olympian Village Resort
#8 of 9 in Diamond Point
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Still Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Bay Resort

Address: 3458 Lake Shore Drive, Route 9N, Lake George, NY 12845-6623
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range: £96 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Still Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Still Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing