We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Forked River, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were traveling up toward the Lake George area for a wedding, and wanted to get 'the Lake George experience' in one day. Boy did we! The hotel was clean and sufficent (we stayed in the 'main' building - there are three options. We called to book and they explained everything - as well as the website does - and decided to go with the Lake View Jacuzzi suite. Amazing room. Room was clean - view was spectacular. Location is phenomonal - right on the lake. Large patio area to take in the view with on-site bar, also walking distance to boat tours and populated 'downtown' area and museum. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Varying options with different pricepoints - make sure you know what you are getting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTCO127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear ANTCO127 ,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We appreciate your compliments. We aim create a great experience for all of our guests.

You have given other travelers some great suggestions. We do have three different types of guest rooms, each with their own price points and set of amenities.

Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    266
    145
    84
    103
See reviews for
343
312
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Booked a King bed room with fireplace and lake view. After checking in we went to our room only to find there were people already staying in it; apparently they had given our reserved room away. Next they put us in same type room that smelled of mold/B.O. They stated they could get rid of the smell with an "ionizer" machine but we would have to stay out of the room for 90 min. Upon return the smell was less however since we had dinner reservations for our anniversary, we had to leave. When we returned around 11pm, the room was back to the mold/B.O. smell and they had us switch rooms at this point to a tiny room facing the parking lot. No compensations were made.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cviagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Great Hotel. If your child is going to the HH Camp, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris234l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

A Beautiful room at The "Queen Lake", Lake George, NY. Our daughter was married on the steamship Saint Sacrament several years ago and our accommodations and rehearsal dinner were at The Fort William Henry Hotel. Each year my wife and I spend a long Father's Day weekend away from home. We had such a great experience with my daughter's wedding that it was decided it was time to go back and spend the night at this wonderful resort. The front desk staff were terrific! Wanting to spend some time in Lake George Village, we arrived shortly after noon. Since parking by early afternoon is slim, I stopped by our destination and asked if we could park now since we were spending the night. Upon a quick check, the front desk employee said our room was ready and we could bing our belongings in now. The room was spacious, comforatble and very clean. Once checked in and bags brought up, we were out and about town. The next morning we had a tasty breakfast at The Fort William Henry before heading out for a cruise on The Saint Sacrament. We certainly suggest that anyone wanting to have a great place to stay in Lake George, do so at The Fort William henry Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 14alnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

I was reading some of the reviews on this site and they do not represent this hotel. It appears some people tend to blow things out of proportion. FWH is great. I travel on business for work and for pleasure with my family. I have stayed in five star hotels, dive motels and everything in between. I can say FWH is one of the best family run hotels I have ever stayed at. My rooms have always been clean and well maintained. I just booked my summer family vacation for the end of July and this will be our fourth return. The staff is great, the restaurants are great and the location is excellent. The grounds are well kept, the rear has a large beautiful sitting area over looking the pool and Lake George, where you can sit on wicker couches and rocking chairs, have a drink from the outside bar and talk with family and make new friends. It is minutes from everything and is affordable. You can stay here on a budget or if you want to spend more, can get a higher priced accommodation. You see this hotel has three sections, the original "motel" which is more for economy, the hotel "wing" for economy to moderate and the hotel, for moderate to more expensive. The key here is that you have choices, to fit anyone’s budget while still allowed to use the wonderful hotel amenities and be treated with kindness and respect from the staff. I can suggest not to book here when they have conferences on the whole property unless you are attending the show. Last year we were here during the Adirondack car show. They rent the whole property and close it off to the public unless you are a guest of the hotel or attendee, so getting in and out can be a little crazy. It is important to note, when we booked our reservation were told that the show would be there and we decided to stay anyway, so the choice is yours, BTW, this is a common practice for hotel conference centers. The Fontainebleau in Miami does this from time to time (Winter music Conference) as does Marriott in New York. And please, cut the hotel some slack, do you remember the winter the northeast had last year? I am sure it wreaked havoc on the LG area in terms of damage to roads, property and OUTDOOR pools. And BTW, anyone who has come up to Lake George knows that even if the pool were open, you probably would use the indoor pool anyway because it is still somewhat chilly in May. The pool has always been open, working and well maintained when we have come over the years. To be honest, most of the time the kids prefer the indoor pool anyway. So to anyone considering this hotel, trust this review from someone who knows through MULTIPLE experiences, vacation at this hotel and you will not regret it.

Thank you to the staff and owner of FWH for all of the great memories we have had at your resort.
Mark, Long Island, NY
e mail me anytime: Mark@5FathomsMusic.com

Room Tip: Call the hotel to find the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DjMrMark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Dear Mark ,
Thank you for those incredible kind and honest comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff.

Please allow me to introduce some of our staff to you ion your next visit.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

My spouse and I stayed during the firemen convention weekend here and since we planned the trip last minute we had no other options at a decent price. We ended up staying at this hotel as it's a central location. Based on the website and the images, we were expecting a higher quality than what was offered. The worst thing about this hotel is that there is the main hotel and right next to it is a shed with motel rooms, which is very noisy with party goers. We had strangers knocking on our door at 3am and did not get a good night of sleep what so ever. Had I known we would be staying in the motel room next to the actual hotel (which is all you see on the website by the way) we would have opted for a better hotel for the price we paid, even if we had to stay a bit further away from the village. I would definitely opt to stay in a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

When we arrived we were blocked from entering the parking lot. The grounds were surrounded by a chain link fence and filled with trucks and vendors for a tow truck convention. We had to convince the guards that we had reservations and were staying at the "resort". Several others who were traveling with us had their paid reservations lost and their rooms were given away. Luckily they were filling the outside pool when we got there. But, they were using a garden hose and we were long gone before it was filled and open. Annoyances, many. A resort? Not even close.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapperDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 June 2011
Dear Napperdoc,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. .

Like in the previous trip advisor comment, we apologize about our outdoor pool not being open. The extreme weather conditions we experienced in May caused its delay. We learned a valuable lesson from these comments on the importance of opening our outer pool before Memorial Day weekend. It is one of our most popular amenities and the largest pool in the Lake George region. For the record, our pool is filled with a double jacketed, 1.5 inch, fire hose.

Our property is home to some large events that take place in Lake George region. These events take place in the spring and in the fall. It is usually very difficult to get reservation unless you are registered as a member of, or attending the event. We know being in these events without participating is very difficult.

The weekend you were our guest, we were hosting the Empire State Towing and Recovery Association’s annual Tow Show and setting up to be the new home location of the Americade. Both are very large events. The Americade alone brings over 40,000 motorcycle enthusiasts to our area. We must put safety and security procedures in place.

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. Please call us to get a schedule of the events going on in our area. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#15 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
#17 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing