We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had a decent stay except to find they charged $400 on the credit card without telling us. Then we have to find out that they claimed we broke the TV. We left everything in tact. However, the only claim that they have is we were in that room last. They claimed that they have picture to proof the TV is broken. I really don't understand how that would proof that we broke the TV. All I can say they their management doesn't follow up with the customer, and basically stealing money from their customer without telling them. It is very unfortunately that this hotel is like that. Don't stay there, and go with a well known chain. It's like a nightmare that they can just take money from us like that. Try to follow up with the manager but to no avail. We will try to go higher, I can't believe they would damage their reputation by hiring incompent people.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wkchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Dear wkchu,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We do appreciate your opinions.

It is unfortunate when we have to charge a guest for damages. We have standard operating procedures that allow us to inspect the rooms before our guests arrive and immediately after our guests depart. Our Executive Housekeeper and her staff followed these procedures.

Whenever damages are reported we immediately take photographs. The cost of the damages are determined by the value of the item, the amount of damage, with depreciation, and whether the item needs to be replaced or only repaired. The Flat Screen TV’s in our guest rooms are unique because of the technology that interfaces with our “In-Room” entertainment system, and in this case we had to replace the unit.

I assure you we do not profit from a charged damage fee. We simply try to replace the items to meet Fort William Henry standards.

We are very proud of our management team. They have been together for over 25 years. Again, thank you for time on this matter. Our staff attempted numerous times to contact about this issue on your day of departure, but to no avail.

We are sorry you selected a social media path to correspond with us, but understand when you go into any hotel, and you cause damage you will be charged.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

CC: The Daily News
The New York Post
The Albany Time Union
Dateline NBC
Fox News Channel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was our family's 3rd year staying at the Fort William Henry hotel in the ultra suite of the main building. We were very satisfied with the attentiveness to details, cleanliness and accommodations. The view was spectacular. The staff wonderful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The beds and bedding were cozy & very comfortable. The frig and micro. in room are a real plus. We really enjoyed the pool. There are always lounge chairs and towels available. This year 'George's' our favorite restaurant was very disappointing. Whereas Pizza Hut (right across the road) was surprisingly accommodating to my restricted diet. Great salad!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanGP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear SusanGP_10
Thank you for the kind words. In this never ending world of social media, it is helpful to give other travelers a review from someone who has been a guest of ours on numerous occasions.

Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again.. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We have been staying @ this hotel on & off for about 25 years. This is the first time I've been so upset with them. Front door, bathroom door, & Drawers all stuck. Cleaning rags left in room, as well as items from previous occupants. No desk or table was provided. In general, room was run down & not very clean. When I complained several times, I was told that there was no manager available but that one would call me @ home the very next day. Needless to say, that NEVER happened.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unhappycamperUticaNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

There are three tiers of rooms - we stayed in the middle tier and was disappointed by the quality of the room, especially considering how much we had paid. While the room was clean, it was very run down and clearly has not been renovated for some time. The service however was great and the main hotel section appears to be very nice. The location was great for walking and exploring Lake George Village.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmc525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Dear nmc525,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We appreciate your honest critique. It is true we do have three different types of guest rooms, each with their own price points and set of amenities.

We are sorry our premium rooms did not meet your expectations. I hope you had the opportunity to advise our front office so they could arrange for a room change. Our goal is to have every guest leave as an advocate for our hotel. From your comments, it appears we fell short. Please call us at your earliest opportunity so we may make this up to you.

Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We found the grounds of the facility to be immaculate; check-in/out was handled nicely; breakfast was served efficiently and cheerfully and was not as overpriced as other hotels we have stayed at; and we spent an absolutely perfect Friday evening on the veranda sipping wine and enjoying the view of the Lake(bar keeper was superb).

The overall issue we had was the shabbiness of the room and the motor court section in which it was located. The room itself was clean and relatively comfortable and the night was quietly spent. The room is desperately in need of a freshening-up and the furniture is worn down. The motor hotel section stood out like a sore thumb in comparison to the rest of the facility. It was a letdown and depressing.

We would contemplate staying at the Hotel in the future; definitely not in the motor court section.

Room Tip: Stay away from the motor court section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glxny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were traveling up toward the Lake George area for a wedding, and wanted to get 'the Lake George experience' in one day. Boy did we! The hotel was clean and sufficent (we stayed in the 'main' building - there are three options. We called to book and they explained everything - as well as the website does - and decided to go with the Lake View Jacuzzi suite. Amazing room. Room was clean - view was spectacular. Location is phenomonal - right on the lake. Large patio area to take in the view with on-site bar, also walking distance to boat tours and populated 'downtown' area and museum. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Varying options with different pricepoints - make sure you know what you are getting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANTCO127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Dear ANTCO127 ,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We appreciate your compliments. We aim create a great experience for all of our guests.

You have given other travelers some great suggestions. We do have three different types of guest rooms, each with their own price points and set of amenities.

Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Booked a King bed room with fireplace and lake view. After checking in we went to our room only to find there were people already staying in it; apparently they had given our reserved room away. Next they put us in same type room that smelled of mold/B.O. They stated they could get rid of the smell with an "ionizer" machine but we would have to stay out of the room for 90 min. Upon return the smell was less however since we had dinner reservations for our anniversary, we had to leave. When we returned around 11pm, the room was back to the mold/B.O. smell and they had us switch rooms at this point to a tiny room facing the parking lot. No compensations were made.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cviagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: £64 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing