We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We were somewhat concerned about the bad reviews of this hotel. But when we got there we were warmly welcomed by the receptionist Carmen who gave us good advice about local activities. Sam the manager made extra efforts to make sure that we had a good room with a wonderful view of the lake. We saw the Thursday night fireworks from our balcony. Our house keeper, Sylvia was warm and friendly and the Maintenance came within 10 minutes to help us use the remote. Even the bartender on the veranda brought us unsolicited an ottoman for our feet. The hotel was very clean and well-run. The view and location was perfect.
We cant wait to go back!!!!!
Sandy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 849sandy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Sandy,

Thank you!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    283
    152
    90
    104
See reviews for
356
333
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

For almost 20 years we have vacationed every year at the Fort William Henry Hotel and have stayed in the section of the property that is called the Grand Hotel every year since it opened. Without fail we have been exceptionally well treated by everybody associated with the hotel, from Sam Luciano the general manager, Dolores who is the head of Housekeeping and her team, to the front desk staff, grounds keeping and maintenance personnel, and the servers in the property's restaurants. The hotel has probably the best location in the village, and without a doubt has the most commanding view of the lake. Early mornings relaxing in the Grand Hotel's portico overlooking the lake are permanent memories in our family, and ones we look forward to renewing every summer. The almost two decades of good experiences and good service will continue to draw us back every year. And the view of the fireworks over the lake on Thursday nights is spectacular.

Room Tip: Grand Hotel, lakeside are the best rooms in the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Peter H,
Thank you for being such a loyal ambassador for our hotel. We have many guests who return year after year and sometimes multiple times during the year. Your comments are a true indication of how our staff strives every day to make our guests’ experience a positive, memorable one. It is always great to hear from one of our VIP’s that we continue to meet that goal.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you again.
Again, thank you for the praise!


Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxbury,CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

When we checked in they gave us a room on the second floor that did not have an elevator. We had a stroller with a 3 year old and 3 month old. Just a little hard to use stairs. They where very nice when we explained our situation. They put us in the main hotel with an elevator. Our room was clean. Service was great. Front desk was very friendly. We tried to check in early. But none of the rooms had been cleaned yet. But they told us to use the porch bar, pool and lobby. There was a great restaurant down the path. Loved staying here! Lots of shopping, lake view and dining without using your car.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. Their restaurant was excellent! You can walk to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MineinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear MineinUSA ,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope you’ll visit us the next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I really don't even no where to begin. I don't want to make this too long. Anyways we stayed at the Fort William Henry hotel. We arrived on Sunday August 24th, thinking that this was a nice hotel. When we checked there was this lady who wasn't pleasant to us. When we walked in the room you were hit with this musty smell, come to find out there was mold growing literally growning on the base boards. This was a big no no. We went to the front desk and the people said they will send room service to the room, they never did. This is a big health safety hazard. Our nest store neighbor said her son had an asma attAck it was the first in 10 years. So please don't waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Joshua L,
Let me start by thanking you for your detrimental remarks, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. The front desk is trained to take every step possible to make your Fort William Henry experience a positive, memorable one, including upgrades to our Grand Hotel if available. We spend a great deal of time training our staff and you should always be greeted with a smile and a professional attitude. I have passed your concerns onto our management team for review and for comment.
Our hotel property is very unique. We have three different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambiance, and amenities. We have taken great strides to differentiate them to potential guests. Our web page even has a video of each section to help our guests make informed travel decisions.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Port Jefferson Station, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for one night after a family wedding. We had a room in their "west wing." I am so glad that was all we had booked! The room had a musty/mildew smell. It was dark and also in need of serious updating. When I went to take a shower in the morning, I noticed the stopper was out of the drain. I turned on the water, only to have it come out of the shower head immediately. I realized the reason for this was because of the dripping that went on after my shower. My elderly parents and aunt also had rooms. My 88 year old father commented on the musty smell also and that he had never stayed in a hotel that was in need of some serious updating! I did get an email from the general manager thanking me for my stay. I emailed my concerns back, but never heard back! Don't waste your money and stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear EEP3,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. It sounds like we fell short. The hotel is constantly going through renovations in one way or another, including public areas and restaurants.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumont, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked a lake view room for our 50th wedding anniversary. After a 4 hour drive we were told that no rooms of this type were available. We were given a "mountain view" room which included the parking lot, route 9A and a row of resort businesses. There was a mountain but it was not the primary focus. We had reservations booked through Booking.Com but there was no such room available. Beware false promises and high expectations. I do not know why a reservation was not a reservation but it was a great disapointment on a special occasion.

Room Tip: Do not expect to find what is supposedly reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Stanley Z,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
Third party, on-line bookings are a very popular and speedy way of booking your reservation, but it is always best to follow through directly with the hotel.
We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. The front desk is trained to take every step possible to make your Fort William Henry experience a positive, memorable one. It sounds like we fell short.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback.
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked through Groupon, like the other person who reviewed here a few days ago. I don't really need to add much beyond what she said--we are in the "standard" section, i.e the motel. We assumed we were booking the main hotel, because that's what it showed on the Groupon. It's revolting and I can barely stand to be here. This morning, I listened to a long diatribe--through the paper thin walls--from the people next door, who were coping with a flood in their bathroom. We we're stuck, however, since we paid via Groupon and we did not qualify for the free blood-on-your-door-upgrade. I'm beyond ticked to be spending my vacation time in a hotel that makes my skin crawl. I can't speak to the other parts of the hotel, but my advice is be very wary booking here, and you could probably find something a lot nicer for the same money or less elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you must book here--and I advise against it--book the main hotel. The location is very good, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDR416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear EDR416
Let me start by thanking you for your detrimental remarks, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. The front desk is trained to take every step possible to make your Fort William Henry experience a positive, memorable one, including upgrades to our Grand Hotel if available, no matter what booking engine you used. It sounds like we fell short.
Our hotel property is very unique. We have three different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambiance, and amenities. We have taken great strides to differentiate them to potential guests. Our web page even has a video of each section to help our guests make informed travel decisions.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#13 of 88 in Lake George
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing