We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old and run down, not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very old and run down, not worth the money.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Don't let the pictures online fool you or the lobby. Very expensive. Do not stay here, you will be disappointed. There are many other older hotels that you can pick for a much cheaper price. Close to walk. New pool, new lobby, old and not updated rooms. Mattress was thin and awful. Floor felt unsteady. Bathroom: shower/bath faucet extremely old, hard to work and adjust temperature. Toilet was in small area, toilet paper on your lap and no room to move, even for a woman. Prices are high and pictures online show new pool and lobby, and cabana bar. Very disppointed, go somewhere else. Customer service is usual.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kroberts315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, General Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear kroberts315,

You stayed with us over the Balloon Festival Weekend. It is clear to us that we fell short of your expectations. We apologize and hope you would have let us know about this as soon as you checked in. In such serious scenarios, where the guest does not like all aspects of our room/hotel, the management at the Georgian wants to help the guest, experience what they came to Lake George for.

So in such a situation, Management refunds the money upon arrival to the guest and helps the guest in relocating in a hotel of their liking that same day. For this, Georgian has a negotiated rate with many other area hotels which the Guest can book directly and Georgian assists the guest in booking the rooms. Even if that means that the revenue is not realized for that guest, we understand the every guest has their own standards and expectations. We want to ensure that your vacation experience is not dampened.

In no way do we want the Guest to continue staying with us in case they are unhappy. To enable the Management to aid with this, we prompt our future guests that in such a scenario, please come up and meet Front Desk Manager or the General Manager and we will assist in the relocation.

The Management's protocol for this is that it has to be done on the day of your arrival upon check-in as soon as the Guest realizes that they would rather not stay at the Georgian for any reason whatsoever. It cannot be effected midway during the length of stay for fairness to both parties.

The web photos are not there to misrepresent, and we are sorry you felt that way. It would be impossible to put pictures of all rooms and their bathrooms for a 160 room property. We hope our future guests understand that the pictures are representation of the room type only. We will be putting up a 360° view on our new website that will enable our guests to see the room before they book.

If brought to our attention on the day of arrival we would have followed protocol and helped you relocate to a hotel of your liking. Sorry we couldn't help you timely.

Touch base with me on gm@georgianresort.com if I can somehow encourage you giving us a try when you visit Lake George next.

Regards,
Ashish A. Tari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    231
    140
    58
    62
See reviews for
283
227
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just spent two nights at this resort. It was at the upper end of the village requiring only a short walk to shops and attractions. It was mid September and the there were few other guests so it was of course very quiet. The room was clean and comfortable.

The word Resort in the name overstates the case. Most of the rooms are motel like and right off the parking lot. Given the time of year and the motel quality of the place it was overpriced.

We had dinner at the restaurant on the property, Giovani's on the Lake. The food was excellent although the service was quite slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear mterm,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience at our hotel. Its people like you who validate our efforts in keeping our hotel at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities. Your feedback helps us to improve job performance and promote personal growth in our employees. We love what we do and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagaman, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is the third time we stayed there in the presidential suite but this time was different, the room is very large and has a great deck overlooking the lake. However when we arrived in our room we found things that were not acceptable! We pulled down the sheets to find someone else's hair through out the bed, and that tells me the sheets were not change from the last visitor! We opened the fridge and there was someone's left overs, on the deck was a used dirty cup and the lounge chairs had bird crap all over them and it was dry, so they obviously were not cleaned before we got there. The room also had a terrible odor like someone tried to mask the smell with some type of strong fragrance. We checked out early because we were grossed out by the bed (we only slept there because we had a travel sheet with us) and the front desk person asked us why, we told here what the problems were and she could care less, no apology at all! She said she would log in the complaint and did not even say good bye. It's too bad because the hotel has a great location but if you pay to stay in the presidential suite you expect a clean room and if you don't get one you deserve a apology! I'll spend a little more and stay at the Sagamore next time.

Room Tip: There are a lot of other hotels with the same location but a lot cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Mr. Billy G,

First, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience created by our errors. The room inspector should not have passed the room for guest occupancy. We take great pride to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed. We work hard to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guest and we are working with our housekeeping and front desk staff to prevent this from happening in the future.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Right from reservations to checkout the staff was so rude! Not ONE staff member even cracked a smile! We couldn't find our room. Saw 3 staff and no one asked if they could help. We will never stay there again! Very disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Bellamouse,

We truly value the opinions of our guest and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Providing our guest with the best hospitality and friendly service has always been our mission. We hope you will reconsider staying with us and give us the opportunity to provide you with better customer service .Wishing you the very best.

Sincerely,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at The Georgian for the second time. Nice resort....convenient, large rooms & large bathrooms. Nice to have bath and sink separated by door, but wish there was a mirror and more hooks (to hang clothes, etc.) in tub area. Spent a couple late afternoons at the Cabana bar (Happy Hour) overlooking lake--very nice. Also liked the parking area-lots of room. Will probably reserve for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czep13309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for very much for commenting on your stay at our resort. I am so happy to hear you really enjoyed the room and we are still finishing our renovations. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank You,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The resort is clean and the room was spacious. The lake access is very small and it was quite crowded. We used the outside bar area to drink and order food and the woman working the bar was less than friendly and not very helpful. The food was very average. The location is very close to the tourist part of town so you can easily walk to many things. We would not go back here.

Room Tip: don't bother spending extra money on a better room, not worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorisj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Dorisj64,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at our resort. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations and that customer service is our number one priority. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us in the future.

Thank You,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We are a family of three who have been down to Lake George each Labour day for the past few years, we've stayed at neighbouring hotels and decided to try Georgian Lakeside this year.

The rooms were great. We had a 2nd floor two double bed room on the south side of the hotel
and found it clean, fresh, with modern fixtures and fittings and generally just the right level of comfort for our needs.
There was a flat TV, nice bathroom, microwave and decent air conditioner. Perfect.

The pool area was also very decent. Our 6 year old enjoyed spending a lot of time playing there. And with the views over the lake and the nearby Bar area, it was very amenable for us to stay around, which we did a lot! Normally we'd use the hotel as a base but we felt very comfortable spending a lot of time at the resort.

Lastly, lovely views of the fireworks, this was a real bonus to be able to see them so clearly.

Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnehsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Johnehsmith,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property/business. We are happy to hear you had a great Labor day weekend. The Georgian and Lake George are all about family and fun.
Looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Thank You,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#21 of 89 in Lake George
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Property: The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Address: 384 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Georgian Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Lakeside Resort is located within walking distance of Lake George Village. The Georgian has 158 rooms & suites, a private beach, outdoor heated pool, The Cabana Bar, and Giovanna's On The Lake Restaurant, Dinner Theater, in-room coffee, fitness center, game room, free WiFi. Contrary to the listing of amenities on TA - we do not offer free breakfast. Wedding, Conference & Meeting facilities, AAA 3-Diamond Rated. Near all local attractions including whitewater rafting, The Great Escape, Lake Cruises and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Georgian Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lakeside Hotel Lake George
Georgian Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing