We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Harbor Motel(Lake George)
View Hotel
The Tiki Resort(Lake George)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Doray Motel(Lake George)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prospect Aire Motel(Lake George)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
642
291
64
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
291
64
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputting greenbasketball courtindoor poolfire pitkids eat freelife size chesschess setshuffle boarddinner theaterfree ice creamhot tubrestaurant staffmini golfkids activitieskids roomthird flooroff season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Overall this is a very nice hotel. It's neat and clean, nice service, great view of the lake and in a good location. The rooms are good, except for one thing. The hotel still has 20+ year old air conditioners / heaters. In most of the rooms they've eliminated the controls on the unit itself and replaced it with a wall thermostat. So it's either on or off, no low setting, just high all the time. And it's loud enough to wake you up from a dead sleep when it's on. Friends of ours said their unit didn't work at all.

Time for an upgrade. Panasonic, LG, Samsung and other companies make AC / Heaters that are almost silent and much more efficient.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a lake view, otherwise it's a view of the back lot.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfarmeribm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I appreciate the nice comments and your constructive thoughts related to our AC/Heaters. We are sorry about the noise and were very sorry to hear about your friends heat issue. Please let me know if you would like to join us again. We would like to have you return.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We've been coming to Lake George for years and this is our third time staying here in the last 10 years. We've gone back every few years and every time, its gets better as its turned from a basic hotel to a small resort like feel. I think its the best hotel in the village. (Fort William Henry is getting old and the Sagamore is a great luxury hotel but that is up in Bolton Landing and not super kid friendly)
I would not say its walking distance to the main village but you can walk if you want to. Maybe a 20 minute walk?
The rooms are fine for a Holiday Inn but obviously, don't expect super luxury. Our room had a couch and a small table with two chairs as well as the bed so that gave the kids some space to hang out in the room.
There is a very small "half-room" near the front desk with some very basic supplies and some drinks and ice cream bars. But there is a Valero gas station/quick-mart, a 1 minute walk outside the hotel with more supplies.
The hotel features a decent pool with poolside food and drink service, a kids playground, shuffle board area and some fun lawn games like a bean bag toss and a huge chess board. (The king is like 3 feet high). They also offer a number of children's activities throughout the day. Most are a bit lame but its something to do. If you have ever been to a Great Wolf Lodge or a Great Escape Lodge, you'll know what i mean by activities but they are simpler. They also have an indoor pool which is a great idea. We went at the end of the summer so we didn't spend much time indoors.

The restaurant food is ok. Like a diner or a TGI Fridays. But kids eat for free. We only ate there once, on our first night there so no worries as there is plenty to see at a Lake George.
If you can get a room facing the pool, i'd recommend it. There 1st floor rooms open up to the lawn in front of the pool for easy access. The 2nd and 3rd floors have a balcony. In the summer, they often have fireworks over the lake and you can get a good view of them from the poolside rooms. The 3rd floor has larger suites that some of our party stayed in. There is an outer room with large couch, TV and a mini bar area. Then a door to separate it from the bedroom.
I noticed they installed a electric car charging station this summer. That was interesting but we don't have an electric car so we didn't try it. There is plenty of parking in the back but it fills up fast so if you get back late, you have to park a little further away. It still only a minute or two to the door so no worries.

Room Tip: Pick a pool-side room if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnasty71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review from your stay this past summer. Thank you for the time that you took to share information about our resort. Our pools remain popular with families. The outdoor pool location and view are hard to beat. Thank you also for the mention of our electric car charging stations. They are new, and I did see two different guests out there this week, so it is catching on. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We got in late after a day of traveling (around 10pm). We had called ahead of time to see if there were rooms available. They had a room available and even upgraded us (we are IG gold members). They upgraded us to a kids suite which was amazing. We have an 18 month and 7 yr old and they loved it. They slept well which in turn we slept well. One of the ladies names was Courtney but I forget what the other lady's name was. They gave cookies and played with the little ones while my husband was getting the bags. Everything was perfect even the resturaunt was amazing. The service and the food. This will be our go to hotel from now on. Clean rooms, Great service and wonderful people. This was definitely a needed stay since previous holiday inns we disappointing. This hotel reassured us that holiday inns are for our family.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Chanel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for your awesome comments. We really enjoyed them. We do have a great staff throughout the building. I am glad that you were able to use one of our two kids suites. The bunk beds, and the whole concept of the kids suites have gone over great with the families that have had a chance to try them out. We are glad that you have found a home away from home in Lake George, and look forward to your return.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We REALLY enjoyed our stay here. I cannot think of one negative about the place. I would return in a heartbeat! The staff really seems to go out of their way to assist you.

We stayed in November, so the outdoor fireplace and the outdoor hot tub were a real novelty for us. They have a very nice indoor pool. Bigger than most with great 'atmosphere'.

Hats off to ALL of the staff that made our trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the lake--highly recommended.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for joining us. Your comments were much appreciated. Even in the winter, our outdoor firepit & the outdoor hot tub are utilized and enjoyed. Hopefully you will get a chance to return to Lake George in the furure.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spent a long weekend here a few weeks ago. The hotel itself is good (I guess very good for a Holiday Inn) with clean rooms and a good staff. The views of the lake are wonderful, and the hotel itself is walking distance to the lake and downtown. When you book, make sure you don't get the ground floor since the view is not as good and people will be walking right past your bedroom so you can't leave the curtains open. There is a gas station right next to the main entrance that has great prices on snacks, water and beer if you're in the mood and don't want to go to town.

Overall, and good choice if you're headed up the Lake George.

Room Tip: Get a lake view on the second or third floors.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I will say that Holiday Inn as a company is working very hard to get product consistancy throughout the entire brand. It is still work in progress, but they are heading in the right direction. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked our staff.
I hope that you will join us again.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews