We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonferful stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, VT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonferful stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here while celebrating our 3 year anniversary in Lake George. It was a wonderful stay even for just one night. The price was great for the quality but it was off season so it wasn't too crowded. Lake George was sort of a ghost town this time of year except for the shopping and great outdoors. We were greeted with a choice between punch or rum punch and fresh baked chocolate chip or white macadamia cookies. This totally surprised us but after a two hour drive from Vermont it was just what we needed to start our relaxing weekend away. Of course I chose the rum punch and the cookies were so delicious! The staff at the front desk were friendly and gladly gave us equipment to use on the turf area since no one really was using it due to chilly weather. But we wanted to stay on property for a while so it was nice for entertaining ourselves with the beautiful scenery of Lake George visible from the resorts great location. We spent most the time sitting in the lounge chairs overlooking the lake and we were the only ones around it was great! In warmer months this outdoor area would be great for kids and families. We tried the mini putt putt golf in the resorts court yard for fun but it needs a little updating and cleaning its not the best looking or most fun thing. Our room was a standard king I believe and it was clean and very spacious. The bed wasn't the most comfortable mattress I've had at resorts but it was pretty good. The room's view was just of the outside resort but if you pay extra you can have a lake view which we loved looking at on the glass elevator to our floor. The bathroom was really small though like you had to squeeze into the bathroom to close the door. Nice amenities in the bathroom to use though. Our tub didnt drain very fast either. Everything else was great for the room though, perfect for a quick stay. Our favorite part was the happy hour offered during the bonfire outdoors on the patio. We took our drinks outside by the fire overlooking the lake. It was an unexpected treat that we so enjoyed. Although the fire was kind of small and hard to feel unless up close they should make it a little bigger especially in cold months. They did offer buffet dinners with different themes each night or regular menu too maybe, we ate off resort with all the wonderful restaurants near by. We slept in so we didnt do breakfast there but we ate at the Silo, I would recommend it for one of the best breakfasts we have ever had! We would definitely return here again the next time we are in the area. It was comfortable, convenient with a small resort feel to it, very nice.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms must be really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilmae419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, and for the time that you took to review us. I liked reading it, and enjoyed getting your perspective. Lake George does have a different feel to it, once the kids go back to school in the fall. It is definately a great spot to relax and enjoy the outstanding natural resourses that our region is famous for in the fall, winter, and spring. We are glad that you were able to enjoy some of the activities around our building. Those features are very active during the summer season. Nice tip on the Silo for breakfast. That is a great spot for breakfast & lunch.
Hopefully we will see you again. We appreciate you choosing us.

Michael S./GM



Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    270
    60
    23
    15
See reviews for
484
207
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I travel often between Fishkill,NY and Burlington,VT usually making a stop in Malta, NY. My daughter mentioned she visited Lake George during the summer and enjoyed it. So on my recent trip from Burlington I forced myself to stop in Lake George (made every excuse why I should go further) and am I happy I did. The location, people, room, lounge,etc was fantastic.It was the best hotel experience I have EVER had. I usually do not complete these reviews but this was unbelievable. I went to grab a bite and say at the bar. The Bartenders (Dana and Bob) were so nice, but what really surprised me was the patrons. Almost all locals they visit and welcome everyone. I struck up a conversation with an older Gentlemen about Antique Cadillacs and reminisced about all the Antique cars my Dad once owned. Thanks Dad for all the memories.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the King Suite, but cant wait to return and get the King Spa Suite for a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for allowing us an opportunity. I am glad that you enjoyed our property, and our Lounge. It is a fun place to visit every day of the week. Bob, Agnes, and Dana have created a fun, engaging atmosphere which local patrons, and resort guests really enjoy.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed over one night while visiting family in area. Normally don't stay at Holiday Inn's, so this was a nice surprise. Staff is super friendly and it is obvious they take pride in their work. Room was very comfortable and clean. The bar had a "Cheers" type atmosphere and the bartender Bob, not only makes a great cocktail, but will engage you in friendly banter. Had breakfast in restaurant and it was fresh and delicious. We went off-season and it was fairly quiet, but it looks like it is very kid-dominated during the high season, so you may want to stay elsewhere if you are kid-free.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We have a genuine friendly staff, and are very fortunate.
Bob and Agnes in our lounge are just outstanding. We do cater to families as a Holiday Inn Resort. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Haven't been here in a year and it is still as great as ever. For a hotel room that is under $100, it is a bargain.
1. The pool is large, clean, and warm......the towels provided in the room are excellent!
2. The bed is excellent with your choice of firm or soft pillows.
3. Beautiful view of the lake (it is winter so don't know what happens if the leaves were out).
4. Hotel restaurant for breakfast is GREAT.
5. Cookies at the front desk are GREAT.
6. Room size is LARGE. We had a terrific king room.
7. Love the Keurig coffee pot in the room.
8. Very nice bar......staff is WONDERFUL (Bob, Agnes....)
One Minor issue:
wish parents would quiet their kids running down the hallways...can be a bit noisy.

Hard to go wrong with this hotel choice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your nice review. The Keurig coffee makers have gone over very well. The cookies at check-in are also a favorite. I appreciate your comments about our pool, and of course Bob & Agnes in the lounge. Hopefully, we will see you back in the near future. Thank you for staying with us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Overall this is a very nice hotel. It's neat and clean, nice service, great view of the lake and in a good location. The rooms are good, except for one thing. The hotel still has 20+ year old air conditioners / heaters. In most of the rooms they've eliminated the controls on the unit itself and replaced it with a wall thermostat. So it's either on or off, no low setting, just high all the time. And it's loud enough to wake you up from a dead sleep when it's on. Friends of ours said their unit didn't work at all.

Time for an upgrade. Panasonic, LG, Samsung and other companies make AC / Heaters that are almost silent and much more efficient.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a lake view, otherwise it's a view of the back lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfarmeribm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I appreciate the nice comments and your constructive thoughts related to our AC/Heaters. We are sorry about the noise and were very sorry to hear about your friends heat issue. Please let me know if you would like to join us again. We would like to have you return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We've been coming to Lake George for years and this is our third time staying here in the last 10 years. We've gone back every few years and every time, its gets better as its turned from a basic hotel to a small resort like feel. I think its the best hotel in the village. (Fort William Henry is getting old and the Sagamore is a great luxury hotel but that is up in Bolton Landing and not super kid friendly)
I would not say its walking distance to the main village but you can walk if you want to. Maybe a 20 minute walk?
The rooms are fine for a Holiday Inn but obviously, don't expect super luxury. Our room had a couch and a small table with two chairs as well as the bed so that gave the kids some space to hang out in the room.
There is a very small "half-room" near the front desk with some very basic supplies and some drinks and ice cream bars. But there is a Valero gas station/quick-mart, a 1 minute walk outside the hotel with more supplies.
The hotel features a decent pool with poolside food and drink service, a kids playground, shuffle board area and some fun lawn games like a bean bag toss and a huge chess board. (The king is like 3 feet high). They also offer a number of children's activities throughout the day. Most are a bit lame but its something to do. If you have ever been to a Great Wolf Lodge or a Great Escape Lodge, you'll know what i mean by activities but they are simpler. They also have an indoor pool which is a great idea. We went at the end of the summer so we didn't spend much time indoors.

The restaurant food is ok. Like a diner or a TGI Fridays. But kids eat for free. We only ate there once, on our first night there so no worries as there is plenty to see at a Lake George.
If you can get a room facing the pool, i'd recommend it. There 1st floor rooms open up to the lawn in front of the pool for easy access. The 2nd and 3rd floors have a balcony. In the summer, they often have fireworks over the lake and you can get a good view of them from the poolside rooms. The 3rd floor has larger suites that some of our party stayed in. There is an outer room with large couch, TV and a mini bar area. Then a door to separate it from the bedroom.
I noticed they installed a electric car charging station this summer. That was interesting but we don't have an electric car so we didn't try it. There is plenty of parking in the back but it fills up fast so if you get back late, you have to park a little further away. It still only a minute or two to the door so no worries.

Room Tip: Pick a pool-side room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnasty71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review from your stay this past summer. Thank you for the time that you took to share information about our resort. Our pools remain popular with families. The outdoor pool location and view are hard to beat. Thank you also for the mention of our electric car charging stations. They are new, and I did see two different guests out there this week, so it is catching on. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort George G Mead Junction, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We got in late after a day of traveling (around 10pm). We had called ahead of time to see if there were rooms available. They had a room available and even upgraded us (we are IG gold members). They upgraded us to a kids suite which was amazing. We have an 18 month and 7 yr old and they loved it. They slept well which in turn we slept well. One of the ladies names was Courtney but I forget what the other lady's name was. They gave cookies and played with the little ones while my husband was getting the bags. Everything was perfect even the resturaunt was amazing. The service and the food. This will be our go to hotel from now on. Clean rooms, Great service and wonderful people. This was definitely a needed stay since previous holiday inns we disappointing. This hotel reassured us that holiday inns are for our family.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chanel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for your awesome comments. We really enjoyed them. We do have a great staff throughout the building. I am glad that you were able to use one of our two kids suites. The bunk beds, and the whole concept of the kids suites have gone over great with the families that have had a chance to try them out. We are glad that you have found a home away from home in Lake George, and look forward to your return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#8 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
#18 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing