We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Family Resort Hotel in Lake George”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
728 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“Good Family Resort Hotel in Lake George”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We visited Lake George on our way to Vermont and Maine and stayed a weekend night at the Holiday Inn Resort Lake George in August. A little bit more about the town of Lake George in a minute.

The Holiday Inn is a nice place to stay, whether you are passing through, as we were, or staying for a longer time. Our room was actually a suite with a separate living room area. There was a sliding door between the two areas, which we liked, because some family members could sleep while others stayed up without anyone bothering the other. Wi-fi is included in the price and worked well.

The room was comfortable and had good amenities. They expect you will use the resort facilities and have pool towels and various activities in addition to the pool. The balcony outside our room directly overlooked the pool as was true of most and possibly all the other rooms.

When we arrived, we thought the hotel was oddly configured – our room was a long walk from the elevator – but we realized that the design ensured that everyone had a view of the pool and, for that matter, Lake George.

Lake George itself is beautiful. The hotel isn’t strictly on the lake, but it’s on a hillside a few hundred feet away and we had a pretty good view from our room. The hotel is kind of at the edge of town – it’s a brief 10-minute or so walk to the main drag or you can just drive down and park.

As for the town, you will find it either full of tourist activities or just plain touristy depending on your taste. They have all kinds of offerings such as miniature golf (the one by the lake apparently is recognized for its design, but there is another one called “goofy golf” down the road), swim parks, a kiddie park, boat rides, the “Frankenstein Wax Museum”, at least two arcades, and similar fare.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for stopping in for a visit. Our location on the hill does give us a terriffic view of Lake George. It is a special lake, and it's beauty is undeniable. We are very fortunate. We are open all year, please pay us a visit again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    273
    60
    23
    15
See reviews for
485
208
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel because of the location and reasonable week day price. The weekend price is outrageous during the summer.

Internet
The free wifi was reliable and you didn't have to log in every time you used it.

Breakfast
You have to pay for it. Many places provide complimentary breakfast and it would've been an added bonus if this Holiday Inn had it as well. This is a pricey hotel so it would be nice if it was included. We went out for breakfast.

Entertainment & Activities
Indoor and outdoor pools were pretty good size. The hot tub outside is a treat with a mini golf area besides it. Next to the outdoor pool there's a nice basketball court, small putting area, lawn chess, a playground, shuffle board and a fire pit. My kids had fun outside. They did an excellent job with all these places for the families. There's also a kids activity center that looked clean and fun but my kids were a bit too old. My wife used the treadmill in the gym which is located next to the indoor pool. Everything in the gym seemed new and in good working condition.

Room
Our room was a typical sized hotel room which was very clean. The beds were firm but yet comfortable. Two queen size beds. My only gripe was that the bathroom was very small. It seemed a lot smaller than the typical hotel bathroom.

Location
The hotel is conveniently located near Lake George and by car it only takes a minute. However, I thought we would be able to walk to Lake George but I really couldn't with children. It's just not safe. There aren't many sidewalks and hills which are worth battling.

One extremely nice touch was on Thursday from 4-5pm, there was free food and alcohol at the outdoor pool. They provided sliders, dumplings, fried cauliflower, cheese, crackers, watermelon, beer, wine, soda, sangria and juice. We were so full we had an extra late dinner that night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GothamPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review, It sounds like your kids enjoyed staying with us. Manager reception on Monday & Thursday is popular and is a good time. We enjoy doing it. Sidewalks are coming next year or 2016. That will help with the walk to the village. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to take a weekend away to put a nice cap on the summer. We stayed here and it was a lovely property. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool/ patio area, and we could also see Lake George. The property here is pretty impressive -- It has two pools, one indoor and one outdoor, and alongside the outdoor pool is a very very large patio with plenty of seats. Lounge by the pool or have cocktails with friends, it is all possible in this space. There are gas fire pits for when the sun goes down.

If you have children (I do not), there are plenty of activities on the grounds to occupy them. Basketball court, putting green, and shuffleboard are all options.

Inside, the room we had was nice. King bed suite -- which means it had a couch and a coffee table. Bed was comfortable, with two firm and two soft pillows to accommodate most of our needs. Put one of each together and make a medium. The room came stocked with four pool towels, and a 'wet swim suit' bag. Bathroom was a standard hotel space.

I am not sure entirely what the hotel contained, but I do know it had a restaurant, bar, and some sort of theater with a play.

All in all it was a nice stay. My one gripe is that continental breakfast is not included. For the price you pay for the room I think it is silly to expect the guests to pay $9.99 for a muffin and orange juice.

One thing worthy of mention at no fault of the hotel -- is even though it is less than 1/2 mile from downtown, there is no sidewalk for about 70% of the walk into the 'downtown' section. A bit hazardous considering it is 2 lanes of traffic moving at 45mph.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony. Get some fresh air in the mornings with a cup of joe. Disregard this tip Nov 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. There is definately much to do for kids, but adults like us too. The balconies are nice. Dinner Theater runs until Columbus Day weekend. We are fortunate to have that ammenity here. Hopefully, you will come down and visit us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The view was magnificent. It was oneof the cleanest and friendliest places we have ever stayed at a moderately priced hotel. The staff was so pleasant. The hotel offered an All You Can Eat Ribs night, fireworks and a Manager's reception party with free drinks and food. The hotel is immaculate, pool was very clean and they even had a fire pit on the patio. It is located very close to the shops and restaurant. I must say I would definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Select a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBlueyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We offer complimentary food every night in our Lounge. Our guests seem to like that. We have a great local crowd in there as well. Fire pit remains very popular.
We hope that you will join us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is walking distance to all the restaurant/bars and town, I loved that part of the hotel. I gave it a 3 because my fiance and I went away this weekend and upon checking in around 12 the staff was not friendly or polite. We barely got a smile when we walked in. My fiance thought that the room came with free breakfast, and was told upon checking in that they did not. We asked to speak to a manager and she confirmed that as well, however, after that they gave us the key they immediately dismissed us. They did not tell us anything about the hotel or how to get to our room. We walked around aimlessly until we found it.

While walking around I found that our hotel had a sauna which was pretty awesome. I overall enjoyed my stay based on the location but did not enjoy the morning front desk staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the room by the ice machine, you hear every time someone gets ice and the conversations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppritty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay.
I appreciate you calling me as well, and sharing your experience. I am sorry that we let you down.
Hopefully, you will allow us another chance this winter.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Resort Turf @ Lake George and it was great!!! The only reason I'm not rating it excellent is because the a/c was automatic and due to the cold front that hit the region, when the a/c came on, it was freezing in the room... BRRRR But everything else was perfect, the beds, pillows, plush towels to use when bathing as well as for the pool, it almost seemed as if we were on a cruise with the towels made into a figurine with glasses on, we had all of the amenities and then some! Everything was awesome, we saw children having a great time as well, there is so much to do for all ages, you didn't need to leave the hotel... So many perks which includes horderves by the pool and at the bar. Treats throughout the day for the kids & Adults haha from ice cream to cookies!!! Great restaurant, great food, waiters-Dakota/waitresses-Wendy, as well as the reception staff, Bob & Stephanie the Bartenders were great, they engaged you in conversation while serving everyone!!! It didn't seem like you were away from home but among friends and family... Almost forgot to mention the nice bellboy-Rusty... 2 heated pools (indoor/outdoor) jacuzzi, gym, game room, basketball... We had a great time and plan to return, hopefully the weather won't be as cool or wet!!!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool, which was great as we sat on the balcony to relax when returning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your great review.I am glad that you enjoyed our facility. I am sorry that it was a little cold. We did have a decent summer, but there were a couple of cold spots. Thank you for mentioning some of our staff. We have a really nice crew here.
We look forward to you joining us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is a nice hotel but not worth the price. The rooms are average, nothing special. The bathroom is tiny. The toilet takes up half the bathroom. It is the smallest bathroom I have experienced so far. We also had ants in the room. The staff are friendly. The pools are nice. Breakfast was average at best with poor service. Overall an overpriced hotel attempting to compare itself to hotels of higher caliber. If it was price accordingly I would recommend, but the value does not justify the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA915x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your thoughts. I was sorry to hear about the ants. Our rates do change, depending on the time of the year. I do appreciate your point of view however, and hope that you will consider joining us again, perhaps in the fall or winter.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#8 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#13 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing