We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for family vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tiki Resort
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great for family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

rooms are clean .. indoor and outdoor pool. Charcoals and pic-nic tables are available beside the playground wich is a plus if you have kids and if you want to save on restaurants
10 min walk to the beach and all the attractions.
we could even see the fireworks from the playgroud.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovedeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    100
    73
    26
    35
See reviews for
109
93
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sayre, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had the worst room location at #325. We were told (on multiple occasions) that people who book with Expedia get the worst rooms. #325 is also very insecure, located behind a large visual barrier.

The room fridge was not running when we arrived. Unless AC was cranked, room smelled musty. The walls are paper thin as we heard everything that was occurring outside AND inside the hotel. If you happen to be looking to do a couples getaway, be prepared for the pitter-patter of kids' feet galore. The room's floors were ice cold ceramic tile, and the grout was filthy. There were cobwebs in every corner. The walls had stains and holes. The outlet behind the dresser was overloaded, probably because the other outlets on that wall were dead. I don't think the bed sheets had been changed, because there was evidence of "biologicals" in both beds.

The bathroom tile floor was installed over an existing floor. Looks like a middle school shop class installed it -- definitely not professional grade. The area behind the toilet was disgusting, and the shower/tub drained slowly.

Worst lodging ever!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake George hotels

LI, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Very close to town and beach. We were in the main hotel bldg which I would recommend as the rooms are carpeted not tile and you don't hear a lot of noise from outside. Rooms were good sized, nicely decorated & beds were comfy. Staff was excellent. Manager resolved room issue when we checked in and Heather, one of the waitresses was terrific. Polynesian show was really good and a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Take the main bldg if you want carpeted room. Motel side by the pool has tiled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redshoes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

About a mile down the road from Lake George; some rooms even have a lake view. Decently priced, clean, with a nice outdoor bar/patio area where you can eat or drink. Very convenient to local attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerbrook, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

So me and my boyfriend decided to go up to lake goeorge last week we booked our hotel room 7 weeks ago and we requested a room more towards the back of the hotel over looking the parking lot we got a mini suite with kitchenette and and faced the road no so good but air conditioner worked well and two tvs In room and we we pleased with that bed is comfortable pools indoor and outdoor Re great rooms need updating I mean the curtains didn't match the sofa or the chairs , I wish we had forte a room on second floor but we were in and. Out so much didn't matter , we could walk to the beach and shops and restaurants we didn't have to pay for parking I will visit lake george again

Room Tip: Get a room on second floor with. Window that opens and u don't hear kids running up and down hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Fifty years ago my wife and I honeymooned here and had a great time. I sent my youngest daughter and her new husband there on their honeymoon last week all expenses paid in advance or so I was told. After the diner show on the first night, the restaurant manager embarrassed my daughter, in the dining room, by telling her my credit card had been declined and she would have to pay $110.00. THE JERK HAD HER IN TEARS. My wife and I were at the theater that evening so it was a couple of hours later before we received her call. It took a whopping two minutes on the phone with the manager before they magically found my information and corrected the problem. They had lied to my daughter and had never run the charges in the first place. No apology, no complementary bottle to make up for their mistake - shame on the restaurant management. We have sent many, many friends to the Tiki over the years, however, the Holiday Inn is much newer and would not EVER consider trying to bill you twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonHuther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I now understand the mixed reviews on this resort.
It is a Fabulous place overall being just up from the tourist hub! The pools, indoor and out are great. Love the outdoor pool with lots of patio seating and large enough for a larger crowd of guests. The rooms are dated but fine. If you have a 1 bedroom suite it is not a separate bedroom but just a queen bed separated from the couch by the bathroom. There is no microwave but a 2 burner cook top with good size mini fridge in the room we had.

IF you don't stay in a room on the first floor of the main hotel style building you will really enjoy this resort!
We were in #155 for 2 night and should have asked to change but were in and out at such odd hours we just did not make time to do it.
Don't stay in the odd # room. They do not have windows or patio doors that open to fresh air and they really smell mouldy!!! The whole hallway stinks. It needs a professional cleaning to remove mould.
The second floor does not smell at all. The even # rooms on first floor have patio doors that open to a little patio so they would be fine I imagine.
You can easily walk to the main beach and waterfront from hotel. You also then avoid paying parking and the huge hassle of finding a parking spot.
I would stay here again and just request room with window or door that opens to outside!!

Enjoy Lake George it is a very lovely place!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
3.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#15 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#28 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
#17 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiki Resort

Property: The Tiki Resort
Address: 2 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845 (Formerly Howard Johnson )
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tiki Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Tiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiki Hotel Lake George
Howard Johnson Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing