We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and Fireworks!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
New York City, New York
1 review
“Clean, comfortable and Fireworks!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stopped at this hotel on our way to Canada. The front desk
clerk was kind, patient and helped us figure out where to do for dinner. It was
great to have a fridge in the room for drinks and left overs. The mattress was firm and comfy. But the best part was the Thursday night fireworks!! Yes, real fireworks over the lake!! Better yet, all we had to do was walk right outside our room onto the deck to watch the show!! What an awesome bonus!! We will definitely return to this hotel on our next trip to/through Lake George.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maximus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. It's the kind of experience we are happy to make possible for our guests. Lake George has so much to offer, and we are happy to be a part of it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    55
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
95
85
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel is very clean, in a good location and on the Trolley line. Has an indoor and outdoor pool. The breakfast has a choice of two cereals, waffles you make yourself, toast, danish, coffee,tea ,juice and milk.
There is a washer and dryer available for your use. Rooms have a refrigerator and there is a community microwave.
We had a room with a shower only. The bathroom was quite small and if an individual is on the larger size, do not take this type of room as it is a tight squeeze. I feel the staff should alert you to this when you book the room.
Use the trolley because parking is expensive. Seniors are $0.50, adults $1.00 and kids are free The trolley will take you to the beach,all the area attractions including the outlets.
Had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to go back to this motel

Room Tip: If you want a larger room do not take the room with a shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your comments about your room. We do, indeed, have a variety of room sizes available. We have rooms as you described, as well as larger rooms with in-room, private jacuzzis. The next time that you stay with us be sure to share your preferences with the front desk associates. As Always, we will do our best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were traveling to Vermont via the scenic upstate NY mountains and decided to spend the night at Lake George. After being treated rudely by a B&B Proprietor who failed to follow through on our reservation we ended up at this motel. This was not part of our plan however it turned out to be a great overnight stop! The place is clean and the employees are all great! Thanks to the attentiveness of the staff and their willingness to please their guests, this lodge left us with a good memory of Lake George.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeToFly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your overnight stop here. We hope that you will tell your friends about us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here with wife and kids. First time we had stayed here and the hotel is super clean. Free continental breakfast was really good, especially the waffles. The staff and the cleanliness of the rooms and the grounds made our stay extremely enjoyable.

The pool was very clean and in good repair also and it was nice to relax in after a day in Lake George Village. Everything was in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to serve you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located walking distance from the main area of Lake George. We decided to stay because we were only staying night, but I would go back and stay a few more. The I door pool is small but it provided an additional option for the kids. The outdoor pool was nice although tou will get splashed if your sitting in the chairs next to the pool. It was clean, and the breakfast was good enough to make my three boys full. It's not fancy, but perfect for staying on a budget. Only negative is there is no iron or microwave in the room, although there is a facility to use an iron.... And a microwave near the snacks. We used both and servives without them. Overall good place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvfun0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your evaluation of our facilites. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This place was great. It was right at the edge of town, so it was really nice and quiet. The room was super comfortable. The staff was awesome. Super accommodating and helpful. The cleaners were very nice and gave you whatever you needed. We didn't participate in the continental breakfast, but I saw several people eating theirs on the many tables on the balcony and it looked really nice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here with the family the first week of July. This was not the first time we had stayed here, but it was the first in a number of years. The hotel is as clean as we remember it. Some of the long-time staff have moved on, but those on duty during our stay were very friendly and helpful. The weather could have been better, but we realize we could not hold that against the hotel or Lake George. Even with the heat, we still enjoyed some family time both in Lake George and at the pool. The kids enjoyed making their own waffles at the free continental breakfast. As we recall, this was new addition to the breakfast. Mom had to help, but by the end of our stay, the kids were doing quite well. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the Econo Lodge Lake George Downtown. We plan on returning one or two more times before the summer is over.

Room Tip: The elevator is helpful for families with lots of suitcases. Otherwise, the stairs are very conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Welcome back, Roger! Yes, there have been staff changes since your last visit. One thing that hasn't changed, however, is our commitment to quality service to all of our guests Glad to hear that our new waffle maker was a hit with your family. From what we're hearing, other guests also like the newest addition to our continental breakfast. Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#46 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#28 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#64 of 87 in Lake George
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
#10 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#27 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 439 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#23 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Lake George
Econolodge Lake George
Econo Lodge Lake George
Lake George Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing