We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I've been to Lake George several times over the years but this year we decided to change hotels and to my delight I hit upon a gem in the ruff, the room while excellent in decor was on the small side but that was the only thing that was small, the staff was cheerful and very helpful, Dorothy is a wonderful hostess. The grounds were very clean and the staff were very mindful about children swimming without adult supervision, the breakfast buffet was ample and well displayed. I will be going back soon and I'm making this my home away from home. Bob Michaud

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are pleased to know that we are your home away from home! Our front desk service team enjoy treating our guests like family. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    56
    29
    15
    11
See reviews for
96
85
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this reasonable Econo Lodge. Room kinda small ,bed very comfortable,refrig handy. Indoor pool very good (warm) and a welcome hot tub as well. Breakfast plenty ,waffles,juice cereal danish,muffins etc. Staff friendly and helpful. Short walk to most active part of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uamzme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review regarding your stay. We hope to serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff and accomodations were excellent and the management treat you better than family We have been going back for approximately 7 years and every year they call to see if we are coming same time before booking our room out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We always treat our guests like family, and do everything possible to make their stay an enjoyable one. We truly hope to see you for next June's convention!

Patricia Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I wrote a review a few years ago. I've went there once a year since and I will say I am more than pleased every time. I enjoy being there so much. Such a refresher for people. I have two jobs that stress me out 99.9 percent. I don't want to leave once I get there. Clean sheets, bathrooms, nice continental breakfast, great staff, what more could you ask for! Cindy H

Room Tip: If you go during firemans weekend, it gets quite loud. If this bothers you, you should pick a room o...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are so pleased that you keep returning to us year after year! We truly enjoy having you as our guests, and look forward to seeing you again in 2015!

Patricia Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Traveling to Lake George via a Trike & 2 motorcycles, from R.I. made for a very long day, the 4 of us wanting to find a place to get some rest. Unbeknown to us was the weekend we arrived was also the timing of the "Americade Motorcycle Rally" entailing hundreds of bikers from all
over descend on Lake George, leaving no availability at any of the surrounding hotels etc.
Silly us, leaving with assurance that there would be no issue for lodging! We finally ended up at the Econo Lodge with a cheap rate to boot! I had never stayed at this chain,so my first impressions are not for the kind hearted. The hotel looks and has the feel of days gone by, I think I have seen this hotel on the series "Criminal Minds" ! The bad guy always hides out at the sleazy hotel until a gun battle settles the score. Upon entering our room, the room smelled like too many air freshers had been used, mixed with the stale cigarette odor was the perfect mix for becoming sick. The room was extremely clean, the bathroom the same. The hotel simply cries out for a "do over" to freshen up the current drab look and feel of the rooms!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILLANDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are pleased you found your rate acceptable, and that we were able to accommodate you on short notice during Americade Week which is always a busy time in Lake George. We are equally pleased to read that you found your room and bathroom to be extemely clean. We have passed your observations on to our housekeeping staff. They will be happy to know that their efforts are appreciated. We are waiting for our new bedding and window treatments to arrive, as they will enhance the look of our rooms. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Lake George.

Patricia Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

would like to say that staying at this Econo Lodge was wonderful, people are always very curtious and professional, rooms are very clean and all the grounds are spotless pools were very clean hot tub was wonderful. All the people there make you feel just like your home they all go out of there way to make your stay very enjoyable, they all make you want to come back and stay there again. Their location is just wonderful just a short walk to all of downtown Lake George, I would recommend if your going to visit beautiful Lake George area stay at the Econo Lodge you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for you kind words, we will pass them along to our staff members who always enjoy hearing when their efforts are appreciated. We would agree that our location is one of our assets. Lake George is beautiful, and we are here to help you enjoy it!

Patricia Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We belong to Choice Hotels and Econo Lodge motels are at the bottom of my list as they have always been under par.
The Econo Lodge in Lake George is a BIG exception to the rule!
We were there on business as vendors at "Americade". I made reservations through Saturday rather than Sunday!! YIKES. Even though they were full up some how they managed to get us that extra day!!
The grounds are kept clean the whole place looks NEW (it is not new) and The people that work there have to get 10 plus points for their effort the whole time we were there!

Richard & Kathy
RKA

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words, as we always strive to do our best! We are so glad that you enjoyed our property, and we look forward to seeing you again next year for Americade!!

Patricia Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#46 of 88 in Lake George
267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#15 of 88 in Lake George
521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#12 of 88 in Lake George
398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#27 of 88 in Lake George
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#32 of 88 in Lake George
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 439 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#23 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Lake George
Econolodge Lake George
Econo Lodge Lake George
Lake George Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing