We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We checked into the Econo Lodge in Lake George and the staff was not very friendly , acted like we were an annoyance by just checking in. When walking to our room, there was garbage all over the deck. The night was ok for sleeping, rooms were semi-quiet. As i dried my hair after my shower i noticed that there were several brown spots on the towel and when i looked at another towel it had black spots on it !! these towels were brought to the attention of the front desk and they acted like this is a common experience. Very disappointed with the stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank judyclodgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. The condition that you described does not meet our standards. We have shared your review with the appropriate staff members, and your concerns have been addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location, near all the shops and restaurants in the Village. Price was right. Had a nice day trip in Lake George and came back to a nice clean room for the night. Staff was friendly and breakfast hit the spot as we checked out the following morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our convenient location to downtown Lake George. We hope to serve you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The staff was very pleasant, the rooms were adequate, wish there were microwaves in room, but, they have one in other part of hotel. Everything clean in rooms. The gazebo could have used cleaning, but, pool was nice and clean, towels available. Enjoyed being able to sit outside the room , also had table and chairs for eating outside some rooms. Was able to walk back and forth to village. My only complaint is there wasnt much food in the breakfast room. I told the housekeeper and before that my friend told the front office person. But, it was too late for me, so hopefully the other people got some food. I would definitely stay there again. We even saw a beautiful rainbow across the road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed our pools and sitting on our verandas. The appropriate staff has been notified to ensure that the gazebo is kept clean. Also, we will ensure that there will be adequate breakfast food on your next visit. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I've been to Lake George several times over the years but this year we decided to change hotels and to my delight I hit upon a gem in the ruff, the room while excellent in decor was on the small side but that was the only thing that was small, the staff was cheerful and very helpful, Dorothy is a wonderful hostess. The grounds were very clean and the staff were very mindful about children swimming without adult supervision, the breakfast buffet was ample and well displayed. I will be going back soon and I'm making this my home away from home. Bob Michaud

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We are pleased to know that we are your home away from home! Our front desk service team enjoy treating our guests like family. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this reasonable Econo Lodge. Room kinda small ,bed very comfortable,refrig handy. Indoor pool very good (warm) and a welcome hot tub as well. Breakfast plenty ,waffles,juice cereal danish,muffins etc. Staff friendly and helpful. Short walk to most active part of town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uamzme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your nice review regarding your stay. We hope to serve you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff and accomodations were excellent and the management treat you better than family We have been going back for approximately 7 years and every year they call to see if we are coming same time before booking our room out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words! We always treat our guests like family, and do everything possible to make their stay an enjoyable one. We truly hope to see you for next June's convention!

Patricia Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I wrote a review a few years ago. I've went there once a year since and I will say I am more than pleased every time. I enjoy being there so much. Such a refresher for people. I have two jobs that stress me out 99.9 percent. I don't want to leave once I get there. Clean sheets, bathrooms, nice continental breakfast, great staff, what more could you ask for! Cindy H

Room Tip: If you go during firemans weekend, it gets quite loud. If this bothers you, you should pick a room o...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoLodgeDowntown, General Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are so pleased that you keep returning to us year after year! We truly enjoy having you as our guests, and look forward to seeing you again in 2015!

Patricia Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#51 of 89 in Lake George
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#24 of 89 in Lake George
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
#15 of 89 in Lake George
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#42 of 89 in Lake George
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 439 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#19 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: £52 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Lake George
Econolodge Lake George
Econo Lodge Lake George
Lake George Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing