We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good As Ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Just got back from the Car Show in Lake George. My wife and I stayed at the Econo Lodge Downtown. It had been a while and after some of the reviews on here, we weren't sure what we would find. We are happy to report that the Econo Lodge Downtown is every bit as good as we remember it. Clean rooms, courteous staff, and an ideal location...what more could a traveler need? Bottom line is if you are looking for an ideal place to stay while you are out and about on vacation in Lake George, then you owe it to yourself to check out the Econo Lodge Downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2009

I just returned from vacation and want to share with you my experience at the Econo Lodge Lake George Downtown Hotel. This hotel is a jewel of the Adirondacks. Our room was clean, the employees were courteous, and the location was close to all the major attractions. For those who preferred not to walk, the trolley stopped right at the entrance to the hotel parking lot. Patty and Dottie were very helpful, even making our reservations at George's Restaurant...a must for early-bird diners. Thanks, ladies! Thanks, also, to Bonnie for being so friendly and keeping our room so clean. We look forward to seeing everyone again during our next visit to the Econo Lodge Lake George Downtown Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybug26Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

FIrst of all the managers (Moore family) were extremely rude and unaccommodating. The rooms were old-fashioned, dark and depressing, although clean. They offer very little amenities, and DO NOT have a 24 hour front desk as advertised. The breakfast was more like jail food - bread, water, juice and coffee - in a room as big as a closet with no tables. This place is perfect if you are a trucker looking for a night's rest, but not a place to stay while on vacation....it was certainly not worth the hefty price ($170 per night). Please do yourself a favor and do not stay here. ...there are many lovely hotels/motels in Lake George. When the manager insisted we pay in full upon check-in, I knew something was wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

From the time we checked to the time we left 5 days later, it was a wonderful place. The staff was very caring and helpful. We asked where some good places to eat were and they told us a few and they were good places. The rooms were clean and service was no problem. We did have a small priblem with our TV and called the desk and with 15 minutes someone was there checked it out and put in a new TV. This was our 3 or 4th trip to Lake George and I will be assured go back and stay at the Econo Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LakeFun29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The only things positive were its cleansiness and that is was close to the main strip but far enough so that you could burn off your dinner calories. 2nd fl rooms NOT bigger with a bigger balcony. No closets. I almost banged my head against the clothes and hangers protruding from the wall near the bathroom. Refrigerator on top of dresser. Bad setup. Not enough room. Manager had attitude when I asked how to turn the fridge on.Didn't tell us stairs were right outside room window so that we could see everyone going up and down. When my sister asked her to tell the people who were talking loudly right outside her room she didn't care and said she told us the balconies were shared. She DID NOT. Breakfast was skimpy and unappealing. Tiny room - no where to sit. Had to eat it out every day. Defeated purpose.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Spent a glorious time with my 19 year old college student Granddaugher at this prime location -the Econo Lodge at Exit 22 from the Northway - on Canada Street - a far cry from bare-bones Econo rooms of years ago. We loved the colorful flowers/hanging baskets along the balcony, where we had a narrow view of the lake - could see the para-sail balloons gliding along ,,, Cleanliness is absolutely their virtue - all was in perfect order for our arrival.
Used the outdoor pool and later in the day, the indoor pool and hot tub. Wonderful; enjoyed the continental breakfast ... nicely presened - and free.
Unit had all the amenities needed and more: Table and chairs, fridge, comfortable beds, pillows and linens, guest laundry (self service). Could not ask for more - and the price was right.
This Econo Lodge was a plus, plus when compared with the competition. A Trolley-Bus was available to stop and go throughout the area - right outside the lodge. We saw a free Elvis Tribute in the Park - an unexpected treat; cruised the Lake on the Minne-Ha-Ha with its calliope music, and had considered playing pool near the indoor pool and hot tub. More swimming won out. Nice to have the choice.
Parking was easy. Ice and vending machines were handy. Enjoyed the flat screen TV with all its channels. Staff was most helpful.
Took lots of memorable pictures - not digital so - sadly - can't be shared here.
Yes, we will return.
Marge Mignone
Saugerties, NY - a 2 hour drive ...

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

On our first trip to Lake George, my girlfriend and I had no plans of spending the night, and therefore no reservations booked (and in this cozy little tourist trap, that often spells trouble). After driving three hours from our home in Vermont, which included a few adventures on the way, we arrived and were eager to get a roof over our heads. The first place I spotted was the Econo Lodge, but almost instantly the word "Econo" left a bad taste in my mouth. Econo means cheap, right? I mean there's no way a place with econo in the name could ever be good?

We kept looking, traveling down Canada Street in search of other establishments. There were some possibilities, but ultimately realizing that "econo" was a far better hotel name than "Flamingo" (and you can forget about those sleazy joints with the big windows). We went back to the Econo Lodge, walked inside, and were greeted by a group of friendly folks. They said there were two rooms available that Friday night, and one had a jacuzzi. How could we say no?

The room was on the third floor and I'll admit, the view out the window was not what I'd call breathtaking. Actually it was the side of a hill, making it look like we were in a bunker. And yet, we loved it. The room was large, clean, and had everything we could have hoped for. And then we found the jacuzzi they mentioned. This thing was huge, as was the whole bathroom that had a shower in the corner; we were in our own hidden paradise.

We settled down, checked out the TV, and got ourselves comfortable--but not too comfortable, there were still plenty of sights to be seen in Lake George. We wandered the town and had lots of fun along the way, and the whole time we were no more than ten minutes from our room. Everything was in walking distance, and that meant we could live it up without having to worry about the drive back.

That night we snuggled up, shared a jacuzzi or two, and enjoyed some tasty beverages. Lake George was just the vacation we were looking for, and the Econo Lodge proved to be a diamond in the rough. Who knew something with the word econo in the name could be worth every penny?

Oh, I'd love to tell you the number of our room...but I wouldn't want it occupied when we decide to return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rane29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#51 of 89 in Lake George
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#24 of 89 in Lake George
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
#14 of 89 in Lake George
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#42 of 89 in Lake George
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 439 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#23 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: £60 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Lake George
Econolodge Lake George
Econo Lodge Lake George
Lake George Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing