We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B, Great Host, Out of the Way”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Huntington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunshine Cottage and Pottery Bed and Breakfast
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, Great Host, Out of the Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Sunshine Cottage is a lovely B&B and Barbara is a great host. The Parlor Suite is a very nice room with its own dressing room. The public rooms are beautiful and have an old house charm (the floors are not quite level). The breakfast was pancakes, bacon, lots of coffee. Barbara also has her pottery on display in her studio and we bought two bowls. The only drawback is you need to want to be in the area. There is not a lot in the immediate vicinity although there are many attractions in the broader Catskills area.

As you drive in, do not be put off be the local roads - Stoney Road gets its name for a reason. The B&B is somewhat in the country.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceshorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We really enjoyed our time at the Sunshine Cottage. It was just what we were looking for ... a quiet and relaxed paced location to rest as an alternative to the busy noisy resort areas. Barbara, our hostess, has a wonderful way of making you feel at home immediately. Our room (country suite) was clean and ready upon our arrival. Everything was in working order. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely scrumptious and filling. The conversation was always flowing. We appreciated the quiet areas in the house...enclosed patio included. We had family staying at a nearby resort so this B&B served as the perfect alternative. We are definitely planning to go back and would recommend it to friends and family. The only thing I would've changed is the queen size bed for a king size bed; however, that is just a personal preference. We were fine on the queen size bed especially since the mattress was so comfortable.

PS: don't be shy... Barbara has a wealth of knowledge to share...restaurants etc

Room Tip: room choice is really based on need and preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfspiritgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We love Sunshine Cottage. My husband and I have stayed there two years in a row when we went to Bethel Woods. The accomodations are great and we always feel right at home there. Barbara is a wonderful host and we look forward to visiting again this summer. Don't forget to check out Barbara's pottery that she has available.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishmomAlbany_N_Y_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Grove, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

This beautiful restored farm house was the perfect place for our 3 sister trip to the country. Barbara, was a warm and friendly host who made us feel at home. Clean, charming, lots of antique furnishings and wonderful breakfast.
Barbara's people skills from her flight attendant years of experience were apparent and we enjoyed her sharing with us. Weather was a stormy night and we settled in the little home and played games at the kitchen table. The next morning the countryside and property was beautiful,peaceful and serene.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2006

The Sunshine Cottage is lovely - very quiet, clean, and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay there. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and our host, Barbara, was wonderful. Go to the Sunshine Cottage for rest and relaxation and enjoy a peaceful vacation in the Catskill mountains. We'd give it six stars if we could!!

Helpful?
2 Thank crankinmontclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Huntington
15.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monticello
BEST WESTERN Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
21.5 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
2.7 mi away
Fosterdale Motor Lodge
Fosterdale Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Cochecton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Inn at Lake Joseph
Inn at Lake Joseph
#1 of 2 in Forestburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
12.9 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Cottage and Pottery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Cottage and Pottery Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunshine Cottage and Pottery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 109 Stony Rd, Lake Huntington, NY 12752-5103
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Lake Huntington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing