We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape in Bahar Dar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was my last stop on a trip through Ethiopia, and it was a great way to cap off the experience. The room was beautiful - a large double bed, huge terrace with an outdoor bed, and the best shower that I had my entire trip! The bed/breakfast package includes a free 45 minute Swedish massage and free 30 minute foot massage per room per night. The other spa amenities were great as well!

My only complaint was the lack of wifi throughout the grounds - for such a nice place, I expected to have more internet access than just by the reception area. However, all in all a great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank samantha339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

It is about 3 times as expensive as the standard, nice-enough options - but it is worth it if you want to splurge a bit. Rooms were large, had good views generally and most had nice terraces as well. Service was great, and the food was excellent with some variety to it. Spa is great and super reasonable.

The pool is large, beautiful and not overly chlorinated, though it could do with additional lounges. No fridge in the room was also a surprise. Black out curtains would be welcome, as would better door locks (as it is there is just a padlock to use on the sliding bolt - sort of an odd compromise considering the level of detail they put into the plan, the hand-carved furniture etc).

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are much better for privacy and views, as well as the outdoor fireplaces they have...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our last stop on our tour though out northern Ethiopia and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. Perfect location on the shores of the lake, the rooms where full of charm and the staff were extremely attentive. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were fantastic and the hotels spa was a welcome treat. The pool area however would welcome a little more attention, cleanliness was a little lacking, was also disappointed with the tour of the monasteries, compared to other sites in Ethiopia, they are pretty lame and a lot of hassle, although it was nice to be out on the lake and we did get to see hippos. One final negative point was nearby noise in the early hours from a mosque and church; bring ear plugs!

Room Tip: as close to the lake as possible
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UAE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Limited hot water, inconvenient building works at reception and poor lake view from room 104 added to the conclusion that at $US165 for single occupancy, this was very overpriced for non-Addis Ababa hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamFoxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here April 2014 and even though I had read reviews and thought I had a good idea of the place, it was really much nicer than I expected. Its pricy for Ethiopia but you truly get what you pay for. The service was professional and the food was excellent. We always try to engage the staff and these folks were great. The setting on Lake Tana was incredible and there are no other hotels in Bahir Dar in its league. We both enjoyed the Kuriftu and the town of Bahir Dar which is quite attractive with tree lined streets and many flowers. In summation a great place that we will return to.

Room Tip: Pay whatever it is for a lake view room, its worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I did not stay at the hotel but had a massage and pedicure at the Spa. I would highly reccommend both. The prices are extremely reasonable and the women who work at the spa are professional and very friendly. All in all a brest experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We thought this resort was rather expensive, but in the end felt that we had found value for money. The hotel is beautifully finished with large, comfortable rooms and the bathrooms have everything you could want. Our only suggestions is that they replace the curtains in the room as they are so narrow that they barely cover the sliding doors - they need better curtains. The pool area is lovely and the restaurant serves good (expensive) food. They also arranged a guide for the trips we wanted to do and they were very good. The massage at the spa was included in the price and was thoroughly enjoyed. Would certainly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room downstairs as there is a nightclub / party place on one side which plays loud m...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTownian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bahar Dar hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
#5 of 16 in Bahar Dar
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
#1 of 16 in Bahar Dar
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tana Hotel
Tana Hotel
#12 of 16 in Bahar Dar
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Addis Amba Hotel
Addis Amba Hotel
#11 of 16 in Bahar Dar
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Pension
Royal Pension
#9 of 16 in Bahar Dar
2 reviews
1.4 mi away
BenMas Hotel
BenMas Hotel
#8 of 16 in Bahar Dar
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar

Address: lake tana avenue/ Fasilo, Bahar Dar, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Bahar Dar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Price Range: £112 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort offers high-end luxury in an Ethiopian paradise setting. Breathtaking landscapes encompass the resort as guests enjoy our outdoor pool and sunbathing terrace that overlooks the natural wonder of Lake Tana. After taking in the natural beauty of the wildlife and countryside, our organic spa and gourmet restaurants are the perfect places to relax as you prepare to continue your getaway experience. With achingly perfect panoramas, Kuriftu is where luxury reaches its pinnacle and service is simultaneously warm, genuine and sensational. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuriftu Hotel Bahar Dar
Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar Ethiopia/Bahar Dar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing