We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was goo..”
Review of Papyrus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papyrus Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Was goo..”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Hotel was good at all time. I stayed there with my wife 2 nights and i enjoy it really. Hotel stuff are so good and helpfull all the time. For price of 30$ per night I had also breakfast and I use pool too..It's near Tana Lake - around 5 minutes with small taxi called by Bajaj. I recomend this hotel..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RimSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
2
7
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The hotel was alright, although it is a bit old. It has a pool and good coffee. The stuff is friendly. However, take some mosquito killer with you (at least one bottle) because your room will be full of mosquito. Luckily one can buy bug spray in the shop close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuchur33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A large hotel with a 'resort' look to it.

The rooms are a little on the small side and could do with a bit of tarting up however it was clean, quiet and had plenty of hot water.

Despite the hustle & bustle on the busy road outside the hotel is surprisingly quiet. The bar area gets a little lively but the restaurant was very quiet. That said the food was tasty, with a good selection and the beer was nice and cold!

The much advertised 'olympic sized swimming pool' was being clean during my visit so I couldn't try it out however once complete it will certainly be an attraction.

Bring mosquito coils & repelent with you, the place is swarming with them - you have been warned!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We reached Bahir Dar after dark and were a little concerned to see the hotel in a busy street next to a couple of shops and the OiLibya petrol station. However, once inside and past reception, the hotel was a bit of an oasis, with rooms around three sides of a pool and the restaurants and public building on the road side. Our room was a decent size, overlooking the full swimming pool and quiet. And everything worked, quite a feat for an Ethiopian hotel, although a group of noisy wedding guests in the bedroom corridors did disturb us mightily. The food was perfectly acceptable, good peppered steak and grilled fish, and roast chicken on the second evening. The small garden by the traditional restaurant was a pleasant distraction, with a number of bird species. Overall, quite a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I have stayed in Papyrus hotel in November 2011, and my room was more than average, despite the fact that the hotel was empty. Basically, the hotel is functionnal but nothing has changed for a long time. Therefore the style and condition of everything is out of date. No water pressure, swimming pool empty, no lights outside, and the restaurant is crappy. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garpison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Close to the main market, the Papyrus has about 100 rooms. The single rooms are very small – it's worth considering paying a bit more for king size, especially if you're here to work. November 2011: Rooms 530-830 Birr. The hotel has a swimming pool and loungers, but the pool was being cleaned when I visited, and there was not much evidence of use. All rooms have balconies - decide whether you want to look out on the main street or over the pool. There is no in-room internet, but it has a business centre, and there are plans to get Wi-Fi network set up ‘soon’.

Contact: Papy@ethionet.et or info@papyrushotelethiopia.com, phone 058 220 5100
Website: http://papyrushotelethiopia.com/bahirdar.html

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filthyfetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Bahar Dar is decidedly different that Addis Ababa and its choices of hotels is very limited. Traveling with a local partner, he selected the Papyrus as the place to stay and host a meeting with potential government customers. I agreed, but upon arrival i was taken aback. The Papyrus Hotel is what I would characterize as a hotel catering to local people, with only a few Western tourists. Walking into the lobby, one finds a dated and sadly in need of refurbishing waiting area. Walking out from the lobby toward my room, i passed the pool, which was anything but clear and likely unchlorinated.

Climbing to the 3rd floor i walked down a dark hall holding my key that was attached to a fob the size of a medium-sized flashlight and weighing about 1/4 pound. When i opened the door I found my room and was reminded of my time years ago in Manila. if you saw "Apocolypse Now", recall the scene where Martin Sheen goes through a drug and liquor stupor waking up in a steamy room with a ceiling fan quietly turning. That was my room, san steamy condition.

The bathroom was typical of the local hotels in Ethiopia. Stall shower with a small, intermittent stream of warm water, bare bulb over the sink, and no drain on the floor to capture water from the shower. TV? Yes, 12" with cable and 3 channels.

I hosted a seminar in one of the meeting rooms. The hotel had packed us into a small room large enough to accommodate a group of 6. We have 15. Needless to say, without AC and only having a little airflow though the small window, I was quick to complete the presentation.

The restaurant is surprisingly good. The breakfast and dinner menus are fine, very inexpensive, and the place was very clean. That was pleasant.

Overall, having traveled for business in north Africa, i wasn't suprised by the place. Given the local options nearby, the Papyrus Hotel is suitable for a quick in and out trip. There are other places, I found out later, but I will have to see them on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLT310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bahar Dar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bahar Dar hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
#5 of 16 in Bahar Dar
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
#2 of 16 in Bahar Dar
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
BenMas Hotel
BenMas Hotel
#8 of 16 in Bahar Dar
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Addis Amba Hotel
Addis Amba Hotel
#11 of 16 in Bahar Dar
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vistana Hotel
Vistana Hotel
#7 of 16 in Bahar Dar
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakemark Hotel
Lakemark Hotel
#6 of 16 in Bahar Dar
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papyrus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papyrus Hotel

Property: Papyrus Hotel
Address: Kebele 17, Bahar Dar, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Bahar Dar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BenMas hotel is a four star hotel located in Bahir Dar, one of the leading tourist destinations of Ethiopia. The hotel is designed to meet the contemporary customers' expectations with regard to the interior and exterior designs. This added with the furnishing of the hotel with the best available furniture and equipments, has enabled the hotel to be one of the very few frontliner four star hotels in the city that are dedicated to provide exceptional customer service and give priority to delight their customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Papyrus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papyrus Hotel Ethiopia/Bahar Dar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing