We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place in Bahir Dar”
Review of Papyrus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papyrus Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent place in Bahir Dar”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days in December. It's nothing special, a bit worn down, but given the alternatives in town, it's a good value for your money. Rooms are clean and it's nice downtown, but the atmosphere doesn't get you excited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_R_I_P785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
2
7
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Staff pleasant enough, but production of hard copy email required to prevent the payment of enhanced rates on arrival - make sure you can prove any agreement made via the internet.
Room clean with everything working reasonably. Lots of mosquitoes inside though; had to ask three times for a bed net.
Lots of noise night and morning. This may not be typical though, as a large group of young people were in residence.
Poolside restaurant pleasant and serves undemanding food of a good standard.
Restaurant serving local specialties gloomier and less inviting. Breakfast buffet served there adequate, but later diners be aware that food not kept hot.
Particularly nice coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looksee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Ive stayed at this hotel on two occasions, and yes, it is quite basic, and certainly in need of updating, I would not advise using the pool, it is not chlorinated.
The rooms are functional but relatively clean. Had problem on both stays re cockroach,, however hotel staff were quick to respond and remedy, some sort of gas bomb!, but very effective! (Obviously you need to be out of the room for a few hours)
Electricity was intermittent, and back up generators did not always kick in, but again, this really wasnt a big deal as it ususally occurred late at night.
Positives, to many to list but here are a few; The food breakfast and dinner etc was very good.
Staff were wonderfull and could not be more helpfull.
The atmosphere was fantastic, the location of the hotel, added to the experience and opportunity to engage with the local community. Reasonable rates, which again, reflect the facilities.
One has to remember, were you are and adjust your expectations accordingly, if you can do this you will have a great time here.
I will be re booking for my next trip to Ethiopia in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YOU-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraopeba, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

After 3 days staying on this hotel becouse of my businness I got stolen laptop and camera from my locked room, staff was very unheplfull with my problem and I have also suspicion that they also contribute on theft. I had to stay for 3 months there, and everything about a police reports I had to manage myself. Price of stolen things was about 2300USD and all what I coud get from them as a compensation was 15percent discount for a room rate, and In the end they tried to cheat me again and count 1 day staying more.
Breakfast and food in restaurant anyway is horrible, I better go for food to other hotel. Room was dirty and old. Internet was NOT working all the time, even when they say Its broken shortly and they are just fixing it.
Only what is good is a swimming pool there, but only in winter months, In rainy season is out of order.
Rest of time I stayed on Homland hotel which is more far from centre, but excellent, new, clean, cheaper price and pleasant and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinbace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bahar Dar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Hotel was good at all time. I stayed there with my wife 2 nights and i enjoy it really. Hotel stuff are so good and helpfull all the time. For price of 30$ per night I had also breakfast and I use pool too..It's near Tana Lake - around 5 minutes with small taxi called by Bajaj. I recomend this hotel..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RimSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The hotel was alright, although it is a bit old. It has a pool and good coffee. The stuff is friendly. However, take some mosquito killer with you (at least one bottle) because your room will be full of mosquito. Luckily one can buy bug spray in the shop close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuchur33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A large hotel with a 'resort' look to it.

The rooms are a little on the small side and could do with a bit of tarting up however it was clean, quiet and had plenty of hot water.

Despite the hustle & bustle on the busy road outside the hotel is surprisingly quiet. The bar area gets a little lively but the restaurant was very quiet. That said the food was tasty, with a good selection and the beer was nice and cold!

The much advertised 'olympic sized swimming pool' was being clean during my visit so I couldn't try it out however once complete it will certainly be an attraction.

Bring mosquito coils & repelent with you, the place is swarming with them - you have been warned!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bahar Dar hotels
0.0 mi away
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
#2 of 16 in Bahar Dar
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
#5 of 16 in Bahar Dar
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rahnile Hotel
Rahnile Hotel
#4 of 16 in Bahar Dar
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BenMas Hotel
BenMas Hotel
#8 of 16 in Bahar Dar
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakemark Hotel
Lakemark Hotel
#6 of 16 in Bahar Dar
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vistana Hotel
Vistana Hotel
#7 of 16 in Bahar Dar
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papyrus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papyrus Hotel

Property: Papyrus Hotel
Address: Kebele 17, Bahar Dar, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Bahar Dar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BenMas hotel is a four star hotel located in Bahir Dar, one of the leading tourist destinations of Ethiopia. The hotel is designed to meet the contemporary customers' expectations with regard to the interior and exterior designs. This added with the furnishing of the hotel with the best available furniture and equipments, has enabled the hotel to be one of the very few frontliner four star hotels in the city that are dedicated to provide exceptional customer service and give priority to delight their customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Papyrus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papyrus Hotel Ethiopia/Bahar Dar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing