We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tukul Village: best bed and hospitality in town with a view of all 3 church sections”
Review of Tukul Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tukul Village
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lalibela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Tukul Village did not disappoint in any area. You will be greeted by the charming Mel at the front desk and then be lead to the most beautiful flower covered staircase to your room. I suggest you ask for a second floor room. We had room 19 and the view was amazing. The sites of the churches can be seen from your balcony. Everyone is helpful and friendly. The bathroom is huge! It was a treat to stay at this village. Don't miss out.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glister11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

The accommodation at Tukul Village is fantastic. The rooms are spacious, everything seems new and if you're on the top level, you have a view of the area which is well worth it.

On the top level, you have a nice balcony and there are floor-to-ceiling windows allowing you to take in the nice view from the bed.

The wifi works fine, though the signal wasn't terribly strong; however, it was good enough for doing basic tasks on the Internet.

The bathroom was sparkling clean and in good working order.

I ate all my meals at the restaurant. The breakfasts were included and the food was tasty. The other meals I had were fine as well.

They will line up guides and tours for you here if you wish (I didn't use them) as there are other things to see in the area besides the rock-cut churches.

The rock-cut churches are about 1 km away, but if you enjoy walking, it's a nice little traipse through the area which commands some nice viewpoints.

It was quiet at Tukul Village, which I enjoy which made it easy to sleep at night (in addition to the elevation).

This would be my first choice again if I were to return to Lalibela in the future.

Finally, there is good value for the money here! I believe it had the lowest price of any place I stayed in Ethiopia, but I enjoyed this accommodation the most.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrldtrvlr_4_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I agree with the other reviewers. I really enjoyed my stay here and found it to be a well-run hotel with pleasant surroundings. The hotel even arranged for the glasses that I left in the room to be sent back to me.

Room Tip: Requesting a room on the upper floor may give you better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carsonlegarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Your tukul is definitely in another league from the locals but nicely and thoughtfully done. It's smaller size makes it nicer than the neighboring Lal Hotel. The food was only average and a bit on the costly side. The service was above average. Internet access was only adjacent to the lobby. After seeing its competition, it remains the place I would stay in Lalibela.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank billabbottmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Rooms of this hotel are decorated with ethnic motifs which creates a nice and cozy ambiance. Honest restaurant. Wonderful surroundings : the incredible Lalibela's rock-hen churches, one of the most incredible and marvelous things I've ever seen around the world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nivaldo303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Myself and two friends stayed at the Tukul Village Hotel on May 20-23, 2014. Our rooms were spotless and comfortable with a very modern fully equipped bathroom with plenty of hot water (water heater in every room). Also, the hotel is situated in a quieter, "better" part of the village. Although the hotel is about 10 years old, it doesn't show its age as we all thought the place was no more than 2-5 years old; this is quite an accomplishment as hotels usually do not age very well in third world countries.
Management and all employees were very friendly and useful in dealing with our questions and requests and the restaurant on the premises was good enough albeit with a somewhat limited menu.
Finally, if you want to relax and get a good massage in your own room, ask the manager to call Lalibela Massage (ask for Lasta or her sister Fikerta); they are very good and professional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Tukul Village is a perfectly adequate hotel, especially for a city as remote as Lalibela, Ethiopia. The rooms are nice little tukuls (huts) with stairs and en-suite bathrooms. They have little balconies which are perfect to relax on. The hotel is only about a 10 minute walk to the stone churches of Lalibela (a UNESCO world heritage site and the main reason for visiting the town) so it's location is pretty great. There is a nice little restaurant with outside seating and a television playing European soccer or rugby matches and WiFi as well. The internet is a bit spotty, but it always is in Ethiopia.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
1.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lalibela
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
#5 of 10 in Lalibela
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maribela Hotel
Maribela Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 11 in Lalibela
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
0.9 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tukul Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tukul Village

Address: Main Road, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lalibela
Price Range: £47 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Tukul Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tukul Village Lalibela
Tukul Village Hotel Lalibela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing