We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat from the heat!”

Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Lalibela
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
CT
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat from the heat!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our group of five stopped here for lunch between church viewings. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the tables under trees outside offered a cool respite from the heat of the day. Although I did not eat my tuna sandwich because it just looked very unappetizing, everyone else enjoyed their meals thoroughly. A great choice!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    201
    67
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Staff Lots of Food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I dined here one evening for dinner and ordered a chicken dish that was huge! So much food. The dining staff was friendly and noticed that my chair was a little low and they switched it out for another. The artwork around the restaurant was interesting.

The restaurant is in the center of town so it is convenient to many places. It is a little pricey if you are on a budget but the food was tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best in town, but don't get your hopes up too high.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you've been trekking around the churches of Lalibela thi is a good place to stop for lunch. you can sit outside with a good view over the town and enjoy a slightly wider than the norm range of dishes. The crispy injera makes a pleasant change is you are tiring of the sourer and more soggy kind. The pots of lamb wot (stew) can be tasty, but the cuts of meat are a bit of a gamble. Prices are reasonable and the service helpful and friendly

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank abayamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Davis, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Plentiful Ethiopian Food”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I ate lunch here and was served enough for at least four people. Sorry I can't recall the name of the dish but it had two kinds of Ethiopian 'bread', injera and (I think) kita. Anyway the second was like a slightly harder and whiter injera.
Ethiopian food may be a little spicy for some bland Western palates.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant experience in Ethiopia”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have had a very bad experience in Seven Olives where we went for lunch. The food itself was mediocre. The worst though was a rather ugly bug which we found in our soup. Also our bill was inflated by the most expensive item on the menu which we never ordered. The soup was removed from our bill and the extra dish eventually was also removed although it took us some time since the waiter argued that our guide had this dish (by that time our guide had left the restaurant to arrange other things). The fresh pineapple which we ordered turned out to be canned. The waiter when questioned about it told us that it was freshly canned. Needless to say we had to pay for the freshly canned pineapple, which we did not eat. Seven Olives was the worst restaurant experience in Ethiopia.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Lalibela, Amhara Region
Lalibela, Amhara Region
 

Been to Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing