We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in beautiful setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lalibela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lalibela
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The hotel certainly has the view from the top of the mountains! Rooms were comfortable with balconies. Dining room was spacious and meals were good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. One room had a malfunctioning shower and our friends were moved easily to another room.

Lalibela town is poor and its streets are rough; the hotel was a welcome sight as we drove in after a 10 hour drive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbgoodhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2009

We visited Lalibela for two nights having visited Awassa and Addis Ababa. The hotel was recommended by a local guide. It is situated at the edge of the plateau on which the old village is based. The views west at sunset and sunrise are outstanding. The hotel is a 10 min walk from the centre of the town and 15 min from the Churches. It is clean and friendly. The rates are reasonable. The food was very good - the rastafarian chef was great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsjd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

I live in Stockholm and the first time I was in Lalibela with my wife and three children, the hotel was under construction. This year i January I had the possibility to stay four lovely nights in this hotel. And the whole thing was beyond my imagination. The two young owners and founders Mr. Metasebia and Mr. Getachew have done a good job and what a great contribution to the community regarding employment opportunity to young people in Lalibela. I will go again next year in January and all I need is books and an ipod with with a lot of Keith Jarrett to enjoy sitting in my balcony. Here is the new address to the new website: www.mountainview-hotel.com

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Negede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Mountain view was booked so I stayed one night at the Jerusalem Hotel which was fine but Mountainview is simply spectacular! No barking dogs and rooster crowing to keep you up at night. Georgeous views. Excellent service. On one of the 2 days - there was no power or water for several hours during the day but this was for the whole town and the hotel did manage to have water in the evening and power so we were not at all inconvenienced. One minor point - we had laundry service done and the clothes returned were not well cleaned. Overall though, the staff were quite helpful and the restaurant had good meals - esp the fresh juice in the AM (safe to drink- made with bottled water) and BBQ beef skewers that were the best meal I had in my 6 weeks in Ethiopia.
One do

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Four friends and I loved this hotel! The facilities are new, modern and spotless. The service was good and the food was enjoyable. However, the best feature of this amazing new hotel is the view. The designers have capitalized on its location at the top of a hill with large windows and all kinds of patio and balcony space looking out into the valley below. One of the employees said, "Keep watching. The view changes with the time of day." He was right. Sitting on the patio watching the setting sun was as delightful as enjoying the sunrise from the dining room. We all agreed that we would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YXEinWAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

A new hotel with unbeatable scenic views from every room. Comfortable rooms each with its own veranda. Lovely dining room serving delicious food. The staff was exceedingly helpful and friendly. Maybe a little more expensive than the average but breakfast was included. Worthwhile.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank beezwacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

two days before arriving to Laibela we were told by another couple that we should check out this new hotel in Lalibela that had just opened up and has by far the best location of the hotels in Laibela.

What can I say other than we felt extremely happy when we got to the hotel, we met the owner immediately and he gave us a quick tour.

The most impressive part was the private balcony in the room, we spent our evenings gazing at the breathtaking views of the mountains!.

The rooms are spotless and you have endless hot water!

The dining area is also beautiful done and they have a Jamaican chef that cooked us fabulous meals.

The price was also right 50$ USD for what luxury you get there it is worth it!.

We had our breakfast every morning on the large terrace that overlooks the mountains...quite the sight!.

We also saw where they are starting to build an outdoor pool, which I am sure is going to add the exact thing that will complete this place! A spot to cool off after full day of roaming around the ancient Lalibela churches.
We will for sure go back! we could have stayed a full week easily there!

please check out the website
http://www.mountainsviewhotel.com/

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNTgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.8 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#2 of 10 in Lalibela
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lalibela
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
#5 of 10 in Lalibela
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seven Olives Hotel
Seven Olives Hotel
#8 of 10 in Lalibela
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
1.1 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 12 in Lalibela
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Hotel

Address: North Wollo, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lalibela
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing