We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Ethiopia”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lalibela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Ethiopia”
Reviewed 22 December 2009

This is one of the best hotels I've visited in Ethiopia - far better than what is available in most towns outside Addis. Details are catalogued thoroughly in older reviews: spectacular views from every room, unique modern architecture, great food, etc. Two additional notes: 1) I had no trouble booking a room via email. 2) Hotel has complimentary airport transfer - don't make the mistake I did and ask your tour company to provide it (for additional cost).

This is such a nice hotel, it's worth adding a day to your stay in Lalibela just to enjoy the views, nice food, and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    155
    71
    19
    7
See reviews for
47
121
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Stayed on 29 and 30 Nov 2009.
Briefly;

Location - Great. Fantastic view. View of winding road to Axum from room.
Room - Great. All rooms are with Balcony and it is clean. Only complaint is the smell of the cleaning detergent.
Food - Great. The chef personally attend to our meals selection.
Security - felt very safe even though there is no metal grill on the windows/balcony door
Shower - Hot water by individual water heater. However water pressure is low.

Building Design - Futuristic. The front yard needs some upgrading work. put more plants and flowers etc.



.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yiyehhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

This hotel was booked for me by a reliable travel agency in Addis. The reservation was confirmed and they received a voucher. However, when we arrived we were told they had no record of the booking. Curiously the entire place had been reserved by a large tour group. After talking to the owner it became clear to me that they had cancelled my booking in order to get the group to reserve. If you make plan to stay here I recommend you double, triple, quadruple reconfirm before being left out in the cold!

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jetset-Jenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

The hotel is at the edge of Lalibela and perched high above the valley with amazing views. From our balcony at night there wasn't one visible artificial light, just the moon casting shadows and lots of stars.
The hotel staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Our guide, arranged through the hotel, was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsSpags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

This contemporary wood and glass hotel hangs off the edge of the mountains at the end of the Lalibela road, affording the most astounding views of the surrounding area and the most incredible sunsets I saw anywhere in the country during my 22 day stay. The rooms were big and clean, the bathroom was modern and always had hot water, we never had electricity issues, although I understand that in stormy weather all bets are off. The European food is fair, but they do an outstanding job on traditional fare and are very accommodating. One Wednesday, a fasting day in Ethiopia, I asked the chef to make me a vegetarian plate and was treated an absolutely declicious spread of veggies and legumes beautifully arranged on a platter of injera, the Ethiopian daily bread. The archtecture of the hotel (designed by an architect from Bahir Dar) is a cross between Frank Lloyd Wright and the indigenous geniuses that brought us the rock-hewn churches of Lalibela - the wood mirrors the various crosses and even monkey head design of the churches. The staff is thoughtful and helpful. It's far from town, but worth it (and I generally insist on being in the middle of things). I have absolutely no reservations about recommending this hotel - but don't expect to get a room during festivals.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallalassie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This new hotel at the end of town has breathtaking views of the highlands and of the town of Lalibela. The building and the rooms are marvellous. The only problem are the power cuts, so be prepared to chat and eat by candlelight. They told us there would be a generator soon, but you can't be sure.
Keeping the lack of electricity in mind, the restaurant staff do an excellent job, the Jamaican cook prepares Ethiopian and western food with special spices that he brings from Addis Ababa.
You can also ask for a guide to the rock churches in Lalibela at the reception - we had a guide named Abraham and he was really good and spoke very good English,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The hotel certainly has the view from the top of the mountains! Rooms were comfortable with balconies. Dining room was spacious and meals were good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. One room had a malfunctioning shower and our friends were moved easily to another room.

Lalibela town is poor and its streets are rough; the hotel was a welcome sight as we drove in after a 10 hour drive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbgoodhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalibela
0.2 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#2 of 9 in Lalibela
411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Lal Hotel Lalibela
#5 of 9 in Lalibela
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Residence Suite Hotel
The Residence Suite Hotel
#15 of 118 in Addis Ababa
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 11 in Lalibela
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Hotel

Property: Mountain View Hotel
Address: North Wollo, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing