We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd have given a higher rating, but...”
Review of Asheton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asheton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Asheton Hotel's location in Lalibella is hard to beat, as is the price, for a double room that is basic but more than adequate. I would have given a higher rating except we, too, noticed problems that originated with the front desk. (There is a lot of hustle from an unlicensed guide at the front desk.) But the more concerning thing was that after we departed the hotel en route by bus to Bahir Dar. At a bus change at a junction a man approached and said he had been sent to collect by the hotel because we only paid for two of our three nights stay. We cleared that up with a call to the hotel but its concerning that many locals have warned us that this is likely a scam.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chai435662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent three nights at this basic hotel and were pleased with the value we got for our money. However, we were NOT pleased to have fallen for the "your guide is waiting" scam perpetrated by the guy on the reception desk when we registered. I responded I had not asked for a guide and he said, "He's waiting. Work it out with him." We met with the "guide" out on the hotel patio and he was such a smooth talker, we agreed to his extortionate $30 per person (there were two of us) fee to guide us through the churches for the rest of the day. Later, we discovered an official guide hired at the ticket desk would have cost us a very small fraction of this. The hotel is a two minute walk from the center of town and directly accross from the wonderful Unique restaurant where we ate all of our meals.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed for several nights in different rooms in December 2012. Centrally located on the quiet street. All rooms facing beautiful courtyard with flowers. Very clean and nice rooms. Always had hot water with good pressure. Paid 300B for double. Good restaurant. Nice staff, will store you luggage.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radeko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I spent there two nights in January 2013. The price for a single room (big bed) was around 250 Birr, which is below average in Lalibela. It is well located, close to the main interest points.

It is nothing luxurious, but very acceptable: hot water, functioning toilets, pretty clean, no bugs in the bed (which sounds rare in Lalibela!), a very nice garden to read and relax. The staff members are nice and arrange a transportation for the airport for 70 Birr.

(The dreadlocks boy of the hotel offers you deals that don't look very honest, i.e: 400 Birr for a guide, etc. My advice is to look somewhere else for deals!)

Room Tip: Check the hot water, it might not work in every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aricotine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Location was perfect, rooms weren't luxurious, that's obvious, but can't complain, slept very well. Colorful, full of flowers, garden was also a big advantage!

Food in restaurant was good - first time I have eaten injera (everyone must get used to this taset, but wasn't bad:)), traditional coffee with goat milk was also delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry_O999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

After staying in more expensive hotels for the most of our trip we had to cut short on a few nights and were pleasantly suprised by the Asheton Hotel. The rooms are whitewashed and all have some local art on the wall. The beds are old but OK for the bugs you pay (for us 200BIRR in mid-season). The courtyard is nice and spacious but could do with a little update to more welcoming chairs or a bench. For the breakfast I had an egg sandwich which was a little too oily, but that seems to be quite common in ethiopia. The bread though was really tasty.
The owner was friendly and helpful, accompanied me to the local airline office because our flights were changed.

The night after visiting the churches my boyfriend ended up with lots of flea bites, so make sure you take extra socks and extra mosquito repellent precautions before visiting the wonderful rock hewn churches!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This is a great place to stay if you are budget-minded and want a central location. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were generous in space, never had to go without electricity, water (hot and cold), and the restaurant had decent food. Right across the road is a tasty restaurant serving traditional food at local prices. There are other more pricey hotels, but I'm not sure they offer anything better!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Unbeatenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.9 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lalibela
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maribela Hotel
Maribela Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Honey Land Hotel Lalibela
Honey Land Hotel Lalibela
#4 of 11 in Lalibela
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#18 of 20 in Lalibela
98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 11 in Lalibela
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheton Hotel

Address: Main Road, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range: £18 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Asheton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing