We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Asheten Hotel Guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Asheton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asheton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Asheten Hotel Guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

A comfortable place with hot water. Prices are negotiable and staff are friendly. We also met an excellent guide at the hotel, called Abebe. He took myself and a friend up the mountains to a local monastery for a very good rate - 200 Birr total.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    26
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
18
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This place is simple and affordable in a great location - five minutes to the church ticket office. I stayed here for a few nights and after trekking in the countryside the crooked toilet and the hot drizzle from the shower felt luxurious! As mentioned earlier, the man with dreadlocks also offered us a guide upon arrival. He wasn't pushy and I've come expect people at hotels to try to upsell services. Probably my favorite part of the hotel is its proximity to the Unique Restaurant across the street. I had all my meals there which are very affordable and the owner Cisco is really cool.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Great location, Simple but clean rooms and with en suite bathrooms and comfy beds. The courtyard garden is a lovely place to relax after a hard day's church visiting. I had decided to take a guide to the churches ( normally I prefer to wander peacefully alone ) to make a contribution to the local economy so I took the hotel's recommendation. I knew at 500 Birr it was probably a bit more expensive than if I'd tried to find one independently ( the guide doesn't get this amount ) I went for it for the sake of convenience. .Unlike some other reviewers, I didn't experience any hassle from reception about it and you can always politely decline! In the end i was so glad I'd taken that option as my guide, Zenebe ( ask reception for his number ) couldn't have been more helpful and, as a lone woman traveler, an absolute gentleman! He also took me to Torpedo tej ( honey wine ) house in the evening.....It's totally non touristy, just somewhere locals hang out to listen to music get into the astonishing traditional shoulder dancing. For food the extraordinary Ben Abeba restaurant is the place to go...15 mins walk from Asheton.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carinaegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Asheton Hotel's location in Lalibella is hard to beat, as is the price, for a double room that is basic but more than adequate. I would have given a higher rating except we, too, noticed problems that originated with the front desk. (There is a lot of hustle from an unlicensed guide at the front desk.) But the more concerning thing was that after we departed the hotel en route by bus to Bahir Dar. At a bus change at a junction a man approached and said he had been sent to collect by the hotel because we only paid for two of our three nights stay. We cleared that up with a call to the hotel but its concerning that many locals have warned us that this is likely a scam.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chai435662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent three nights at this basic hotel and were pleased with the value we got for our money. However, we were NOT pleased to have fallen for the "your guide is waiting" scam perpetrated by the guy on the reception desk when we registered. I responded I had not asked for a guide and he said, "He's waiting. Work it out with him." We met with the "guide" out on the hotel patio and he was such a smooth talker, we agreed to his extortionate $30 per person (there were two of us) fee to guide us through the churches for the rest of the day. Later, we discovered an official guide hired at the ticket desk would have cost us a very small fraction of this. The hotel is a two minute walk from the center of town and directly accross from the wonderful Unique restaurant where we ate all of our meals.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverwoods v
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed for several nights in different rooms in December 2012. Centrally located on the quiet street. All rooms facing beautiful courtyard with flowers. Very clean and nice rooms. Always had hot water with good pressure. Paid 300B for double. Good restaurant. Nice staff, will store you luggage.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Radeko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

I spent there two nights in January 2013. The price for a single room (big bed) was around 250 Birr, which is below average in Lalibela. It is well located, close to the main interest points.

It is nothing luxurious, but very acceptable: hot water, functioning toilets, pretty clean, no bugs in the bed (which sounds rare in Lalibela!), a very nice garden to read and relax. The staff members are nice and arrange a transportation for the airport for 70 Birr.

(The dreadlocks boy of the hotel offers you deals that don't look very honest, i.e: 400 Birr for a guide, etc. My advice is to look somewhere else for deals!)

Room Tip: Check the hot water, it might not work in every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aricotine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 19 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Lalibela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheton Hotel

Property: Asheton Hotel
Address: Main Road, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Asheton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing