We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, but not welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Asheton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asheton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“cheap, but not welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

stayed there one night and only because we arrived very late and that's the only place i new about in Lalibela. the staff is really not welcoming, the restaurant is sooooo expensive for no reason and the waiter was a real idiot.they say they have wifi, but it never works.. the room is cheap- 200 Birr (10$). the bed is really good though it's small. recommend to go to Blulal Hotel (really close to Asheton)- it is cheaper (120 Birr), the water are hot in the shower and they provide an excellent laundry facility!! they are also very nice and very helpful :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinorush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    26
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
18
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights with my tour group. Beautiful sunny courtyard, lovely for sitting outside. Restaurant was very mournful and slow but so many lovely restaurants in the town thatthis was not a problem. I had a very small single room and the bathroom was literally more than twice the size of the bedroom. Good hot water

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed 2 nights in a twin room and I found it quite clean! The bathroom was very tiny and not very well kept, but it was ok!
The garden in the courtyard is gorgeous, and you feel like you can relax in the room leaving the door opened.
The only way to book is to call them; take note of the price they give you, I was told 300 birr per night but when I got there they tried to charge 450, so I had to show them the note I had taken and they charged 300.
Pick ups from the apt in 70 birr per person and you can't get a reduction, it's like institutional! :)
The only problem I had was that out pick up to the airport had to leave at 7.30, at 7.00 they came knocking at our door to tell us the van was leaving! We told them we were almost ready but they came again 10 minutes later and 2 other times.
I left the room at 7.20 a bit pissed, because that's not the way to treat the guests!
So watch out for the pick up time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaTrottola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The rooms were cosy and clean. There was hot water every day and the staff was very friendly. A pitty the wifi never worked. But overal a really good choice to stay in Lalibela.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Rooms are good and clean with the shower needing a little work. Great garden outside your room. Away from the hustle of the main street. Guides can be had from here. Very close to the churches and ATM's and also the 7 Olives restaurant which had excellent food.
This place was good for the price....250 birr for a single. They had nil singles remaining so gave us a double each.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gtirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Arriving in Lalibela in the rain, our group was a bit grumpy as we walked from hotel to hotel looking for something comfortable. Initially, we weren't too impressed with the Asheton and left to scope a few more options, but after seeing the much-lauded Seven Olives, we returned to the Asheton where the staff was happy to see us again. The double rooms are quite small, but cozy and clean. The mattress was a strange double-tall new spring mattress that felt like a waterbed to sit on, but was extremely comfortable once I laid out. The water pressure in the "phone shower" was very low, but the water was hot which is more than I can say for most Ethiopian hotels.
The courtyard is beautiful and the staff were very friendly. They were firm about the 400 birr/night price, but I got the sense that if we stayed for more than two nights they may have cut a deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarnivoreOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I arrived on the week of the holiday Timket, and stayed for two nights. I must have looked pretty tired arriving from the bus, because the quote I received for a single room was 300 Birr for the first night and 400 for the second (I was leaving before the actual holiday). The regular rate was more like 200, but they told me they were nearly fully booked because of the holiday and it made sense to me at the moment. Well, on my second day I overheard into my room them showing the room to another customer for 350. I asked other guests what they were paying and it was between 200-350...so apparently I was the only one paying 400, and half the rooms remained empty with doors flung open as I was leaving. I nicely brought this up with the reception, and they didn't care how I felt about their random pricing.
Room itself was okay, but the shower head in at least room 12 was messed up. Check yours before you pick a room. Was really hard to wash my hair. They have warm water whenever they have electricity. I woke up one morning to a guy washing my window, I asked him to move elsewhere, which he did. Don't know if it's really necessary to do that early in the morning when guests are still sleeping. Other than that it's an okay place to sleep, but their greedy attitude definitely left a bad taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: Room 12 shower head is broken
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZainaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lalibela hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 19 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Lalibela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheton Hotel

Property: Asheton Hotel
Address: Main Road, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Asheton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing