We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable view - great service, food and value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Abeba

Ben Abeba
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Lalibela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a new restaurant which I visited several times on a recent visit to Lalibela. It is an amazing structure and serves excellent food as well as having wonderful loos.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable view - great service, food and value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice - dinner and lunch. We were made to feel extremely welcome and pampered. It's a real sanctuary after trekking the streets of Lalibela. The views throughout the restaurant are breath taking and he food was probably best in town - we had hearty western food and it was a great place to try traditional ethiopian food. Susan the owner is a real charmer. Would recommend to anyone visiting the town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruski_pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    219
    52
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Addictive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We ate here every night(3x).Susan the Scottish part owner of this unique place with incredible views was very interesting and she was always around for a chat. The food was great if you had the local injera. The western dishes (pasta) was a bit bland. The desserts were average. I loved the many different levels. The top floor has only three tables so you have to be early. The lowest levels have a fire pit so it was great to experience this at the end of a meal.
They are limited with the local produce so you are better of having Ethiopian food.
Susan is an amazing lady.

Helpful?
1 Thank hornstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is clearly the best restaurant in town and the best overall in all the restaurants we have been to during this trip that took us from Addis Ababa to Debre Birhan, to Lalibela.
The view from the restaurant is absolutely breathtaking. The building itself is very unique, very "Dali-esque" and the owner, this retired teacher from Scotland, is very friendly and her enthusiasm is exceptional.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dire Dawa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The view is very nice. The staff is very friendly. The food is great. It is a little bit dark to walk to from your hotel at night. But everything else is perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wow. A must visit restaurant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Ben Abeba restaurant lies perched on top of a cliff, overlooking the valley to the west of the city. It's designed beautifully with outdoor patios that seem to float on the edge of the mountain. The restaurant is owned by a Scottish school teacher who is a lovely lady and comes to talk to all her patrons. In fact, she even assembled a handout with a short history of the city that she has translated into about a dozen languages and gives out to all her guests. The food is spectacular and the service is really good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ben Abeba also viewed

 

Been to Ben Abeba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing