We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Hotel”
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Hotel”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is not a luxury hotel by international standards. But by Northern Ethiopian standards it is a very nice hotel indeed - A league above the government run Ghion chain hotels.
The rooms are fairly old fashioned and basic but roomy, clean and have a great view. The bathroom is large with plenty of hot water. The hotel has its own compound and located in a pleasant part of town not far from the centre. The restaurant offers a good choice (both Ethiopian and international) food and all is cooked to order. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
A small, well run hotel, definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    59
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
32
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This is a small hotel with restaurant, located on a sunny hillside to one side of town. The rooms are very large with balconies and spectacular views. Our room on the top floor was clean and quiet. I could sit on the balcony and unobtrusively watch life unfold in the local residential compounds just downhill. We had plenty of hot water in the bathroom, although the design of the shower is such that the entire bathroom was flooded after each shower (I spent a long time squeegee-ing water into the central floor drain with my bare feet after each shower and used my own pack towel as a door mat outside the bathroom). The beds (a double and a twin) were comfortable. Our room came with breakfast, which is not a buffet but ordered from the menu and, hence, a bit slow in the AM. The restaurant is a separate, round stone building in the center of the hotel compound. It was not very busy at any time during our stay but the food was adequate and servings were generous. Staff was very friendly and spoke good English. Laundry service is available. The hotel is a reasonable walking distance from shopping areas and many of the church sites for someone in reasonable physical shape and somewhat acclimatized to the altitude. However, children harassed us for money and pens every time we set foot out of the hotel. Photographs already posted on this site accurately reflect what we saw during our stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

I spent a night there; the receptionist was very kind and helpful. You can use Visa and Mastercard. The room is clean but you need mosquitoe net for a good sleep. The price is fair. The view of the surrounding from the room is awesome, especially the sunset.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Room was fairly bare, but clean with 2 single beds and a night table. When you had a shower the bathroom got wet. Rooms on the upper floor have a view. Staff were helpful and friendly. To have laundry done is very inexpensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Meals, including a complementary breakfast, are served in Bethlehem Hall, a circular building separate from the sleeping quarters. In this most Christian city, just about everything is named for something in historic Palestine.

The staff is friendly and accommodating.

My room was the smallest I've occupied since Tokyo. It was also cold at night. I've yet to stay in an Ethiopian hotel -- even the Addis Hilton -- that has central heating.

Room Tip: As for a room overseeing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were not prepared for the cold at the start of the wet season, and with showers barely luke warm this coloured our view! The accommodation was adequate, the food was ... Ok, but the staff were nice. The views over the valley were unbelievable, and we watched the brown dust sprout unto green grass in the few days we were there, just adding to the magic. If you go during the wet season, take suitable clothing and footwear. Clothes are difficult to dry. I saw no heating.
But there are few other visitors, a great bonus, just make sure you are prepared for the cold (due to altitude and the rains)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank facebook56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Read some of the reviews for this hotel, which were mixed. As a result, had some serious reservations about staying here, but Tukul Village was booked solid, so this was originally our second choice. Service and amenities can vary a lot in Ethiopia but speaking from my experience, this was an excellent choice.

Wonderful little hotel, with solid value-for-money room rates. Ask to stay on the top floor, where your room's balcony faces out to beautiful views over Lalibela. Neat, clean, and simply decorated with local flare.

The helpful staff bent over backwards to make sure we had a wonderful stay.

Restaurant is beautiful, in the style of a large traditional hut (tukul). There were guests who came from the more expensive lodgings nearby to enjoy the food here, because it was so good! Note that the Western food is surprisingly delicious.... their pasta smells and tastes amazing; as long as you like a little bit of garlic. And honestly, what sort of pasta doesn't taste and smell of garlic?

Would stay here with pleasure if ever again in Lalibela.

Room Tip: Top floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lalibela
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Lal Hotel Lalibela
#5 of 9 in Lalibela
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
#7 of 20 in Lalibela
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Hotel
Address: Lalibela, Ethiopia (Formerly Jerusalem Guest House)
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerusalem Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing