We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but fairly basic”
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant but fairly basic”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Some of the rooms in this hotel have good views towards the mountains, but don't expect any frills. The Ethiopian food at the restaurant was of reasonable quality, although better can be found elsewhere in Ethiopia. Staff were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floor have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdm120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    59
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
32
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great views of the mountains, good size clean rooms with twin beds, restaurant food is great if you go for the local dishes, European menu not so good. Lots of hot water, much needed after a day visiting the churches. Downside, window frame in my room, second floor, had a hole in it, only a shower no bath, but it was a good shower, but no problems otherwise, if it was in Europe I'd only call it average - but it's Ethiopia!

Room Tip: Higher floors better views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woottey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

just outside the center of Lalibela is this fantastic hotel, overlooking the mountains around Lalibela on one side, and a pretty garden with a restaurant on the other side. We always felt a warm welcome in this hotel; the staff is great and you will really feel at home. The rooms are clean and perfect. we really recommend this hotel in Lalibela!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonvanderkroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have been staying every year at this wonderful family hotel since it opened over ten years ago and can not recommend it more highly. There is such a friendly atmosphere with superb attentive unobstrusive staff who can not do more for you. This is a true Ethiopian built and run enterprise with traditional Ethiopian hospitality. This has nothing of the international sheen. Yes the views are superb and the location great, but it is the staff and management that win my praise. Stay here for an unforgettable unique positive experience. I have sent many friends and guests here and all tell me what a wonderfyl time they had where they immediately felt part of a family.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room in new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Beware! Some of the rooms are very nice, others are literally in the dungeon. My room's only window was onto the hallway whose light shone into my room. I had to keep getting up to turn off the light as other guests arrived in the evening. It gets worse - the waste water pipe was in the room so I heard every flush and shower - it was a continual flow. The only chair was airline seating which was unbalanced. All of this was with a standing reservation!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlpnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Deceitful. Had long standing reservation through our local travel agent for the "best available" room for a three day stay. We arrived early evening, in the rain, after a long road trip to be greeted by the manger who said that he would personal show us our room. He proceed to take us to a squat side building where he showed us our room ... the size of the double bed ... the room's only furniture ... there was only about one foot of open space around the bed. He said nothing else until we demanded to know where our "best available" room was. The manager said that he would move us tomorrow since the room was given to a member of a large tour group. He reluctantly showed us the larger room when we insisted. No apology .... We were supposed to pay for the "best available" and take the third rate room and go through the inconvenience of a room change. Again no apology or explanation.

This practice of giving preference to large budget tour groups is all too common in Ethiopia, as was his attitude. We refused the room and found a more accommodating hotel. Beware of this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed near and used the hotel for coffee and wifi. Wifi is locked and is super fast. The rooms looked lovely and have an amazing view over the mountains and is stunning for sun set. Restaurant is nice but overpriced, like everywhere in lalibela!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalibela
0.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roha Hotel
Roha Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lalibela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 12 in Lalibela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 19 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Property: Jerusalem Hotel
Address: Lalibela, Ethiopia (Formerly Jerusalem Guest House)
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jerusalem Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing