We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view!”
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days.
This hotel is in the city end.
The staffs of the hotel were very kind, and room was clean.
The meal was delicious and especially it’s "meet and tomato pasta" was very delicious.
If you arrive at a Lalibera airport, the staff is waiting and he will take you to a hotel by bus. Probably, there is a tour guide in that bus, You can sigh the contract of a two days private guide with him. The price is about 120 US $.

Room Tip: You have to choose a corner room for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaneneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed two night at the Jerusalem Hotel. Compared with other Ethiopian hotels the rooms are very large and the bathroom is huge, clean and titled. Everyone at Jerusalem was friendly and helpful. i lost my cellphone on the day off my trip. the hotel staff immediately contacted me and send it to Addis Ababa. I appreciated their care and concern and hands on service.Lunch and dinner were good and inexpensive. What a honest people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulugeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Some of the rooms in this hotel have good views towards the mountains, but don't expect any frills. The Ethiopian food at the restaurant was of reasonable quality, although better can be found elsewhere in Ethiopia. Staff were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floor have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdm120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great views of the mountains, good size clean rooms with twin beds, restaurant food is great if you go for the local dishes, European menu not so good. Lots of hot water, much needed after a day visiting the churches. Downside, window frame in my room, second floor, had a hole in it, only a shower no bath, but it was a good shower, but no problems otherwise, if it was in Europe I'd only call it average - but it's Ethiopia!

Room Tip: Higher floors better views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woottey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

just outside the center of Lalibela is this fantastic hotel, overlooking the mountains around Lalibela on one side, and a pretty garden with a restaurant on the other side. We always felt a warm welcome in this hotel; the staff is great and you will really feel at home. The rooms are clean and perfect. we really recommend this hotel in Lalibela!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonvanderkroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have been staying every year at this wonderful family hotel since it opened over ten years ago and can not recommend it more highly. There is such a friendly atmosphere with superb attentive unobstrusive staff who can not do more for you. This is a true Ethiopian built and run enterprise with traditional Ethiopian hospitality. This has nothing of the international sheen. Yes the views are superb and the location great, but it is the staff and management that win my praise. Stay here for an unforgettable unique positive experience. I have sent many friends and guests here and all tell me what a wonderfyl time they had where they immediately felt part of a family.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room in new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Beware! Some of the rooms are very nice, others are literally in the dungeon. My room's only window was onto the hallway whose light shone into my room. I had to keep getting up to turn off the light as other guests arrived in the evening. It gets worse - the waste water pipe was in the room so I heard every flush and shower - it was a continual flow. The only chair was airline seating which was unbalanced. All of this was with a standing reservation!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlpnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
19.1 mi away
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
#5 of 10 in Lalibela
181 reviews
20 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lalibela
290 reviews
19.1 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#2 of 10 in Lalibela
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Lalibela Hotel
Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lalibela
66 reviews
19.9 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
19.9 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Address: Lalibela 00251, Ethiopia (Formerly Jerusalem Guest House)
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range: £25 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing