We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel with friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We, a group of friends, stayed for three nights in the hotel and were very happy with our stay. We had twin rooms with small balconies and a view to the surrounding Lalibela mountains and town. The location was good with a short walk to the churches and with some shops and restaurants close by. The staff did their best to make us feel at home and they were helpful in organizing our stay. They arranged us a guide who was very knowledgeable about the local history and traditions, and he really added a lot of value to our visit to the churches. We had several meals at the hotel restaurant, and we were happy both with the Ethiopian and pasta dishes. Very good value for money and a great base for exploring Lalibela!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Inke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The location is excellent, it is close to the major sightseeing's. We got good rooms , the view from our balk on was directed to the rock churches ! The hotel staff is excellent also / the guide to the churches was perfect and professional.
There is a big advantage for this hotel is the direct internet access .
The cleanness of the hotel included the rooms is also good.
The food is good also, specially the ETHIOPIAN COFFEE !

Room Tip: good room has a nice view from the balcony to the city and specially to the rock churches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nahom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Lovely new hotel. The rooms are very light and modern, and have a nice view on the historical sites. Beautiful views with sunset too. Small balcony, decent bathroom with hot water all through.
A small restaurant downstairs, with yummy injera fir fir.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful in helping you to get a guide to take you to the rock churches, but also excursions up the mountains or down the valley can be organized.
Lalibela is a very small town, and you can easily walk all over from this hotel.
The hotel can arrange pick up from the busstation, to safe you the sweaty, dusty walk.
All in all, the most affordable option in Lalibela.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with tiny balcony to enjoy the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel is a bit down the road from the "center" of Lalibela, so it's nice and quiet with local shops all around. It's only a few minutes walk to the entrance of Lalibela, so the location is great. Comfortable beds, hot water, nice views of the mountains and town from the top floor. and great food from the very affordable restaurant. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Top floor gives nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehappyn0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demandez une chambre avec vue sur l'arrière, vue sur la ville et collines.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank furettejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wagner A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.8 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lalibela
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#2 of 10 in Lalibela
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
#5 of 10 in Lalibela
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seven Olives Hotel
Seven Olives Hotel
#9 of 10 in Lalibela
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
0.3 mi away
Lalibela Hotel
Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lalibela
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Lalibela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Lalibela Hotel

Address: Lalibela, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range: £22 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel - opened in September 2013 - offers comfortable rooms with private bathrooms. Many of our rooms have a private balcony, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the mountain scenery. We have twin, double and single rooms. The hotel also has a restaurant and cafe, as well as laundry service. The Lalibela churches are located at five to ten minutes' walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Red Rock Lalibela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing